Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Marion Strong White Diaries

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: White, Marion Strong.
Title: Marion Strong White Diaries
Inclusive Dates: 1872-1873
Quantity: 2 volumes (SC)
Abstract: Diaries kept while traveling in Europe and England.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Marion Strong White was wife to Horace K. White and mother to Horace White, who eventually became governor of New York. Little is known about Marion White apart from her family connections, her travels and her relocation to Syracuse, New York. Though booksellers list a Marion Strong White as author of a book of poetry titled The Living Stone: poems and drawings (published in 1946), there is no evidence that these people are one and the same.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marion Strong White Diaries consists of two volumes that detail trips to Europe and White's eventual move to Syracuse, New York. The 1873 diary includes some poetry in the last pages.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

White, Marion Strong.

Subjects

Travelers -- Diaries.
Women -- Diaries.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marion Strong White Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 14 Apr 2009 - converted to EAD (AM)

Return to top

Inventory

Diaries
SC 308 1872 (1 volume)
SC 308 1873 (1 volume)

Return to top