Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood

An inventory of her collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Taylor, Kendall, 1941-
Title: Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood
Inclusive Dates: 1900-1988
Quantity: 15 linear ft.
Abstract: Kendall Taylor was an American art historian and biographer of American Social Realist painter Philip Evergood. The collection contains original research material relating to Philip Evergood and the papers of Kendall Taylor, his biographer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Kendall Taylor was an American art historian and biographer of American Social Realist painter Philip Evergood.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood is focused on Philip Evergood (1901-1973), an American social realist painter who was active from the 1930s through the 1960s. The collection is divided into two sections.

The Philip Evergood series contains original research material relating to Evergood and consists of correspondence, photographs, exhibition catalogs, some of Evergood's writings, and memorabilia. The Kendall Taylor series contains the papers of Kendall Taylor, his biographer, comprising drafts and research notes relating to her work on Evergood.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically, by name, type or title as appropriate.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A small amount of additional Evergood material may be found in the Philip Evergood Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Taylor, Kendall, 1941-

Subjects

Art and society, United States.
Art, American, 20th century.
Art, American.
Artists, United States.
Biographers, United States.
Jewish artists, United States.
Jews, American.
Painters, United States.
Painting, American, 20th century.
Painting, American.
Social realism, United States.
Women art historians, United States.

Genres and Forms

Announcements.
Awards.
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Dissertations.
Drafts (documents).
Drawings.
Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Interviews.
Memorabilia.
Notes.
Photographs.
Speeches.

Occupations

Art historians.
Artists.
Biographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, October 1990.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JOD
Date: Dec 1990
Revision history: 20 Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 9 Jan 2012 - revised box numbers (MBD); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Philip Evergood
Correspondence-subject file
Biographical material
Box 1 Awards 1920, 1945-1966, undated (5 folders)
Box 8 Awards 1917
Oversize 3 Awards 1954
Family correspondence
Box 1 General 1900-1928, undated
Box 1 Julia (wife) (3 folders)
Box 1 Philip
Box 1 1930-1973, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 ACA Gallery 1935-1966, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Art work (5 items)
Photographs
Box 1 Art work (2 folders)
Box 1 Personal 1920s-1970s (9 folders)
Box 2 Personal undated (11 folders)
Oversize 1-2 Personal (negatives) undated
Oversize 3 Personal (oversize prints) undated
Printed material
Announcements
Box 2 General
Box 2 Evergood 1955-1965, undated (3 folders)
Box 2 Evergood - clippings 1955-1964, undated
Calendars
Box 2 "The Story of American-Russian Friendship," reproductions of Evergood's work 1945
Box 2 1958, 1961 (with original illustration by an unidentified artist)
Box 2 Clippings 1941-1965, undated
Essays about
Box 2 1939-1972, undated (3 folders)
Box 2 D. Kuspit undated
Box 2 peripheral mention 1947-1966, undated (2 folders)
Exhibition catalogs
Evergood
Box 2 ACA Gallery (2 folders)
Box 2 Corcoran Gallery
Box 2 Terry Dintenfass, Inc.
Box 3 Englewood Armory Art Show
Box 3 Gallery of Modern Art
Box 3 Gallery 63
Box 3 Kennedy Galleries
Box 3 National Academy of Design
Box 3 New School Art Center
Box 3 Parke-Bernet Galleries, Inc.
Box 3 [Esther] Robles Gallery
Box 3 Wadsworth Atheneum
Box 3 Whitney Museum of American Art
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 3 Gropper, William
Box 3 Rickey, George
Box 3 Rodman, Selden
Box 3 Soyer, Moses
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 3 Museum bulletins - The Metropolitan Museum of Art 1968, 1970
Box 3 Reproductions of Evergood's work
See also Calendars - The Story of American-Russian Friendship - 1945
Box 3 Miscellaneous - art references
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Oversize 3 Miscellaneous (oversize)
Writings
Essays
Box 3 By title
Box 3 Untitled (2 folders)
Box 3 Fragments (untitled)
Box 3 Speeches - "A Conversation with the Artist" 1964 (4 reel-to-reel tapes in 2 folders)
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Memorabilia
Box 3 Childhood - National Nursery Rhymes and Nursery Songs ca.1908
Box 3 Family
Oversize 3 Family (oversize)
Box 3 Financial
Box 3 List of works
Box 3 Organizations
Box 3 Passports
Box 3 Real estate
Box 3 Social security
Box 3 Tapes (4 reel-to-reel)
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 8 Miscellaneous - 4 articles of clothing
Kendall Taylor
Interview
Box 4 Tapes (18 cassettes in 3 folders)
Box 4 Transcription from tapes (4 folders)
Box 4 Photographs (6 folders)
Research notes
Box 4 Archives of American Art 1901-1973, undated (12 folders)
Box 5 Biographical 1901-1973 (13 folders)
Box 5, 6 Miscellaneous (16 folders)
Writings
Box 6 Dissertation (2 folders)
Box 6, 7 Drafts (36 folders)
Box 7 Essays (by title) (2 folders)
Box 7 Memorabilia - miscellaneous

Return to top