Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

printer friendly version

Richard Wallmeyer Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Wallmeyer, Richard.
Title: Richard Wallmeyer Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1967-1970
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: 42 original editorial cartoons from the Long Beach Press-Telegram.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard "Dick" Wallmeyer (1931- ) is an American editorial cartoonist.

Richard Wallmeyer was born February 1, 1931 in Chicago and grew up in Chicago Heights, Illinois. Wallmeyer who became interested in art at age three, studied cartooning at the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts through night courses while he worked as a proofreader for a lithography company during the day. While serving with the U.S. Air Force from 1951 to 1955, Wallmeyer contributed several cartoons to the Nellis Air Force Base newspaper. Upon returning to Chicago, Wallmeyer studied cartooning through correspondence courses while he worked as a line drawing and paste-up artist and also as a shoe salesman.

The Long Beach Press-Telegram hired Wallmeyer in July 1961 as the paper’s first editorial cartoonist. The Lew Little Syndicate and the Register and Tribune Syndicate syndicated Wallmeyer’s cartoons from 1966 to 1973. In 1995 he formally retired from full time cartooning at the Press-Telegram.

Wallmeyer’s work has been recognized by the Los Angeles Press Club and he received the California Newspaper Publishers Association’s Award of Merit in 1982. He has an entry in The Finest International Political Cartoons of Our Time and his work has appeared several times in the Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year series.

Dick Wallmeyer is a member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and is currently a freelance cartoonist for the Press-Telegram.

[some information courtesy of the Press-Telegram.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Wallmeyer Cartoons contains 42 original editorial cartoons created for the Long Beach, California Press-Telegram from 1967 to 1970. Wallmeyer often used puns and the cartoons in this particular collection frequently feature themes relating to outer space and technology. The cartoons were drawn with ink, graphite and crayon and notations appear on the bottom border of the cartoons in pen.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The cartoons are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wallmeyer, Richard.

Associated Titles

Press-Telegram (Long Beach, Ca)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Arab countries -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- California.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Outer space--Exploration -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Pollution -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Wallmeyer Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Wallmeyer, 1968-1969 and 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 2 Dec 2008
Revision history: 2 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 9 Oct 2009 - added detailed inventory, index and bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (42 items) 14" x 23 3/4"
Click here for a list of specific dates.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1967 Jan, Mar - Aug
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1968 Jan, Mar - Apr, Jun
Oversize 1, Folder 3 1968 Sep - Dec
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1969 Mar - May, Jul
Oversize 1, Folder 5 1969 Aug - Dec
Oversize 1, Folder 6 1970 Apr - Jun, Aug - Sep, Nov

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top