Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Erwin Frederick Springweiler Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Springweiler, Erwin Frederick, 1896-1968
Title: Erwin Frederick Springweiler Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1923-1967
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Spanning 1923 to 1967, the Erwin Frederick Springweiler Papers comprises correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the German American medalist and sculptor (1896-1968). The collection illuminates the professional career of the artist, who specialized in commemorative medals and animal sculpture. Includes letters from Archer Milton Huntington, Hazel Brill Jackson, Carl Paul Jennewein, Gertrude K. Lathrop, Paul Manship, A.A. Weinman, and Robert A. Weinman.
Language: English
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American medalist and sculptor, specializing in animals. Born Pforzheim, Germany.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Incoming letters, a few outgoing drafts, and a variety of related printed materials form the Correspondence-Subject Files (Box 1). The collection includes letters from fellow sculptors Hazel Brill Jackson, C. Paul Jennewein, Gertrude K. Lathrop, Paul Manship, A. A. Weinman, and Robert A. Weinman. Organizational correspondence includes that of Brookgreen Gardens, the International Institute of Arts and Letters, the National Academy of Design, the National Sculpture Society, the R. W. Norton Art Gallery, the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, and the Society of Medalists. Correspondence from the U. S. Treasury Department documents a number of Springweiler's most important sculpture commissions, including those for the National Zoological Park, the post office in Chester, Pennsylvania, and the 1939 New York World's Fair, as well as the production of his George M. Cohan Medal.

Artwork (Boxes 1-2) encompasses both original sketches and photographic or printed reproductions. Arranged by format, designs for medals and plaques, two sketchbooks, animal and human figure drawings, and a few miscellaneous, mostly mechanical, drawings constitute the original artwork. The organization of the photographic and printed reproductions of the completed medals and sculpture corresponds to the categorical arrangement of the original sketches. Writings consists of two essays and some notes on art, the latter mainly in German.

Memorabilia (Box 2) is composed of photographs and printed material. Photographs include formal portraits of Springweiler as well as a number of images of the artist at work in his studio. Printed material includes certificates of award in school competitions from the Kunstgewerbeschule Pforzheim, clippings (1923-1955), and exhibition catalogs (1932-1960).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Huntington, Archer Milton, 1870-
Jackson, Hazel Brill, 1894-
Jennewein, Carl Paul, 1890-
Manship, Paul, 1885-1966
Springweiler, Erwin Frederick, 1896-1968, Archives
Weinman, Adolph Alexander, 1870-1952
Weinman, Robert A.

Subjects

Animal sculptors, United States, 20th century
Animals in art
Art, American
Art, American, 20th century
German Americans
Medalists, United States
Sculptors, United States
Sculpture, American
Sculpture, American, 20th century

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketchbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Medalists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Erwin Frederick Springweiler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Aug 1994
Revision history: 4 Jan 2006 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 American Academy of Achievement 1966
Box 1 Brookgreen Gardens 1946-1947
Box 1 Franklin Mint 1967
Franklin-Institut Lindau
See International Institute of Arts and Letters
General Numismatics Corporation
See National Commemorative Society
Huntington, Archer Milton
See Brookgreen Gardens
Box 1 International Institute of Arts and Letters 1955-1957, undated
Box 1 Jackson, Hazel Brill 1959
Jennewein, Carl Paul
See American Academy of Achievement
Box 1 Lathrop, Gertrude K. 1941, undated
Box 1 Manship, Paul 1939
Box 1 Medallic Art Company 1960-1967
Box 1 National Academy of Design 1938-1967
Box 1 National Commemorative Society 1965-1967
National Sculpture Review
See National Sculpture Society
Box 1 National Sculpture Society 1937-1967
New York World's Fair, 1939
See United States. Treasury Department
Box 1 R. W. Norton Art Gallery (Shreveport, La.) 1963-1964
Box 1 Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1947-1967
Box 1 Society of Medalists 1941-1942, undated
Box 1 United States. Air Force 1948
United States. Post Office
See United States. Treasury Department
Box 1 United States. Treasury Department 1937-1947
Box 1 Weinman, Adolph Alexander 1946-1952
Box 1 Weinman, Robert A. 1967
Box 1 A-Z, unidentified
Artwork
Original
Box 1 Designs for medals and plaques undated (2 folders)
Oversize 1 Designs for medals and plaques undated
Box 1 Sketchbooks (2) undated
Box 1 Sketches
Box 1 Animals undated
Oversize 1 Animal undated
Oversize 1 Human figure 1923, 1932-1935, undated
Box 1 Human figure 1932, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous undated
Reproductions
Box 2 Medals and plaques undated
Sculpture
Box 2 Animal (5 folders)
Box 2 Human figure (3 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Writings
Box 2 Essays (2) undated - manuscript and galley proof
Box 2 Notes on art undated
Memorabilia
Box 2 Photographs
Printed material
Oversize 1 Art Anatomy of Animals / Ernest E. Thompson - presentation copy to E. Springweiler from MacDowell Colony fellows
Box 2 Certificates of award in school competitions, Kunstgewerbeschule Pforzheim 1912-1916
Box 2 Clippings 1923-1955, undated
Box 2 Exhibition catalogs 1932-1960 (2 folders)
Box 2 Map - Ravensteins Reise und Eisenbahnkarte von Deutschland
Box 2 Periodical issue (with title page notes) Die Lehrer der Kunst + Werkschule Pforzheim 20 Jahrg., Heft 1/2 1958 1958
Box 2 Miscellany

Return to top