Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harold Talburt Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Talburt, Harold M., 1895-1966
Title: Harold Talburt Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1962
Bulk Dates: 1949-1952
Quantity: 5.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Approximately 850 original editorial cartoons by the Pulitzer Prize-winning American editorial cartoonist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold M. Talburt (1895-1966) was an American editorial cartoonist who won a Pulitzer Prize.

Harold Talburt was born in Toledo, Ohio on February 19, 1895. Before becoming a cartoonist, Talburt worked as the high school correspondent for the Toledo Times and in 1916 was a reporter at the Toledo News-Bee. In 1921, Talburt was hired by Negley Cochran as the cartoonist for the newly opened Scripps-Howard news bureau in Washington and was later named Chief Washington Cartoonist for Scripps-Howard and the Washington Daily News. In his New York Times obituary, Talburt is noted as having enjoyed drawing Herbert Hoover and Franklin Roosevelt the most out of the presidents he covered during his career.

Talburt was a member of the National Press Club and the White House Correspondents Association. He was president of the Gridiron Club in 1947. The Pulitzer Prize was awarded to Talburt for his 1933 Washington Daily News cartoon, "The Light of Asia". Talburt’s work was published in two books: Talburt (1943) and Cartoons: Largely Political (circa 1943).

Harold M. Talburt retired in 1963. He died of cancer at his home in Kenwood, Maryland on October 22, 1966.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Talburt Cartoons contain 858 original editorial cartoons from the years 1949-1952 and 1962.

Talburt primarily depicted domestic politics especially issues related to taxes and government spending. His portrayals of President Harry Truman often include Truman with a shirt with the words “tax" and "spend" on it. Talburt also devoted many cartoons to Truman’s scandals with a recurring visual motif labeled “the mess". Other recurring characters include Fiddle and Faddle, a pair of nearly identical figures with grinning faces and two prominent front teeth.

Also of interest is Talburt’s work depicting communism in Hawaii, reorganization of the government under Truman, mobilization for the Korean War and cartoons relating to the imprisonment of journalist William Oatis in Czechoslovakia.

Artwork varies in size, although most cartoons are generally 12"x 14" to 14 ½" x 17". The earlier cartoons in this collection were drawn exclusively in crayon and pencil on illustration board while later cartoons show his addition of ink. Captions appear at the top and dates are noted in pencil.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Oatis, William Nathan, 1914-1997 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Talburt, Harold M., 1895-1966.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Party (U.S.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
E.W. Scripps Company.
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United Nations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States. Congress. -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Washington daily news publishing company.

Subjects

Agriculture and state -- Caricatures and cartoons.
American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Communism -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Expenditures, Public -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Korean War, 1950-1953 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Pulitzer Prizes.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1955-1965 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial Cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Talburt Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gene Basset, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 23 Oct 2008
Revision history: 23 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 27 May 2010 - added bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (850 items)
Click here for a detailed inventory.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 Jan 1949, Apr 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 2 May 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Jun 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Jul 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Aug 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 6 Sep 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 7 Oct 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 8 Nov 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 9 Dec 1949
Oversize 1, Folder 10 Dec 1949
Oversize 2, Folder 1 Jan 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 2 Feb 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 3 Mar 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 4 Mar 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 5 Apr 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 6 May 1950
Oversize 2, Folder 7 Jun 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 1 Jul 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 2 Jul 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 3 Aug 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 4 Sep 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 5 Nov-Dec 1950
Oversize 3, Folder 6 Jan 1951, Jun 1951
Oversize 3, Folder 7 Jul 1951
Oversize 3, Folder 8 Aug 1951
Oversize 3, Folder 9 Aug 1951
Oversize 3, Folder 10 Sep 1951
Oversize 4, Folder 1 Oct 1951
Oversize 4, Folder 2 Nov 1951
Oversize 4, Folder 3 Dec 1951
Oversize 4, Folder 4 Dec 1951
Oversize 4, Folder 5 Jan 1952
Oversize 4, Folder 6 Jan 1952
Oversize 4, Folder 7 Feb 1952
Oversize 4, Folder 8 Mar 1952
Oversize 4, Folder 9 Apr 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 1 May 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 2 Jun 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 3 Jul 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 4 Jul 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 5 Aug 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 6 Aug 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 7 Sep 1952
Oversize 5, Folder 8 Sep 1952
Oversize 6, Folder 1 Oct 1952
Oversize 6, Folder 2 Oct 1952
Oversize 6, Folder 3 Nov 1952
Oversize 6, Folder 4 Dec 1952
Oversize 6, Folder 5 Jan 1962
Oversize 6, Folder 6 Jan 1962
Oversize 6, Folder 7 Feb 1962
Oversize 6, Folder 8 Mar 1962
Oversize 6, Folder 9 Apr 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 1 May 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 2 May 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 3 Jun 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 4 Jul-Aug 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 5 Sep 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 6 Oct 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 7 Oct 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 8 Nov 1962
Oversize 7, Folder 9 Dec 1962

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
AFL-CIO B1F8
Acheson, Dean B2F2-B2F3, B2F5, B3F7, B5F4, B5F6-B6F2, B6F4
Alaska B2F5, B4F5
Algeria B6F8-B7F1, B7F5
Amerasia affair B2F4-B2F7, B3F2, B4F9
Argentina B4F2, B6F8-B6F9
Arnall, Ellis B4F7
Atlantic Pact B1F4
Atlee, Clement B1F6, B2F4
Atomic Energy Commission B1F2
Barkley, Alben W. B1F9, B5F2, B5F4
Barnett, Ross B7F6
Bay of Pigs B7F6
Berlin B2F1, B4F1, B7F4-B7F7
Berlin Wall B7F4, B7F7
Boyle, William M. B3F8-B3F9
Brannan Plan B1F2-B1F3, B1F5, B1F9, B2F4, B2F7
Britain B1F4, B1F6, B2F4, B4F4
Brown Sr., Edmund Gerald "Pat" B7F3
Budenz, Louis F. B2F5
Byrnes, James B4F9
Canada B7F3
Carpenter, Scott B7F2
Castro, Fidel B6F6-B6F8, B7F4-B7F9
China B1F3-B1F6, B1F8, B2F7, B3F7-B3F9, B4F2-B4F3, B5F4, B6F9, B7F2-B7F3, B7F5, B7F8
Churchill, Winston B1F6, B3F2, B4F1, B4F3, B4F6
Congress B1F2-B1F6, B1F10, B2F4-B2F6, B3F1, B3F3-B3F4, B3F7, B3F9, B4F1, B4F5-B4F6, B5F2, B5F5, B6F1, B6F5-B7F6
Cuba B7F4-B7F9
Cuban Missile Crisis B7F7
Czechoslovakia B3F7, B3F9-B3F10, B4F2, B4F9
Democratic Party B1F2, B1F5-B1F6, B1F8, B1F10, B2F2, B2F4, B2F7-B3F1, B3F4-B3F5, B3F7-B3F10, B4F2-B6F2, B6F4, B6F9-B7F1, B7F3, B7F7, B7F9
Dewey, Thomas B1F10, B3F4, B3F10
Di Salle, Michael B3F6, B4F7
Dominican Republic B6F5
Egypt B4F6, B5F5
Eisenhower, Dwight B1F10, B3F7, B3F9-B4F3, B4F5-B5F5, B5F8-B6F3, B7F1, B7F7
Eisenhower, Mamie B6F3
Estes, Billie Sol B6F9-B7F3
Europe B1F3-B1F5, B1F8, B5F4, B6F5, B7F6, B7F9
Formosa B1F1
France B2F6, B4F7, B6F8
Freeman, Orville B7F3
Frondizi, Arturo B6F8
Germany B2F6, B3F2, B3F4, B3F9, B4F7, B5F1
Glenn, John B6F7
Greece B3F2
Gromyko, Andrei B3F10
Harriman, W. Averell B5F2, B5F4
Hawaii B1F5, B2F5, B4F5
Hiss, Alger B2F1, B2F3, B5F7, B6F2
Hitler, Adolf B3F1
Hobby, Oveta B6F3
Hoffa, Jimmy B7F8
Hoover Commission B1F2, B2F6
India B6F4, B7F8
Iran B3F2, B5F4-B5F5
John Birch Society B6F7
Johnston, Eric B3F6
Kefauver, Estes B4F7, B5F1-B5F2, B5F4
Kennedy, Jacqueline B6F6
Kennedy, John F. B6F5-B7F3, B7F5-B7F7
Kennedy, Robert F. B6F7, B7F3, B7F5
Kennedy, Ted B6F7, B7F3, B7F5
Kerr, Robert B5F2, B5F4
Khrushchev, Nikita B6F6-B7F1, B7F3-B7F9
Korean War B2F7-B3F5, B3F7, B3F9-B3F10, B4F2, B4F7, B5F1, B5F4, B5F8, B6F2-B6F4
Laos B7F1, B7F3
Lewis, John B3F4, B6F4
Lucas, Scott B1F2
Luce, Clare Booth B6F6
MacArthur, Douglas B3F5, B3F9
Macapagal, Diosdado B7F2
Malik, Yakov B3F3, B3F6
Marx, Karl B3F9
McCarthy, Joseph B2F5, B5F7
McGrath, J. Howard B4F6, B4F9
McMahon, Brien B2F4, B5F2
McNamara, Robert B6F8, B7F5
Medicare B7F2
Menon, V. K. Krishna B7F8
Mississippi B7F6
Monroe Doctrine B7F5
Mussolini, Benito B3F1
NATO B7F1
Nehru, Jawaharlal B7F8
New York B1F8-B1F9, B3F4
Nixon, Richard M. B5F3, B6F7, B7F3
Oatis, William B3F7-B3F10, B4F2, B4F9, B5F4
Organization of American States B6F5, B6F8
Pakistan B7F8
Pepper, Claude B2F6
Peron, Juan Domingo B4F2, B6F8
Philippines B7F1-B7F3
Priest, Ivy B6F3
Reconstruction Finance Corporation B3F10-B4F1
Republican Party B1F2, B1F5-B1F6, B1F8, B1F10, B2F2, B2F4, B2F6-B3F1, B3F4-B3F5, B3F7-B3F8, B3F10, B4F2-B5F7, B6F2-B6F4, B6F7, B7F1-B7F3, B7F7, B7F9
Reuther, Walter B7F1
Roosevelt, Eleanor B7F8
Rusk, Dean B6F9
Russell, Donald B5F2, B5F4
Russia B1F6, B3F1, B4F9, B5F8, B6F6, B6F8, B7F8
Soviet Union B1F6, B3F3, B6F8-B6F9
Stalin, Joseph B1F2, B1F5-B1F6, B1F10-B2F1, B2F4, B2F6-B3F10, B4F6, B5F1-B5F2, B5F5, B5F8-B6F1, B6F3-B6F4
Stassen, Harold B4F5-B4F7, B4F9, B5F2
Stevenson, Adlai E. B5F2, B5F4, B5F6-B6F2
Sweden B5F2
Symington, Stuart B5F5
Taft Hartley Act B1F1, B1F3-B1F4, B2F1, B2F7, B5F1-B5F2
Taft, Robert B3F4, B4F3, B4F5-B5F3
Teamsters B7F8
Thailand B7F1
Thurmond, Strom B6F7
Tito, Josip Broz B1F6
Truman, Harry S. B1F1-B2F7, B3F2, B3F4-B5F8, B6F1-B6F2, B6F4, B7F6
Tshombe, Moise B6F5
Turkey B3F2
Tydings, Millard B2F4, B2F6
U-2 incident B6F7-B6F8
U.S. Postal Service B1F3, B2F5, B6F6, B6F8
UFOs B2F3
United Nations B2F7-B3F1, B3F3, B3F9-B3F10, B6F2, B6F5, B7F5, B7F7-B7F9
Vaughan, Harry H . B2F1, B4F1
Videla, Gonzales B2F5
Vietnam War B6F8
Vishinsky, Andrey B6F4
Wallace, George B3F3
Ward, Angus B1F8-B1F9, B3F5
Warren, Earl B4F3, B4F5-B4F8
Yugoslavia B3F2
Zedong, Mao B3F9, B6F4, B6F7, B7F8
airline industry B7F3
armed forces B1F7, B2F5, B3F3, B3F10, B5F6, B6F2
budget B1F9-B2F2, B4F5-B4F6, B6F4, B6F6-B6F7, B7F3-B7F4
business B1F3, B2F1-B2F2, B6F8, B7F1-B7F2, B7F4-B7F5, B7F8-B7F9
capitalism B7F8
cartoonists B1F6
censorship B7F9
civil rights B2F1, B5F1, B5F4
coal industry B1F1, B1F7, B2F1-B2F3, B5F8, B6F4
communism B1F2-B1F3, B1F5-B1F6, B1F8, B2F5, B2F7, B3F3-B3F4, B3F7, B4F4, B5F1, B5F5, B7F1, B7F3
consumers B1F3, B1F9, B6F8, B7F4
corruption B4F7, B4F9, B5F3, B5F6-B5F7
cost of living B5F4, B6F4, B7F2, B7F4
crime B2F5, B2F7
de Gaulle, Charles B6F9, B7F2, B7F8
democracy B5F1
disarmament B6F5, B6F7-B6F9
economy B1F3-B1F4, B7F4
education B2F1
elections B1F10-B2F1, B2F3, B2F5, B3F2, B3F5-B3F7, B4F2-B4F5, B4F7-B4F9, B5F5-B5F7, B6F1-B6F2, B6F5, B7F1-B7F2, B7F8
electoral college B2F1
farming B1F2-B1F3, B1F7-B1F9, B2F2, B2F5-B2F6, B4F7, B7F1-B7F4
freedom B3F2, B6F3
gold reserve B6F9, B7F2
government spending B1F1-B1F6, B1F8-B2F7, B3F2, B4F6-B4F7, B5F1, B5F5, B7F3-B7F4, B7F6, B7F8-B7F9
graduates B1F3, B2F7, B7F3
holidays B4F4, B6F4, B7F8-B7F9
housing B2F1
industry (general) B7F4
inflation B1F3-B1F4, B3F1-B3F5, B3F7, B3F9-B3F10, B4F2-B4F3, B4F5, B4F7, B5F5-B5F8, B6F2, B6F9
labor B4F9
national debt B6F4, B6F6, B7F6, B7F8
nuclear weapons B1F2, B1F6, B6F6, B6F8-B6F9, B7F3-B7F4, B7F9
oil B5F1
peace B2F4, B3F9, B6F4
press B3F10, B5F7, B7F9
prisoners of war B4F2, B5F1
propaganda B3F3, B3F7, B5F1, B6F8, B7F6
racial violence B7F6
railroad industry B4F2, B6F8
shipping industry B4F2
social security B2F1
socialism B1F6
space exploration B6F7, B7F4-B7F6
sports B1F6, B3F5, B5F8
steel industry B1F4, B1F6-B1F7, B1F9, B4F4, B4F8, B5F1-B5F3, B6F7-B7F1
stock market B7F1-B7F4
strikes B1F1, B1F4, B1F6-B1F7, B2F1-B2F3, B4F2, B4F4, B5F1-B5F3, B5F8, B6F7, B7F3
sugar lobby B7F3
taxes B1F1-B1F4, B1F7-B2F7, B3F2-B3F3, B4F1, B4F6-B4F7, B5F1, B5F5-B6F2, B6F4, B6F6-B6F9, B7F3-B7F5, B7F8-B7F9
terrorism B3F7, B6F8-B7F1
textile industry B7F5
trade B3F10, B6F5-B6F9, B7F6
traffic fatalities B5F5
transportation B6F9
unions B6F8
urban affairs B6F7
vacation B5F4, B5F6, B7F2
voting B6F2
weather B1F5, B2F5, B3F7, B5F5, B6F7

Return to top