Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Templeton, Richard Harkness, 1877-1952.
Title:	Richard Harkness Templeton Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1899-1952
Quantity:	4.0 linear feet
Abstract:	Templeton was U.S. District Attorney for western New York, and served on the Buffalo Port Authority. Collection includes correspondence, 1917-1951; manuscripts of writings, 1899-1952; published materials, 1924-1947; photographs; and material on the University of Buffalo (where Templeton was a lecturer), 1907-1952. Other subjects include Allegany State Park, the Buffalo Port Authority, prohibition, and Republican politics in the Buffalo area. Correspondents include Henry Cabot Lodge Jr., S. Wallace Dempsey, James Wadsworth, and Mabel W. Willebrandt.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard H. Templeton (1877-1952) was an American attorney. He graduated from Syracuse University with a Bachelor of Arts in 1899 and also studied law there. In 1901 he passed the bar and began practicing law in Buffalo, New York. He was a lecturer at University of Buffalo from 1910-1925. He was U.S. District Attorney for the Western District of New York from 1925-1935, and also served on the Buffalo Port Authority.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Harkness Templeton Papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and published material. Biographical material is filed at the beginning of the collection.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing letters, as well as letters to and from others. Correspondence of others consists largely of letters written by Templeton's friends to others in support of Templeton's candidacy for District Attorney in 1924. A few other miscellaneous letters to and from others are filed following the District Attorney letters.

Subject file includes correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs, manuscripts, published material and related items. The materials filed by subject often are the subjects on which Mr. Templeton gave lectures or else they are projects in which he was interested.

University of Buffalo contains correspondence, manuscripts, and published material relating to Templeton's many years of association with the school.

Manuscripts contains addresses, lists, notes, and Mr. Templeton's college thesis and notebook.

Published material includes addresses, bulletins, cartoons, newspaper clippings about Templeton and others, programs, press releases, and a report.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

In Correspondence the incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author and the outgoing letters are arranged in chronological order. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject or type. The University of Buffalo correspondence is arranged chronologically, while the manuscripts and published materials are filed alphabetically by type. Items in Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. The addresses are further arranged alphabetically by title, and if untitled, chronologically. Published materials are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Harkness Templeton Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Templeton family, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 8 Sep 2009 - converted to EAD (LMD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming correspondence
Box 1			A-B
Box 1			C-D
Box 1			Dempsey, S. Wallace, Rep. 1924, 1928
Box 1			E-F
Box 1			G-H
Box 1			Ives, Irving N., Senator 1951
Box 1			J-K
Box 1			L-M
Box 1			Lehman, Herbert 1951
Box 1			Lodge, Henry Cabot, Jr. 1952
Box 1			N-P
Box 1			R-S
Box 1			Reed, Daniel S., Rep. 1928, 1945
Box 1			T-V
Box 1			W, Y, and unidentified
Box 1			Wadsworth, James W., Rep. 1945
Box 1			Willebrandt, Mabel W. 1927-1928
		Outgoing correspondence
Box 1			1921, 1923-1925
Box 1			1928-1934
Box 1			1935-1942, 1944, 1948, undated
		Correspondence of others
			District attorney appointment 1924
Box 2				A-C
Box 2				D-F
Box 2				H
Box 2				J-L
Box 2				M-P
Box 2				S, U, W, Y, unidentified
Box 2			Miscellaneous 1928

	Subject file
		Allegany State Park
			Correspondence
Box 2				1920
Box 2				1921
Box 2				1922-1925
Box 2				1932-1934, 1940, 1951, undated
Box 2			Bills and receipts
Box 2			Manuscripts
Box 2			Published material
Box 3		Bill of Rights
Box 3		Canals
Box 3		The Constitution
Box 3		Democracy
Box 3		Law schools and their students
Box 3		Lincoln, Abraham
Box 3		Photograph
Box 3		Photographs and negatives
		Port Authority (Buffalo)
Box 3			Correspondence
Box 3			Manuscripts
Box 3			Medal
Box 3			Published material
Box 3		Y.M.C.A.

	University of Buffalo
		Correspondence
Box 4			1909, 1911-1912
Box 4			1913-1914 Jan.
Box 4			1914 Feb.-Oct.
Box 4			1915-1916
Box 4			1917-1919 May
Box 4			1919 June-Aug.
Box 4			1920, 1928-1929, 1933-1935, 1948-1949, 1952, undated
		Manuscripts
Box 4			Blueprints and plans
Box 5			Drafts, addresses, etc.
Box 5			Notes and lists
		Published material
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 5			Newspaper clippings
Box 5			Pamphlets, reports and bulletins

	Manuscripts
		Addresses
Box 6			B-N
Box 6			P-W
Box 6			Untitled 1928-1929, 1931, 1933-1935, 1945-1946, 1952
Box 6			Untitled and undated
Box 6			Addresses of others
Box 6		Lists
Box 6		Notes
Box 6		Thesis - Notes and copies 1899

	Published material
Box 7		Address 1945
Box 7		Bulletins
Box 7		Cartoon
Box 7		Newspaper clippings about Templeton
Box 7		Newspaper clippings about others
Box 7		Programs
Box 7		Press release
Box 7		Report

Return to top