Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Troy and Rutland Railroad Company Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Troy & Rutland Rail Road Company.
Title: Troy and Rutland Railroad Company Records
Inclusive Dates: 1851-1853
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Miscellaneous business papers from the New York regional railroad.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Troy and Rutland Railroad Company was a small local railroad in New York State. Chartered in 1849, the 40-mile track was completed in 1852 and was part of the larger trackage (400 miles) of the Rutland Railroad of Vermont.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Troy and Rutland Railroad Company Records consists of miscellaneous business-related correspondence and documentation relating to the earliest days of the railroad, prior to and just after completion of construction. Included is a printed mortage listing Daniel S. Miller and Shepherd Knapp as trustees for a $100,000 bond issuance.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has substantial holdings relating to local and regional railroads in New York and the Northeast. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Knapp, Shepherd, 1795-1875.
Miller, Daniel S., fl. 1851.

Corporate Bodies

Troy & Rutland Rail Road Company.

Subjects

Railroads -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Maps.
Minutes.
Mortgages.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Troy and Rutland Railroad Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Oct 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
Access Restrictions
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.
SC 619 Miscellaneous 1851-1853, undated

Return to top