Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Suzie Van Arsdale Letters

An inventory of her letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Arsdale, Suzie
Title: Suzie Van Arsdale Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1874-1894
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Collection of family and social letters written by Syracuse University student Suzie Van Arsdale to her cousin Clemma Van Arsdale of Owasco, Cayuga County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Suzie Van Arsdale letters consist of over 260 pages of correspondence, primarily letters from Syracuse University student Suzie Van Arsdale, Syracuse, New York to her cousin Clemma Van Arsdale of Owasco, Cayuga County, New York. Suzie's letters apprise her cousin Clemma of everything about life in Syracuse that Suzie expected would interest her. Topics range from Syracuse political life ("They are having great times here at present. The Republicans and the Democrats march out every week and raise a pole in every ward." Sept. 22, 1876) to her studies ("All I care about is Latin, German and Geometry." June 6, 1879). With respect to her studies, Suzie shares news about student life, her classes and classmates, her fellow female boarders, and Syracuse University student activities and pranks. She also writes about personal matters, such as her quilting and sewing, new clothes, visits to and from relatives, Sunday school and camp meetings, and eventually her dating and early married life with Dell Fisher, with whom she moved to Cortland in 1885.

The letters also include Clemma's incoming correspondence from a few other people such as cousin William P. Forman of Hightstown, New York and various male and female friends.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Van Arsdale, Suzie.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University -- History.

Subjects

Upper class women -- Correspondence.
Women -- Education (Higher)
Women college students -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Suzie Van Arsdale Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2006

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 14 Jul 2006
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 172/1 Foreman, W. P. 1881-1883, 1885 (41 pp.)
SC 172/2, 172/3 Van Arsdale, Suzie 1874-1887, 1889-1894 (2 folders, 213 pp.)
SC 172/4 Miscellaneous undated

Return to top