Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harold Van Doren Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Doren, Harold.
Title: Harold Van Doren Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1952-1956
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American industrial designer, design teacher and author. Collection includes photographs, sketches, diagrams, blueprints and drawings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold Van Doren (1895-1957) was an influential American industrial designer who created numerous iconic streamlined design items including toys, radios, fans, and more. He also taught design and wrote several books on the subject.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Van Doren Papers consists of photographs, sketches (some colored), diagrams, and drawings for various projects, primarily air conditioners and kitchen ranges (ovens). All original folder titles have been preserved, apart from the addition of [19] to normalize the year and the "Miscellaneous" material folder at the end, which contains previously unfoldered material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by folder title. Original folder titles (though not original order of folders) were preserved and used.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of industrial designers; please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Van Doren, Harold.

Subjects

Air conditioning -- Equipment and supplies -- Design and construction.
Industrial design -- United States.
Industrial designers -- United States.
Stoves -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Drawings.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Van Doren Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold Van Doren, 1965, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Project files
Box 1 [19]54 air conditioners 1952-1954
Box 1 [19]54 ranges 1952
Box 1 [19]55 air conditioner 1953-1954
Box 1 1955 ranges 1954-1955
Box 1 [19]55 ranges, built-in 1954-1955
Box 1 1955 Windowlette 1954
Box 1 [19]56 air conditioner details 1954-1955
Box 1 [19]56 air conditioner sketches 1954-1955
Box 1 1956 ranges sketches undated
Box 1 Air conditioner "Futures" 1952-1955
Box 1 Air conditioner grill studies 1953-1954
Box 1 Portable air conditioner 1953-1954
Box 1 Schick shaver 1955-1956
Box 1 Yorkaire unit 1953-1954
Box 1 [Miscellaneous] undated - suitcase, blender[?], vending machines

Return to top