Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Syracuse Pharmacists Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Syracuse Pharmacists Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1860-1867
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A collection of orders, receipts, billheads, and correspondence from pharmacists and medical suppliers in Syracuse, New York during the mid-1800s.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Syracuse is a city in, and the county seat of, Onondaga County, New York. As of 2015, it was the fourth most populous metropolitan city in the state of New York. The city was a major transportation hub beginning in the 1800s, first between the Erie Canal and its branch canals and then for the railway network. During the 18th and 19th centuries, its primary industries/employers included salt production, chemical manufacturing (Solvay Process, Allied Signal), automobile manufacturing (Franklin, Century), hand-crafted furniture (Gustav Stickley), and education (Geneva Medical College, LeMoyne, Syracuse University).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse Pharmacists Collection is a collection of orders, receipts, billheads, and correspondence from various 19th century medical importers and pharmacists in Syracuse, New York. Doctors and companies appearing in the collection include W.M. Fenton; Marsh & Dillaye; F.C. Dillaye & Carpenter; Farrington & Utley; Farrington, Moore & Co.; Farrington & Moore; and W.B. Tobey & Co.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

F.C. Dillaye & Carpenter.
Farrington & Moore.
Farrington & Utley.
Farrington, Moore & Co..
Marsh & Dillaye.
W.B. Tobey & Co.
W.M. Fenton.

Subjects

Merchants -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Pharmacists -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Physicians -- Syracuse (N.Y.)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Billheads.
Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse Pharmacists Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
SC 763 Correspondence, receipts, etc. 1860-1867

Return to top