Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Albert Watson II Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Watson, Albert II, 1909-
Title: Albert Watson II Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1966
Quantity: 3.0 linear feet
Abstract: Lieutenant General, United States Army, High Commissioner of the Ryukyu Islands, 1964-1966. Collection contains correspondence, 1964-66; news clippings, 1964-66; press releases, 1964-66; and photographs, 1964.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Watson II (1909-1993) was a Lieutenant General in the United States Army. A graduate of the U.S. Military Academy, he rose through the ranks, serving in Hollandia, Hawaii, Lezte, Okinawa and Japan during World War II, and from 1950 to 1953 was on the faculty of the Army War College. He was a corps commander in the Korean War and afterwards returned to Washington to serve on the Army General Staff from 1955 to 1958. He then served as Commanding General of the 24th Infantry (1958-1960), of the Third Infantry (1960-1961), of the Third U.S. Army in Berlin (1961-1963), and of the IX Army Corps (1964-1966). While in the latter position, his last prior to retirement in 1966, he was also High Commissioner of the Ryukyu Islands in the Japanese archipelago.

His awards and decorations include the Legion of Merit, Bronze Star, Army Commendation Ribbon, and Distinguished Service Medal.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Watson II Papers contains material relating to Watson's tenure as High Commissioner of the Ryukyu Islands. The collection consists of correspondence (outgoing only), one subject file (photocopies of Watson's appointment as High Commissioner), clippings (about Watson and the Ryukyu Islands), press releases and photographs of Watson and others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, clippings and press releases are arranged chronologically. Other material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Norman D. King Papers for more Ryukyu material.

Special Collections Research Center also has a large collection of published material relating to the Ryukyu Islands area. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Watson, Albert, 1909-

Corporate Bodies

Ryukyu Islands (United States Civil Administration, 1950-1972). -- Office of the High Commissioner.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 20th century.
United States -- Relations -- Pacific Area.
United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Subjects

Military history -- United States.

Places

Ryukyu Islands -- History -- 1945-1972.
Ryukyu Islands -- Relations -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifact)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Watson II Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Albert Watson II, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Apr 1967
Revision history: 11 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Outgoing 1964-1966
Subject files
Box 1 Appointment papers (photocopies) 1964
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 Miscellaneous Apr 1964-Mar 1965 (3 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous Apr 1965-Oct 1966 (6 folders)
Press releases
Box 3 News releases, U.S. Civil Administration, Ryukyu Islands 1964-1966 (3 folders)
Box 3 News summaries 1964-1965 (2 folders)
Box 4 Okinawa Press Highlights, U.S. Civil Administration, Ryukyu Islands 1964-1966 (3 folders)
Box 5 Okinawa Press Translations, U.S. Civil Administration, Ryukyu Islands 1964-1965 (2 folders)
Box 5 Press conferences 1964-1966 (2 folders)
Box 5 Speeches 1964-1966
Photographs
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1964 (2 folders)
Box 6 Miscellaneous 1965-1966 (5 folders)

Return to top