Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Mike Wallace Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wallace, Mike, 1918-2012.
Title: Mike Wallace Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1961
Quantity: 13 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the news commentator, journalist. Television interview scripts and audiorecordings of interviews. People represented include Edward Albee, Cleveland Amory, George Axelrod, William F. Buckley Jr., Marcel Duchamp, Max Eastman, Anne Francis, Gus Hall, Ben Hecht, Henry Kissinger, Shirley MacLaine, Bishop James A. Pike, Ayn Rand, Carl Sandburg, Gore Vidal, and Tennessee Williams.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mike Wallace (1918-2012) was an American television interviewer, host and commentator.

Born in Brookline, Massachusetts on May 9, 1918, he received his A.B. degree from the University of Michigan after attending the University from 1935 to 1939. He started with radio in 1939, and began with television in 1946. He was a television commentator for C.B.S. - T.V. from 1951 to 1954, and in 1963 he became a C.B.S. news staff correspondent. He is president of Newsmaker Productions, Incorporated. Wallace received several awards and recognitions, including an A.T.V.A.S. Emmy Award, the George Foster Peabody Award and the Boston Press Club Headliner Award. He was the executive vice-president of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, and a member of the Overseas Press Club and The Players.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mike Wallace Papers consists of transcripts and audiorecordings of interviews with a wide variety of personalities, including authors, entertainers, religious leaders, political figures, and more. Notable interviewees include Edward Albee, Cleveland Amory, George Axelrod, William F. Buckley Jr., Marcel Duchamp, Max Eastman, Anne Francis, Gus Hall, Ben Hecht, Henry Kissinger, Shirley MacLaine, Bishop James A. Pike, Ayn Rand, Carl Sandburg, Gore Vidal, Tennessee Williams, and many more.

Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Scripts are arranged alphabetically by interviewee. Audiorecordings are in order by ID number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

The University of Michigan, Wallace's alma mater, holds the majority of Mike Wallace's papers. The University of Texas at Austin's Harrry Ransom Center has a video collection of Wallace interviews, accessible at http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/collections/film/holdings/wallace/.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Albee, Edward, 1928-
Amory, Cleveland.
Axelrod, George.
Buckley, William F. (William Frank), Jr., 1925-2008.
Duchamp, Marcel, 1887-1968.
Eastman, Max, 1883-1969.
Francis, Anne, 1932-2011.
Hall, Gus.
Hecht, Ben, 1894-1964.
Kissinger, Henry, 1923-
MacLaine, Shirley, 1934-
Pike, James A. (James Albert), 1913-1969.
Rand, Ayn.
Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967.
Serling, Rod, 1924-1975.
Vidal, Gore, 1925-2012.
Wallace, Mike, 1918-2012.
Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983.

Subjects

Actors -- Interviews.
Actresses -- Interviews.
Authors -- Interviews.
Comedians -- Interviews.
Journalists -- United States.
Politicians -- Interviews.

Genres and Forms

Interviews.
Sound recordings.
Transcripts.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mike Wallace Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Aug 1967
Revision history: 17 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (JPK); 11 Apr 2012 - updated bio (MRC); 26 Aug 2013 - added box 12, audiorecordings (MRC); 19 Dec 2013 - audiorecordings updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Scripts
Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.
Box 1 Aadland, Beverly Nov 10 1959
Box 1 Aherne, Brian Apr 1 1960
Box 1 Albee, Edward Feb 15 1961
Box 1 Albert, Eddie Jan 17 1961
Box 1 Allen, Mel May 12 1959
Box 1 Allen, Steve Oct 10 1960
Box 1 Amory, Cleveland Dec 10 1959, Dec 5 1960, Dec 19 1960
Box 1 Andrews, Dana Apr 6 1959
Box 1 Anka, Paul Nov 22, 1960
Box 1 Ashmore, Harry May 19 1960
Box 1 Atkinson, Ted Mar 4 1959
Box 1 Aumont, Jean Pierre Mar 10 1960
Box 1 Axelrod, George Mar 30 1960, Apr 20 1960
Box 1 Baldwin, James Mar 24 1961
Box 1 Balin, Ina Sep 13 1960
Box 1 Bancroft, Anne Mar 6 1959
Box 1 Baxley, Barbara Nov 21 1960
Box 1 Bean, Orson Mar 18 1959
Box 1 Beatty, Clyde Apr 9 1959
Box 1 Bedford, Duchess of Oct 25 1960
Box 1 Begin, Menachem Nov 28 1960
Box 1 Belfrage, Sally Mar 23 1959
Box 1 Bendix, William Oct 31 1960
Box 1 Bennett, Tony Mar 29 1961
Box 1 Berman, Shelley Apr 20 1959
Box 1 Bikel, Theodore Nov 20 1959
Box 1 Blansherd [Blanshard?], Paul Jan 14 1960
Box 1 Block, Martin Mar 12 1959
Box 1 Bloeth, Jane Aug 17 1959
Box 1 Bonomi, John Dec 20 1960
Box 1 Boswell, Connee Dec 19 1960
Box 1 Bowles, Chester Dec 17 1959
Box 1 Boyington, Pappy May 5 1959
Box 1 Bracken, Eddie Sep 16 1959
Box 1 Bradley, William Apr 13 1959
Box 1 Branden, Nathaniel Feb 29 1960
Box 2 Bricktop Mar 3 1961
Box 2 Brooks, Mel Jan 17 1961
Box 2 Bucholz, Earl Feb 9 1961
Box 2 Buckley, William F., Jr. Dec 5 1960, Feb 29 1960
Box 2 Burnett, Carol Mar 17 1960
Box 2 Caldwell, Erskine Nov 6 1959
Box 2 Calloway, Cab Sep 24 1959
Box 2 Calvert, Captain James Nov 1 1960
Box 2 Campanella, Roy Nov 27 1959
Box 2 Carey, James B Oct 29 1959
Box 2 Carnera, Primo Mar 10 1961
Box 2 Carroll, Diahann Feb 10 1961
Box 2 Cassevetes,John Oct 31 1960
Box 2 Cassini, Oleg Jan 6 1961
Box 2 Cater, Douglass Oct 4 1960
Box 2 Cerf, Bennett Nov 19 1959
Box 2 Channing, Carol Mar 3 1961
Box 2 Charell, Lissa Apr 1 1960
Box 2 Chase, Ilka Oct 10 1960
Box 2 Cobb, Lee J. May 10 1960
Box 2 Cohen, Alexander Dec 4 1959
Box 2 Cohen, Benjamin Jun 17 1959
Box 2 Comden, Betty and Green, Adolph Feb 17 1961
Box 2 Conniff, Frank Jan 6 1961
Box 2 Conreid, Hans Feb 24 1959
Box 2 Cousy, Bob Sep 16 1959
Box 2 Cowles, Fleur Oct 15 1959
Box 2 Cox, Wally Oct 5 1959
Box 3 Crawford, Christina Sep 19 1960
Box 3 Crawford, John Aug 17 1959
Box 3 Crawford, Kenneth Nov 7 1960
Box 2 Crosby, Gary Mar 23 1961
Box 2 Crosby, John Oct 28 1959, Nov 7 1960
Box 2 Crowther, Bosley Apr 3 1960
Box 3 Cugat, Xavier Mar 30 1959
Box 3 Dahl, Roald n.d.
Box 3 D'Amato, Gus May 12 1959
Box 3 Danielsen, Terry Jul 23 1959
Box 3 Darcel, Denise Nov 4 1959
Box 3 Darin, Bobby May 31 1960, Mar 16 1961
Box 3 Dash, Samuel Nov 4 1959
Box 3 Dauphin, Claude Mar 3 1960
Box 3 Davis, Sammy, Jr. Mar 2 1959, Dec 28 1960
Box 3 Day, Dorothy Sep 9 1959
Box 3 Dee, Ruby Mar 30 1961
Box 3 DeHaven, Gloria Nov 14 1960
Box 3 Demara, F.W. Jul 7 1959
Box 3 Desai, Morarji Oct 4 1960
Box 3 DeSeversky, Alexander Apr 22 1960
Box 3 de Toledano, Ralph Apr 29 1960
Box 3 Diller, Phyllis Oct 17 1960
Box 3 Douglas, Jack Apr 6 1959
Box 3 Douglas, Melvyn Oct 9 1959
Box 3 Downs, Hugh Sep 12 1960
Box 3 Duchamp, Marcel Dec 12 1960
Box 3 East, P.D Mar 10 1961
Box 3 Eastman, Max Apr 13 1959
Box 3 Edmondson, J. Howard Oct 26 1959
Box 3 Ellis, Dr. Albert Mar 26 1959
Box 3 Emerson, Faye May 30 1960
Box 3 Evans, Maurice Nov 20 1959
Box 4 Fabian Sep 26 1960
Box 4 Falkenberg, Jinx Aug 24 1959
Box 4 Feiffer, Jules Mar 30 1960
Box 4 Fitzgerald, Ed Jan 8 1960
Box 4 Fletcher, Joseph Oct 3 1960
Box 4 Foch, Nina Oct 12 1959
Box 4 Ford, Phil and Hines, Mimi Jan 12 1961
Box 4 Francis, Anne Sep 15 1959
Box 4 Francis, Arlene Feb 24 1959
Box 4 Francis, Connie Nov 16 1960
Box 4 Frank, Gerold Mar 18 1959
Box 4 Furness, Betty Oct 1 1959, Mar 10 1961
Box 4 Gabor, Eva Jun 10 1959
Box 4 Gabor, Jolie Jul 2 1959
Box 4 Gabor, Zsa Zsa Feb 9 1961
Box 4 Galento, Tony May 1 1959
Box 4 Gang Leader Sep 30 1959
Box 4 Gardner, Hy Apr 22 1959
Box 4 Gerlich, Jackie May 1 1959
Box 4 Gifford, Frank Mar 9 1961
Box 4 Gillespie, Dizzy Mar 23 1961
Box 4 Gonzalez, Pancho Apr 15 1959
Box 4 Graham, Sheilah Feb 23 1959
Box 4 Granville, Joseph Dec 12 1960
Box 4 Gray, Robert K. Feb 3 1961
Box 4 Greco, Jose Apr 15 1960
Box 4 Greene, Gael Apr 17 1960
Box 4 Gregory, Dick Apr 10 1961
Box 4 Griffin, John Howard Mar 22 1960
Box 4 Griffith, Andy May 5 1959
Box 4 Guttmacher, Alan Jul 29 1959
Box 5 Haigh, Kenneth Mar 10 1960
Box 5 Hall, Gus Dec 17 1959, Jan 6 1961
Box 5 Hansberry, Lorraine May 8 1959
Box 5 Hardwicke , Sir Cedric Apr 2 1959
Box 5 Harriman, Averell Jul 27 1959
Box 5 Hart, Moss Oct 28 1959
Box 5 Hartford, Huntington May 12 1959
Box 5 Hauser, Gayelord Jan 26 1961
Box 5 Havoc, June Feb 25 1959
Box 5 Hayakawa, Sessue Apr 20 1959
Box 5 Hecht, Ben Mar 23 1959
Box 5 Hildegarde Nov 5 1959
Box 5 Hilgemeier, Ed Aug 10 1959
Box 5 Hillary, Sir Edmund Aug 3 1959
Box 5 Hingle, Pat Jan 14 1960
Box 5 Hodges, Luther Apr 14 1961
Box 5 Hoffmann, Dr. Richard Feb 21 1961
Box 5 Horwich, Frances Sep 16 1959
Box 5 Hughes, Emmet John Nov 5 1959
Box 5 Huie, William Bradford Mar 16 1959
Box 5 Humphrey, Hubert Mar 9 1959
Box 5 Hunter, Kim Apr 30 1961
Box 5 Hutchinson, Admiral Elmo Dec 10 1959
Box 6 Irwin, Monte Mar 14 1960
Box 6 Isaacs, Stanley Dec 23 1959
Box 6 Israel Interviews (opens and closes) n.d.
Box 6 Jaffe, Rona Sep 21 1959
Box 6 Jessel, George Aug 31 1959
Box 6 Jorgensen, Christine Apr 22 1959
Box 6 Kenny, Nick Oct 30 1960
Box 6 King, Dennis Mar 2 1961 (?)
Box 6 King, Martin Luther Feb 2 1961
Box 6 Kinkead, Eugene Mar 18 1959
Box 6 Kintner, Earl Feb 16 1960
Box 6 Kissinger, Henry Mar 2 1961
Box 6 Kitt, Eartha Jun 17 1959, Apr 14 1961
Box 6 Kline, Nathan Mar 10 1960
Box 6 Koch, Leo F. Nov 16 1960 - additional informational material
Box 6 Laine, Frankie Apr 15 1959
Box 6 Lanchester, Elsa Aug 31 1959, Feb 23 1961
Box 6 Landis, James M. Jan 11 1961
Box 6 Lane, Abbe Mar 30 1959
Box 6 Lane, Frank Jan 24 1960
Box 6 Lanphier, Thomas Jun 2 1960
Box 6 Laurence, William L. Oct 2 1959, May 30 1960
Box 6 Laurie, Piper Jan 24 1960
Box 6 Lehman, Herbert H. Dec 30 1959
Box 6 Lemmon, Jack Oct 31 1960
Box 6 Leonard, Jack E. Mar 25 1960
Box 6 Leonetti, Tommy Mar 23 1959
Box 6 Lerner, Max Oct 10 1960
Box 7 Levin, Meyer Sep 28 1959
Box 7 Levy, Raoul Sep 23 1959
Box 7 Leyra, Camilo Weston Apr 2 1959
Box 7 Lilo Nov 14 1960
Box 7 London, Ephraim Apr 28 1959
Box 7 Loos, Anita Apr 6 1961
Box 7 Lorre, Peter Feb 17 1960
Box 7 Louis, Joe May 26 1960
Box 7 Louise, Tina Mar 2 1960
Box 7 Lovejoy, Frank Apr 14 1960
Box 7 Loy, Myrna Oct 17 1960
Box 7 Lumet, Sidney Feb 25 1960
Box 7 Lynley, Carol Mar 3 1961
Box 7 Lytess, Natasha Nov 21 1960
Box 7 MacDonald, Jeanette Aug or Sept 1959
Box 7 Machado, China Mar 21 1961
Box 7 Maclver, Joyce Feb 3 1961
Box 7 MacLaine, Shirley Nov 23 1959
Box 7 Mailer, Norman Nov 18 1959
Box 7 Malden, Karl Mar 17 1961
Box 7 Mankowitz, Wolf Mar 16 1960
Box 7 Mannes, Marya Apr 3 1960, Oct 25 1960
Box 7 March, Hal Mar 9 1961
Box 7 Mason, Pamela Dec 26 1960
Box 7 Maurois, Andre Nov 16 1960
Box 7 Maxwell, Elsa Apr 14 1961
Box 7 McBride, Mary Margaret Dec 13 1960
Box 7 McDonald, Marie Apr 6 1959
Box 7 McDowell, Roddy Apr 14 1961
Box 7 McKay, Gardner May 19 1960
Box 7 McManus. Virginia n.d.
Box 7 McVey, Jackson Apr 3 1960
Box 7 Meacham. Anne Nov 28 1960
Box 7 Meadows, Jayne Mar 26 1959
Box 7 Medina, Harold Sep 2 1959
Box 7 Menon, V.K. Krishna Nov 6 1959
Box 7 Merriam, Eve Nov 7 1960
Box 7 Merrick, David Jan 12 1961
Box 7 Mesta, Perle Apr 14 1960
Box 7 Meyer, Frank Jan 5 1961
Box 7 Michelfelder, William Oct 3 1960
Box 8 Michener, James Sep 27 1960
Box 8 Mineo, Sal May 10 1960, Sep 19 1960
Box 8 Montagu, Ashley Sep 13 1960
Box 8 Mr. John Apr 28 1959
Box 8 Muggeridge, Malcolm Sep 26 1960
Box 8 Mulligan. Gerry Jul 1 1959
Box 8 Murray, Ken Feb 11 1960
Box 8 Murray, Mac Nov 18 1959
Box 8 Myerson, Bess Oct 18 1960
Box 8 Nagel, Conrad Oct 16 1959
Box 8 Newmar, Julie Apr 15 1959, Feb 23 1961
Box 8 Nichols, Mike Dec 20 1960
Box 8 Novarro, Ramon Nov 27 1959
Box 8 Obolensky, Serge Mar 30 1959
Box 8 O'Brien, Margaret Mar 9 1961
Box 8 Odero-Jour, J.G. Nov 16 1960 (?)
Box 8 O'Keefe, Dennis Sep 15 1959
Box 8 O'Leary, Frank Jul 9 1959
Box 8 Pasternak. Joseph Oct 30 1959
Box 8 Pauling, Linus, Dr. Oct 24 1960
Box 8 Paxinou, Katina Oct 5 1959
Box 8 Pernot, Dom Placide Sep 19 1960
Box 8 Petrovskaya, Kyra May 8 1959
Box 8 Pike, Bishop James A. Feb 21 1961
Box 8 Pincus, Gregory, Dr. Nov 22 1960
Box 8 Poston, Tom May 22 1959
Box 8 Powell, Adam C. Mar 16 1959
Box 8 Preminger, Otto Jun 23 1959, Jan 12 1961
Box 8 Prinz, Joachim Jan 8 1960
Box 8 Quill, Michael J. Apr 22 1959, Sep 26 1960
Box 8 Rand, Ayn Feb 25 1959, Apr 18 1960, Mar 17 1961
Box 8 Randall, Tony Sep 2 1959
Box 8 Randell, Ron Aug 5 1959
Box 8 Randolph, A. Philip Oct 21 1959
Box 8 Regler, Gustav Mar 3 1960
Box 9 Remick, Lee Aug 26 1959, Jan 27 1960
Box 9 Reuther, Walter Oct 4 1960
Box 9 Reynolds, Quentin Sep 27 1960 n.d.
Box 9 Rich, Buddy Sep 3 1959, Dec 6 1960
Box 9 Riesel, Victor Oct 23 1959, Dec 28 1960
Box 9 Ritchard, Cyril Apr 14 1961
Box 9 Robbins, Dr. Lewis Feb 10 1961
Box 9 Robustelli, Andy Apr 11 1961
Box 9 Rocca, Antonino Apr 22 1960
Box 9 Roosevelt Jr., Franklin D. Jr. May 25 1959
Box 9 Roosevelt, James May 25 1959
Box 9 Roosevelt Jr., Mrs. Theodore Jul 24 1959
Box 9 Rosenfeld, Henry Nov 8 1960
Box 9 Rosensohn, William Jun 23 1959
Box 9 Rosten, Leo Oct 7 1959
Box 9 Roth, Philip Mar 28 1960
Box 9 Ruark, Robert Sep 1959 (?)
Box 9 Rule, Janice Apr 11 1961
Box 9 Sahl, Mort Apr 6 1960
Box 9 St. John, Robert Oct 18 1960
Box 9 Salisbury, Harrison Oct 22 1959
Box 9 Sandburg, Carl Sep 12 1960
Box 9 Schary, Dore Mar 16 1961
Box 9 Scopes, John T Oct 10 1960
Box 9 Scott, Hazel Apr 14 1961
Box 9 Scott, Zachary Feb 2 1961
Box 9 Seal, Elizabeth Jan 12 1961
Box 9 Seberg, Jean Mar 17 1961
Box 9 Segal, Harry "Champ" Feb 15 1961
Box 9 Serling, Rod Sep 15 1959
Box 9 Sheean, Vincent Mar 7 1960
Box 9 Sherek, Henry Dec 30 1959
Box 9 Shirer, William Nov 29 1960
Box 9 Shor, Toots May 15 1959
Box 9 Sillman, Leonard Oct 23 1959
Box 9 Skinner, Cornelia Otis Oct 2 1959
Box 9 Smith, H. Allen Mar 14 1960
Box 10 Smith, Merriman Feb 10 1961
Box 10 Sokolsky, George Mar 9 1960
Box 10 Soraci, Carmelo Apr 6 1961
Box 10 Soustelle, Jacques Mar 30 1960
Box 10 Stapleton, Maureen May 1 1959
Box 10 Steiger, Rod Nov 22 1960
Box 10 Sterling, Jan Mar 16 1960
Box 10 Stern, Bill Oct 9 1959
Box 10 Stern, Isaac Jan 12 1961
Box 10 Stevens, Inger Dec 20 1959
Box 10 Stevens, Leslie Apr 6 1960 (?)
Box 10 Stevenson, Adlai Sep 14 1959
Box 10 Stone, Willis Oct 11 1960 - additional informational material
Box 10 Stritch, Elaine Mar 12 1959 (?)
Box 10 Styne, Jule Mar 2 1960
Box 10 Susskind, David Apr 28 1959, Sep 20 1960
Box 10 Taylor, Renee Jan 6 1961
Box 10 Tillstrom, Bur Nov 8 1960
Box 10 Todd, Mike Jr. Feb 11 1960
Box 10 Torme, Mel Feb 17 1961
Box 10 Tracy, Vincent Jan 5 1961
Box 10 Trapp, Maria Dec 6 1960, Dec 20 1960
Box 10 Umeki, Myoshi Apr 20 1959
Box 10 Uphaus, Willard Dr. dec 13 1960
Box 10 Ustinov, Peter Jul 21 1959
Box 10 Vallee, Rudy Jul 14 1959
Box 10 Vanderbilt, Amy Nov 25 1959
Box 10 Van Dyke, Dick Feb 17 1961
Box 10 Van Fleet, General James Jun 9 1959
Box 11 Van Horne, Harriet Apr 29 1960
Box 11 Van Rensselaer, Philip Apr 15 1960
Box 11 Veeck, Bill Jan 24 1960
Box 11 Vidal, Gore May 8 1959, Apr 18 1960, Dec 12 1960, Dec 13 1960
Box 11 Vidie, Ambassador D. Mar 17 1960
Box 11 Wagner, Robert F. Jan 25 1960
Box 11 Walcott, Jersey Joe Aug 1959 (?)
Box 11 Walker, Nancy Feb 3 1961
Box 11 Wallach, Eli Dec 4 1959, Jan 26 1961
Box 11 Waters, Ethel Apr 9 1959
Box 11 Waugh, Alec Apr 8 1960
Box 11 Wechsler, James May 23 1960
Box 11 Wertham, Dr. Frederic Jan 28 1960, Apr 25 1960, Nov 1 1960
Box 11 Wheeler, Bert May 5 1959
Box 11 Whiteman, Paul May 18 1960
Box 11 Williams, Governor G. Mennen Apr 15 1959
Box 11 Williams, Tennessee Nov 14 1960
Box 11 Winters, Jonathan Mar 25 1960
Box 11 Wismer, Harry Nov 8 1960
Box 11 Wiznitzer, Louis Oct 18 1960
Box 11 Wyman, Louis Dec 19 1960
Box 11 Youngman, Henny Jan 26 1961
Box 11 Zolotow, Maurice Apr 4 1960, Nov 14 1960
Audiorecordings
Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.
Note on alternate formats: All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
Dr. Fredric Wertham (1) Feb 1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_001)
William F. Buckley, Jr. 03/07/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:40 (ID#: wallace_m_002)
Peter Lorre 03/08/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:46 (ID#: wallace_m_003)
Tina Louise 03/09/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:58 (ID#: wallace_m_004)
William Workman 03/01/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_005)
Claude Dauphin 03/11/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_006)
Jule Styne 03/14/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_007)
Dr. Fredric Wertham (2) 03/15/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:53 (ID#: wallace_m_008)
Vincent Sheean 03/16/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:53 (ID#: wallace_m_009)
Jean Pierre Aumont 03/17/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_010)
Nathaniel Branden 03/18/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:52 (ID#: wallace_m_011)
George Sokolsky - Part 1 03/21/1960 reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:53 (ID#: wallace_m_012)
George Sokolsky - Part 2 03/22/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_013)
Kenneth Haigh 03/23/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_014)
William Bradford Huie 03/24/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_015)
Dr. Nathan Kline 03/25/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:53 (ID#: wallace_m_016)
Jonathan Winters reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_017)
Jan Sterling 03/30/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:19 (ID#: wallace_m_018)
Wolf Mankowitz 03/31/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:48 (ID#: wallace_m_019)
Earl Kintner reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_020)
Harry Allen Smith reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:58 (ID#: wallace_m_021)
Brian Aherne reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:00 (ID#: wallace_m_022)
Jackson McVey reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_023)
John Howard Griffin reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:00 (ID#: wallace_m_024)
Mort Sahl 04/06/1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 29:00 (ID#: wallace_m_025)
Jacques Soustelle reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:49 (ID#: wallace_m_026)
Carol Burnett reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:19 (ID#: wallace_m_027)
Gustav Regler reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:47 (ID#: wallace_m_028)
Lissa Charell reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:58 (ID#: wallace_m_029)
Bosley Crowther reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_030)
Maurice Zolotow reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:55 (ID#: wallace_m_031)
Marya Mannes reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:05 (ID#: wallace_m_032)
Leslie Stevens reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:46 (ID#: wallace_m_033)
Dobrivije Vidic reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:45 (ID#: wallace_m_034)
Jack E. Leonard reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:58 (ID#: wallace_m_035)
Alec Waugh reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_036)
Jose Greco reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:50 (ID#: wallace_m_037)
Perle Mesta reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:45 (ID#: wallace_m_038)
Jules Feiffer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_039)
Frank Lovejoy reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:30 (ID#: wallace_m_040)
Antonio Rocca reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:30 (ID#: wallace_m_041)
George Axelrod reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:30 (ID#: wallace_m_042)
Ayn Rand reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:12 (ID#: wallace_m_043)
Gore Vidal reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:22 (ID#: wallace_m_044)
Harriet Van Horne reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:54 (ID#: wallace_m_045)
Ralph de Toledano reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:49 (ID#: wallace_m_046)
Major Alexander P. DeSeversky reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:23 (ID#: wallace_m_047)
Dr. Fredric Wertham reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:53 (ID#: wallace_m_048)
Phillip Van Rensselaer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:47 (ID#: wallace_m_049)
Philip Roth reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:46 (ID#: wallace_m_050)
Mae Murray reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:18 (ID#: wallace_m_051)
Amy Vanderbilt reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:16 (ID#: wallace_m_052)
Anne Bancroft reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:15 (ID#: wallace_m_053)
Maureen Stapleton reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:50 (ID#: wallace_m_054)
Cyrus Eaton reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:48 (ID#: wallace_m_055)
Harry Ashmore reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:51 (ID#: wallace_m_056)
Paul Whiteman reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:19 (ID#: wallace_m_057)
Rube Goldberg reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:17 (ID#: wallace_m_058)
Olgivanna Wright, widow of Frank Lloyd Wright. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:17 (ID#: wallace_m_059)
Gardner McKay reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:20 (ID#: wallace_m_060)
Harry Belafonte reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:45 (ID#: wallace_m_061)
James Wechsler reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:23 (ID#: wallace_m_062)
Joe Louis reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:45 (ID#: wallace_m_063)
Faye Emerson reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:44 (ID#: wallace_m_064)
Bobby Darin reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:44 (ID#: wallace_m_065)
Abba Eban , on location in Israel. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:20 (ID#: wallace_m_066)
Moshe Dayan on location in Israel reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:45 (ID#: wallace_m_067)
Golda Meir reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:20 (ID#: wallace_m_068)
Otto Preminger on location in Israel. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:25 (ID#: wallace_m_069)
Paul Newman on location in Israel. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:16 (ID#: wallace_m_070)
Thomas F. Lanphier, Jr. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:34 (ID#: wallace_m_071)
Sal Mineo on location in Israel reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:23 (ID#: wallace_m_072)
William L. Laurence, Science Editor for The New York Times. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:22 (ID#: wallace_m_073)
Lee J. Cobb on location in Israel reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:21 (ID#: wallace_m_074)
Emmet J. Hughes, chief foreign correspondent for Time and Life magazines. 1959 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:11 (ID#: wallace_m_075)
Dr. Albert Ellis on “Morality of Sex , Love and Marriage” reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:25 (ID#: wallace_m_076)
Ben Hecht reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:28 (ID#: wallace_m_077)
Benjamin Cohen reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:46 (ID#: wallace_m_078)
Fred Demara [MISSING Feb 2013] (ID#: wallace_m_079)
Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. (Eleanor Butler Alexander-Roosevelt) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:12 (ID#: wallace_m_080)
June Havoc reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:19 (ID#: wallace_m_081)
Sheilah Graham reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:53 (ID#: wallace_m_082)
Sammy Davis, Jr. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:16 (ID#: wallace_m_083)
Ayn Rand reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:47 (ID#: wallace_m_084)
Zsa Zsa Gabor 1959 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:39 (ID#: wallace_m_085)
William F. Buckley, Jr. (Part 1) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:15 (ID#: wallace_m_086)
Gerry Mulligan reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:51 (ID#: wallace_m_087)
Moss Hart reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:43 (ID#: wallace_m_088)
Tommy Leonetti reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:41 (ID#: wallace_m_089)
Denise Darcel reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:20 (ID#: wallace_m_090)
Norman Mailer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:12 (ID#: wallace_m_091)
George Jessel reel tape, 1/4"; running time 28:30 (ID#: wallace_m_092)
Eddie Bracken reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:15 (ID#: wallace_m_093)
V. K. Krishna Menon reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:47 (ID#: wallace_m_094)
Shelley Berman reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:45 (ID#: wallace_m_095)
Inger Stevens reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:52 (ID#: wallace_m_096)
Melvyn Douglas 1960 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:15 (ID#: wallace_m_097)
Ted Atkinson reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:16 (ID#: wallace_m_098)
Sir Cedric Hardwicke reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:13 (ID#: wallace_m_099)
Clyde Beatty; circus lions. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:11 (ID#: wallace_m_100)
Carol Burnett; slug inserted at 14:39:317 by ? reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:39 (ID#: wallace_m_101)
Sam Dash on wiretapping, invasion of privacy reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:16 (ID#: wallace_m_102)
Meyer Levin, Jewish activist and author reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:24 (ID#: wallace_m_103)
Dana Andrews reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:53 (ID#: wallace_m_104)
Orson Bean [MISSING Feb 2013] (ID#: wallace_m_105)
Ramon Novarro, silent film actor reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:54 (ID#: wallace_m_106)
Leo Rosten reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:13 (ID#: wallace_m_107)
Raoul Levy reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26;19 (ID#: wallace_m_108)
David Susskind (part 1) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:10 (ID#: wallace_m_109)
David Susskind (part 2) [MISSING Feb 2013] (ID#: wallace_m_110)
Jersey Joe Walcott, boxer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:14 (ID#: wallace_m_111)
Peter Ustinov reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:12 (ID#: wallace_m_112)
James B. Carey reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:12 (ID#: wallace_m_113)
Maurice Evans reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:43 (ID#: wallace_m_114)
Jinx Falkenberg reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:10 (ID#: wallace_m_115)
Joseph Pasternak reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:44 (ID#: wallace_m_116)
Carl Sandburg (parts 1 & 2) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_117)
Ina Balin, actress, and Hugh Downs reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_118)
David Susskind - MISSING reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_119)
David Susskind and Christina Crawford reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_120)
Mike Quill and Father Dom Placide Pernot reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_121)
Malcolm Muggeridge (Part 1 & 2) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_122)
Quentin Reynolds (part 2) and Fabian reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_123)
James Michener and Quentin Reynolds (part 1) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_124)
Joseph Fletcher and William Michelfelder (Part 1) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_125)
William Michelfelder (Part 2) and Nick Kenny reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_126)
Walter Reuther (Parts 1 & 2) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_127)
Ilka Chase and Steve Allen reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_128)
Steve Allen (Part 2) and Myrna Loy reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_129)
Max Lerner and Robert St. John reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_130)
Bess Myerson and Col. Gregory (Pappy) Boyington reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_131)
Phyllis Diller and Dr. Charles Shulman (Rabbi) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:09 (ID#: wallace_m_132)
Robert St. John II reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16;23 (ID#: wallace_m_133)
Jack Lemmon and Marya Mannes reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:26 (ID#: wallace_m_134)
Harry Wismer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:08 (ID#: wallace_m_135a)
Morarji Desai reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:28 (ID#: wallace_m_135b)
Dr. Fredric Wertham and Louis Lomax reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:38 (ID#: wallace_m_136)
William Bendix and Gael Greene reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:03 (ID#: wallace_m_137)
Gael Greene reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_137a)
David Merrick 1/11/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:21 (ID#: wallace_m_138)
Mel Brooks reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:50 (ID#: wallace_m_139)
Otto Preminger 1/12/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:29 (ID#: wallace_m_140)
Elizabeth Seal, take 1 1/12/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 22:06 (ID#: wallace_m_141)
Gus Hall, take 1 1/5/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:30 (ID#: wallace_m_142)
Jim Landis; Take 2 1/11/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 29:31 (ID#: wallace_m_143)
Lilo reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:06 (ID#: wallace_m_144)
Sal Mineo reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:53 (ID#: wallace_m_145)
Willis Stone reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:45 (ID#: wallace_m_146)
Piper Laurie reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:41 (ID#: wallace_m_147)
David Susskind (part 2) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:41 (ID#: wallace_m_148)
Menachem Begin and a Promotional O.T.A. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 14:49 (ID#: wallace_m_149)
Gloria DeHaven reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:38 (ID#: wallace_m_150)
Dr. Gregory Pincus, birth control pill inventor reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:44 (ID#: wallace_m_151)
Natasha Lytess reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:42 (ID#: wallace_m_152)
Dr. Linus Pauling reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:56 (ID#: wallace_m_153)
Connie Francis; including commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:24 (ID#: wallace_m_154)
Mary Margaret McBride and Joseph Granville reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:06 (ID#: wallace_m_155)
Sammy Davis Jr. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:36 (ID#: wallace_m_156)
Mr. & Mrs. Sammy Davis Jr.; including commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:01 (ID#: wallace_m_157)
Captain James Calvert reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:57 (ID#: wallace_m_158)
William L. Shirer, author of The Rise And Fall Of The Third Reich reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:58 (ID#: wallace_m_159)
John Bonomi reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:06 (ID#: wallace_m_160a)
Cleveland Amory reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:29 (ID#: wallace_m_160b)
Phil Ford & Mimi Hines reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:11 (ID#: wallace_m_161a)
Henry Rosenfeld reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:23 (ID#: wallace_m_161b)
Frank Meyer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:52 (ID#: wallace_m_162)
Buddy Rich reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:15 (ID#: wallace_m_163)
Duchess of Bedford reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:42 (ID#: wallace_m_164)
Renee Taylor; take 1; studio banter and cues, slate reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:56 (ID#: wallace_m_165)
Louis Wyman reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:44 (ID#: wallace_m_166)
Pamela Mason (Mrs.James Mason); with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:23 (ID#: wallace_m_167)
Anne Meacham; poor recording reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:02 (ID#: wallace_m_168)
Paul Anka; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:50 (ID#: wallace_m_169)
William F. Buckley Jr.; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:15 (ID#: wallace_m_170)
Mike Nichols; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:24 (ID#: wallace_m_171)
Oleg Cassini reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:49 (ID#: wallace_m_172)
Eve Merriam; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:17 (ID#: wallace_m_173)
Marcel Duchamp; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:38 (ID#: wallace_m_174)
John Cassevetes; Dialing the News (fragment) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:24 (ID#: wallace_m_175)
Norman Mailer; 11/21/1960 - interview was recorded the day before Mr. Mailer was arrested for the stabbing of Mrs. Adele Mailer on 11/22/1960. The NYPD was allowed to view the tape before broadcast. reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:22 (ID#: wallace_m_177)
Maurice Zolotow; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:51 (ID#: wallace_m_178)
Burr Tillstrom, Kukla and Ollie the Dragon about their show at the Kuklapolitan Room, NYC among other subjects; Dialing the News (fragment); with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time "19:51" (ID#: wallace_m_179)
Andre Maurois and Christina Crawford; includes news fragment, commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:10 (ID#: wallace_m_180)
Leo Koch; includies a "Dialing the News" fragment reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:39 (ID#: wallace_m_181)
John Crosby; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:34 (ID#: wallace_m_182)
Barbara Baxley and the news; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:27 (ID#: wallace_m_183)
Dr. Willard Uphous; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:08 (ID#: wallace_m_184)
Connee Boswell reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:46 (ID#: wallace_m_185)
Frank Conniff, Moss Hart (fragment) and Christine Jorgensen (fragment) reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 16:14 (ID#: wallace_m_186)
Victor Riesel; with commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:42 (ID#: wallace_m_187)
Zachary Scott reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:05 (ID#: wallace_m_188)
Rod Steiger reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 22:15 (ID#: wallace_m_189)
Martin Luther King Jr. (Part 1) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_190)
Martin Luther King Jr. (Part 2) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_191)
Earl Bucholz, tennis player; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:42 (ID#: wallace_m_192)
Robert Gray; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:13 (ID#: wallace_m_193)
Nancy Walker; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 17:41 (ID#: wallace_m_194)
Eli Wallach; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:49 (ID#: wallace_m_195)
Henny Youngman; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:47 (ID#: wallace_m_196)
Diahann Carroll; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:43 (ID#: wallace_m_197)
Merriam Smith; with studio banter and cues; no commercials; no footnote or close @ end reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 24:02 (ID#: wallace_m_198)
Dr. Leo Sziliard; with studio banter and cues; no commercials; unimportant fluffs, false starts,and tech problems edited from transfer reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:04 (ID#: wallace_m_199)
Gayelord Hauser; with studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:07 (ID#: wallace_m_200)
Isaac Stern; with studio banter and cues; no commercials 01/11/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 29:31 (ID#: wallace_m_201)
Mel Torme; with studio banter and cues; no commercials 02/17/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:57 (ID#: wallace_m_202)
Henry "Champ" Segal; with studio banter and cues 02/15/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:54 (ID#: wallace_m_203)
Bishop James Pike; with studio banter and cues; no commercials - has date of Feb 21, no year reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 29:21 (ID#: wallace_m_204)
Vincent Tracy; with studio banter and cues; no commercials; inconsequential fluffs and gaffes edited 1/5/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 19:43 (ID#: wallace_m_205)
China Machado; with studio banter and cues; no commercials 3/2/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 27:21 (ID#: wallace_m_206)
Betty Comden and Adolph Green; with studio banter and cues; no commercials 2/17/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:20 (ID#: wallace_m_207)
Elsa Lanchester; studio banter and cues; no commercials - has date of Feb 23, no year reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:03 (ID#: wallace_m_208)
Eddie Albert; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:15 (ID#: wallace_m_209)
Carol Channing; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 23:17 (ID#: wallace_m_210)
Dr. Richard Hoffman reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_211)
Dr. Lewis L Robbins; studio banter and cues; no commercials 02/10/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:04 (ID#: wallace_m_212)
Ben Hecht and Dore Schary; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 22:00 (ID#: wallace_m_213)
Gary Crosby and Dizzy Gillespie; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:52 (ID#: wallace_m_214)
Bobby Darin and Karl Malden; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:04 (ID#: wallace_m_215)
Primo Carnera and Betty Furness; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:43 (ID#: wallace_m_216)
Dick van Dyke; studio banter and cues; no commercials; Pre “Dick Van Dyke Show” 02/17/1961 reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:27 (ID#: wallace_m_218)
Joyce McIver; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:01 (ID#: wallace_m_219)
Frank Gifford, Hal March and Winston Churchill documentary (2 fragments); studio banter and cues reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:08 (ID#: wallace_m_220)
Margaret O’Brien, P.D. East and Winston Churchill documentary (fragment); studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:22 (ID#: wallace_m_221)
Carol Lynley and “Bricktop”; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:48 (ID#: wallace_m_222)
Orson Bean by Mike Wallace reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 26:13 (ID#: wallace_m_223)
Henry Kissinger and Dennis King; studio banter and cues reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 18:06 (ID#: wallace_m_224)
Richard Rodgers and Tony Bennett; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:45 (ID#: wallace_m_225)
Ayn Rand; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:23 (ID#: wallace_m_226)
Alexander P. de Seversky by Mike Wallace; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 7", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:49 (ID#: wallace_m_227)
Janice Rule and Andy Robustelli; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 20:49 (ID#: wallace_m_228)
Roald Dahl by Mike Wallace reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 22:56 (ID#: wallace_m_229)
Eartha Kitt by Mike Wallace; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 22:19 (ID#: wallace_m_230)
Zsa Zsa Gabor; studio banter and cues; no commercials; first introduction is an out take reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 36:00 (ID#: wallace_m_231)
Anita Loos; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; running time 20:27 (ID#: wallace_m_232)
Kim Hunter and Ruby Dee reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 25:05 (ID#: wallace_m_233)
Elsa Maxwell; Studio banter and cues; no commercials; 1 out take reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; running time 21:16 (ID#: wallace_m_234)
Roddy MacDowall and Hazel Scott; studio banter with cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 42:45 (ID#: wallace_m_235)
Cyril Richard and Luther Hodges; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 21:14 (ID#: wallace_m_236)
Hazel Scott and Dick Gregory; studio banter and cues; no commercials reel tape, 1/4", 7 1/2 ips; running time 41:58 (ID#: wallace_m_237)
June Havoc, Cyrus Eaton, Ayn Rand and Sammy Davis Jr. 03/9/1959 to 3/13/1959 reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; four separate interviews, total running time 104:29 (ID#: wallace_m_239)
Hubert Humphrey, Hans Conreid, Ted Atkinson, Clayton Pruell, Martin Block and Orson Bean - dates are given as 3/17, 3/18, 3/19, 3/20, 3/23, 3/24 with no year reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 154:00 (ID#: wallace_m_240)
Tommy Leonetti, Zsa Zsa Gabor, William Buckley Jr., Jayne Meadows, Ben Hecht, and Dr. Albert Ellis reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 175:51 (ID#: wallace_m_241)
Sally Belfrage, Gerald [Gerold?] Frank, Eugene Kinkead, Rube Goldberg, Gov. G. Mennen Williams, and Clyde Beatty - same as wallace_m_100 reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 171:37 (ID#: wallace_m_242)
Jack Douglas, Marie McDonald, Dana Andrews, Ethel Waters, Capt. William Bradley, and Mike Quill reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 173:28 (ID#: wallace_m_243)
Col. Serge Obolensky, Abbe Lane, Xavier Cugat, Pancho Gonzalez, Myoshi Umeki and Christine Jorgensen reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 148:41 (ID#: wallace_m_244)
Sir Cedric Hardwicke, Camilo Weston Leyra, Frankie Laine, Shelley Berman, May Eastman, Hy Gardner reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 174:52 (ID#: wallace_m_245)
Sessue Hayakawa, David Susskind, Ephraim London, Lorraine Hansberry and Gore Vidal (ID#: wallace_m_246)
Mr. John, Kyre Petrovskaya, Maureen Stapleton, Tony Galento, Jackie Gerlich, and Andy Griffith reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 175:37 (ID#: wallace_m_247)
Col. Gregory "Pappy" Boyington, Bert Wheeler, Huntington Hartford, James Roosevelt, Franklin D. Roosevelt Jr., Mel Allen reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_248)
Gen. James van Fleet, Anne Bancroft, Eva Gabor, Gus D’Amato, Julie Newman, Toots Shor, David Susskind (fragment) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_249)
Tom Poston, Ben Cohn, Jolie Gabor, Gerry Mulligan, Fred Demara, Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, David Susskin (fragment) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_250)
Arlene Francis, Frank O’Leary, Rudy Vallee, Averell Harriman, Peter Ustinov, Terry Danielsen reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_251)
Edmund Hillary, Dr. Alan Guttmacher, Jane Bloeth, Ed Hilgemeier, George Jessel reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_252)
Dorothy Day, Eddie Bracken, Harold Medina, Betty Furness, Cab Calloway, Rona Jaffee reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 164:25 (ID#: wallace_m_253)
Meyer Levin, Bill Stern, William Laurence, Cornelia Otis Skinner, Wally Cox, Raoul Levy; all with commercials; “Newscast @ end of side b ‘Newsbreak’” “Van Doren/ Dance Party” reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 171:20 (ID#: wallace_m_254)
Dennis O’Keefe, Melvyn Douglas, “Joe,” juvenile gang leader (incomplete), Nina Foch, Flair Coles, Abe Burrows reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 164:51 (ID#: wallace_m_255)
Katina Paxinor, Francis Harwich, Conrad Nagel, Bob Cousy, John Crosby, Geraldine Page reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_256)
Emmet John Hughes, Leonard Sillman, Otto Preminger, Victor Riesel, Joe Pasternak and James B. Carey reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 166:51 (ID#: wallace_m_257)
Harrison Salisbury, Moss Hart, Krishna Menon, Denise Darcel, Hildegarde and Howard Edmondson reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_258)
Leo Rosten, Norman Mailer, Bennett Cerf, Mae Murray, Sam Dash and Erskine Caldwell; 6 separate shows on 1 reel reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips (ID#: wallace_m_259)
Maurice Evans, Beverly Aadland, Theodore Bikel, A. Phillip Randolph, Amy Vanderbilt and Shirley MacLaine reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_260)
Roy Campanella, Buddy Rich, Admiral Elmo Hutchinson, Ramon Navarro and Cleveland Amory reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_261)
Gus Hall, Stanley Isaacs, Inger Stevens (2 parts), Chester Bowles, Joachim Prinz and Herbert Lehman reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_262)
Henry Sherek, Ed Fitzgerald, Robert Wagner, Paul Blanchard [Blanshard?], Pat Hingle and Diana Barrymore reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_263)
Dr. Fredric Wertham, Stanley Kramer, Bill Veeck, Mike Todd Jr., Ken Murray and Frank Lane reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; six separate interviews, total running time 164:20 (ID#: wallace_m_264)
Frank Lloyd Wright (Parts 1 & 2) reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; running time 56:09 (ID#: wallace_m_265)
Lorraine Hansberry reel tape, 1/4", 3 3/4 ips; running time 29:18 (ID#: wallace_m_266)
Lorraine Hansberry reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_267)
Christine Jorgensen reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_268)
Harry Ashmore reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_269)
Jacqueline Cochran reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_270)
Fred Demers reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_271)
William Douglas reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_272)
Cyrus Eaton reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_273)
Erich Fromm reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_274)
Robert Hutchins reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_275)
Aldous Huxley reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_276)
Henry Kissinger reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_277)
George Jessel reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_278)
Francis Lally reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_279)
Reinhold Niebuhr reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_280)
Charles Percy reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_281)
Sylvester Weaver reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_282)
Frank Lloyd Wright and Julie Newman reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_283)
Profiles of Marilyn Monroe, Harry Belafonte, Carl Sandburg, Sammy Davis Jr., Tony Curtis, Jack Paar, Liz Taylor, Frank Sinatra, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Dean Martin reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_284)
James Baldwin, Mischa Jac Feld reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_285)
Anthony Quinn reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_286)
Ashley Montagu and David Susskind (part 1 of 2) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_287)
Jean Seberg and Ayn Rand (fragment) reel tape, 1/4" (ID#: wallace_m_288)
Miscellaneous
Box 12 The Hate that Hate Produced - binder of material, transcript

Return to top

Index to interviews

The following is an alphabetical list of all interview participants as well as a few notable individuals who were the subject or topic of intervews (e.g., Winston Churchill). Each name is followed by a list of the script(s) and/or recording(s) available in the collection. Note that all audio interviews have been digitized.

Return to top