Finding Aids
printer friendly version

WSYR Collection

An description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: WSYR (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: WSYR Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1959
Quantity: 10 linear ft.
Abstract: This collection consists of 78 and 33 RPM instantaneous discs and reel to reel tapes containing radio broadcasts dubbed from Syracuse radio station WSYR.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

WSYR (570AM) is one of the oldest radio stations in the Syracuse, NY area. First broadcast on September 15, 1922 as WMAC in Cazenovia, NY, the station moved to Syracuse in 1928 and changed its call sign to WSYR. The station has long hosted local news and entertainment programming. For many years. it was the flagship station for broadcasts of Syracuse University football and men's basketball games.

The collection was donated by Alan Milair, a long-time broadcaster on WSYR. Best known for his 16-year stint as host of "Monster Movie Matinee," Mr. Milair served as a news anchor and weatherman, a talk show host, and as host of "Music Just For You" along with several classical music programs.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The WSYR Collection contains 10 linear feet of material, primarily 78 and 33 RPM instantaneous disc recordings, along with 176 reel to reel tapes. Consisting of recordings dubbed from radio broadcasts between 1939 and 1957, the collection largely consists of news broadcasts and speeches. Many important events and public figures of the era are recorded on these broadcasts.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are stored in chronological order, as they were received from the donor.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Milair, Alan.

Corporate Bodies

WSYR (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

News radio stations -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Radio broadcasting -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Radio broadcasting of sports.
Radio programs.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Long-playing records.
Tape reels.
78 rpm records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

WSYR Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alan Milair.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: BMF
Date: 7 May 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

This collection has not yet been processed and is accessible by special permission only. Please contact the repository listed above for further information.

Return to top