Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry A. Washington Papers

An inventory pf his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Washington, Henry A.
Title: Henry A. Washington Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1986
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Spanning 1947 to 1986, comprises biographical material, correspondence, and memorabilia of the African-American community leader and physician and his wife, Evelyn T. Washington. The first African-American physician to establish a permanent practice in Syracuse, New York, Dr. Washington has been called one of "Syracuse's black pioneers."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry A. Washington (1906-2001) was an African-American physician and active community leader in Syracuse, New York.

Washington grew up in Tennessee and earned his medical degree from Howard University. The first African-American physician to establish a permanent practice in Syracuse, New York, Dr. Washington has been called one of "Syracuse's black pioneers." ( Syracuse Herald American, 2 Feb 1986) He was a member of numerous medical and civil rights organizations, including the American Civil Liberties Union, The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), the American Red Cross, the Syracuse Academy of Medicine and the Onondaga County Medical Society.

Over the years Washington was recognized numerous times, receiving awards from the D unbar Center, the local NAACP and Mayor Thomas Young, and in 1991 the Urban League of Onondaga County presented him with the Harriet Tubman award. Morrisville State College's Dr. Henry Washington Award, given annually, is named in his honor.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry A. Washington Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, and memorabilia of the African American community leader and physician and his wife, Evelyn T. Washington.

Biographical material consists of articles about Dr. Washington and a copy of Mrs. Washington's curriculum vitae.

Correspondence-subject files reflect the variety of civic, social, cultural, and educational organizations in which Dr. and Mrs. Washington have participated. The collection contains incoming and outgoing letters and printed material relating to the Chez-Nous Club, Community Folk Art Gallery, Syracuse Celebrators' Club, the Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts, the Syracuse Chapter of the N.A.A.C.P., Syracuse University's Affirmative Action program, and the Urban League of Onondaga County.

Issues of a number of African American newspapers constitute the bulk of Memorabilia. Also included are obituary notices and funeral programs of friends and colleagues of the Washingtons.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically by name. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Some printed material from the collection has been retained in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library. Sound recordings have been sent to the Belfer audio Archive, and a number of published works have been catalogued separately in the Library's rare books collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Washington, Henry A.

Subjects

African American physicians.
African Americans -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Occupations

Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry A. Washington Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Henry A. Washington, 1997 to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library and transferred, in part, to the Department of Special Collections, 1998.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Jun 1998
Revision history: 5 Feb 2016 - 2 omitted folders added to inventory (MRC); 9 Feb 2016 - rehoused, inventory updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence/subject files
Box 1 Alexander, Lee
Box 1 Atlanta, Georgia
Box 1 Bishop Forey Foundation
Box 1 Black History Month
Box 1 Chez-Nous Club (Syracuse, N.Y.) (6 of 7 folders)
Box 2 Chez-Nous Club (Syracuse, N.Y.) (1 of 7 folder) s
Box 2 Community Folk Art Gallery (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Box 2 Crusade for Opportunity in Syracuse and Onondaga County, Inc.
Box 2 DuBois, W. E. B.
Box 2 Dunbar Association, Inc.
Box 2 Dunham, Clarence E.
Box 2 Farrakhan, Louis
Box 2 Friends of National Urban League Sponsoring Committee (Syracuse, N.Y.)
See also Urban League of Onondaga County, Inc..
Box 2 Howard University
Box 2 Human Rights Commission of Syracuse and Onondaga County
Box 2 Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance of Syracuse and Vicinity
Box 2 Modern Community Developers, Inc.
Box 2 National Council of Negro Women (N.C.N.W.), Syracuse Section
Box 2 National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Syracuse/Onondaga Chapter
Box 2 New York State Commission Against Discrimination
Box 2 Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Box 2 Onondaga Community College
Box 2 Recreation
Robinson, Jackie
See Modern Community Developers, Inc..
Box 3 Southside Preparatory Association, Inc.
Box 3 Syracuse Ballet Theatre, Inc.
Box 3 Syracuse Black Leadership Congress
Box 3 Syracuse Celebrators Club
Box 3 Syracuse City School District
Box 3 Syracuse Committee on Racial Equality (C.O.R.E.)
Box 3 Syracuse Minority Professional Action Conference, Inc.
Box 3 Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts
Box 3 Syracuse University
Box 3 Thornden Park Association (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Box 3 United Community Chest and Council of Onondaga County, Inc.
Box 3 Urban League of Onondaga County, Inc. (1 folder of 3)
see also Friends of National Urban League Sponsoring Committee.
Box 4 Urban League of Onondaga County, Inc. (2 folders of 3)
Box 4 WCNY-TV
Box 4 Williams, Annamae
Box 4 Willie, Charles V.
Box 4 Woodruff, Hale
Box 4 Wortley, George
Memorabilia
Printed material
Clippings
Box 4 Obituary notices
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Newspaper issues and reports
Box 4 Atlanta Daily World
Box 4 The Black Voice
Box 5 Heritage Newsmagazine
Box 5 Home Town News
Box 5 The Impartial Citizen
Box 5 In Touch: Central New York's Minority Magazine
Box 5 Model Neighborhood Report
Box 5 Neighborhood Report
Box 5 The Liberated Voice
Box 5 Salt: The News Magazine of Metropolitan Syracuse
Box 5 The Syracuse Banner
Box 5 The Syracuse Gazette
Box 5 The Syracuse Sun
Box 5 Programs: funeral services for others
Miscellany
Box 5 Miscellaneous memorabilia

Return to top