Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Union Products Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Union Products.
Title: Union Products Records
Inclusive Dates: 1940s-2000s
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains correspondence and product literature, invoices and order forms, press clippings, and one photograph from the company that invented and produced the pink flamingo lawn ornament.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Union Products, Inc., founded in 1946 in Leominster, Massachusetts, was a manufacturer of plastic blow and injection molded products, best known as the maker of the Pink Flamingo lawn ornament. Don Featherstone created the design for the pink flamingo which began production in 1957. Union Products went out of business in late 2006.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Union Products Records contains correspondence, product literature, catalogs, invoices and order forms, and one photograph, from the company that invented and produced the pink flamingo lawn ornament.

Clippings contains newspaper and magazine clippings, and online articles about Union Products.

Correspondence contains letters and memos to and from Union Products.

Photographs contains one black and white print of a plastic tray.

Product literature includes advertisements, catalogs, price and product lists, and other printed materials for Union Products merchandise. Also included are catalogs and printed materials from other companies and manufacturers.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged alphabetically by subject

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Featherstone, Don, 1936-

Corporate Bodies

Union Products -- Archives.

Subjects

Blow molding.
Injection molding of plastics.
Pink flamingos (Lawn ornaments)
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Invoices.
Order forms.
Photographs.
Promotional materials.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Union Products Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: M. Zephir
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 2 Mar 2009 - box numbers updated (MRC); Apr 2012 - updated (SCJ)

Return to top

Inventory

Clippings
Box 1 Clippings 1986-1997
Newspaper and magazine articles about Union Products, pink flamingos, and Don Featherstone
Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1949-1952
Letters, memos, and other correspondence
Photographs
Box 1 Plastic tray with silverware, black and white
Product literature
Box 1 Advertising 1955-1959
65 Advertisements from magazines and other publications
Box 1 Holiday, Christmas 1967-1993 (2 folders)
12 Catalogs and 8 pages of product literature for Christmas decorations
Box 1 Holiday, other
Catalogs and product literature for Easter, Halloween, and Thanksgiving decorations
Box 1 Household
76 Pages of product literature for house and kitchen wares
Box 2 Lawn and garden 1954-2000 (3 folders)
10 Catalogs and 91 pages of product literature for lawn and garden decorations and supplies
Box 2 General product literature 1956-1960
6 Catalogs and 8 pages of product literature for various items, includes general company catalogs
Box 2 Other companies
Catalog for Dow Chemical plastic housewares
Catalog for Dominion Comb and Novelty Co. housewares
Single page product literature for Bernard Edward Co., Colonial Moulded Plastic Co., Phillips Products Co., Catalin Corporation of America

Return to top