Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Coolie Verner Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Verner, Coolie
Title: Coolie Verner Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1953-1972
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American educator Coolie Verner received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1952. He was professor of adult education at Florida State University (1953-1961) and the University of British Columbia (1961-) where he served as department chair. His awards include a Fulbright Fellowship (1952-1953), a Canada Council Fellowship (1968-1969) and an Imago Mundi Award (1959). Papers include agendas, correspondence, drafts, programs and reports. Papers include those generated while professor at Florida State University and the University of British Columbia. There are also papers from his activities in the Canadian Association for Adult Education, the International Congress of University Adult Education, from Washington State University, and those which resulted from his writings. A significant portion of the correspondence is that of Thurman J. White.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Coolie Verner took his doctorate from Columbia University in 1952. First affiliated as a research assistant with the Institute of Adult Education at Columbia University, he became a professor of adult education at Florida State University from 1953 to 1961. Since that time he has been a professor of adult education at the University of British Columbia, where he has served as chairman of the Department of Adult Education. His awards include a Fulbright Fellowship in 1952-53, a Canada Council Fellowship in 1968-69, and an Imago Mundi Award for 1959.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The three boxes of his papers date from 1953 to 1972. They concern a wide variety of correspondence and subject materials concerned with Florida State University, Washington State University, the University of British Columbia, the Canadian Association for Adult Education, and the International Congress of University Adult Education.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Verner, Coolie, Archives
White, Thurman J.

Corporate Bodies

Canadian Association for Adult Education

Subjects

Adult education
Educators, Canada
Educators, United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Programs (documents)
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Coolie Verner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Oct 1976
Revision history: 11 May 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1959-1971
Box 1 1967-1970
Subject files
Box 1 Activities 1953-1971
Box 1 Algonquin College 1967-1970
Box 1 Banff Symposium, "Stimulants to Social and Economic Development in Slow Growing Regions." 1966
Box 1 Canadian Association for Adult Education, National Conference, Vancouver 1966
Box 1 Exams 1962-1967
Box 1 Florida State University 1970-1971
Box 2 Harper & Brothers 1956-1965
Box 2 International Congress of University Adult Education, Second World Conference, Montreal 1970
Box 2 Macmillan Publishing Company 1960-1970
Box 2 Neylan-Verner Study undated
Box 2 Ontario Institute for Studies in Education 1970
Box 2 Professors - Canada 1966-1969
Box 2 St. Mark's College, Night School Directors' Workshop 1963
Box 2 Teaching-Learning Conference at Alderbrook 1968
University of British Columbia
Box 2 Committee on Extra Sessional Programs 1962-1966
Box 2 Continuing Education Committee 1963-1964
Box 2 Senate Committee on Continuing Education 1966-1970
Box 2 Trustees' Project 1961-1966
Box 2 University of Washington, Bureau of Community Development 1956-1958
Box 3 Washington Northern State Hospital 1970
Box 3 Washington State University, Seminar in Adult Education 1970
Box 3 White, Thurman J. 1971-1972
Writings
Box 3 "Understanding Adult Learning and Instruction," by Coolie Verner and Catherine V. Davison undated - draft

Return to top