Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Socialist Labor Party Pamphlets

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Socialist Labor Party.
Title: Socialist Labor Party Pamphlets
Inclusive Dates: 1913-1942
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of 56 pamphlets issued by the Socialist Labor Party; topics include unemployment, low wages, capitalism, fascism, war/peace, strikes and anti-semitism. Also, several city and state party platforms.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Socialist Labor Party (SLP) was established in 1876 as the Workingmen's Party but renamed the next year. It is the oldest socialist political party in the United States and the second oldest socialist party in the world. It ran the first socialist presidential campaign in 1892, and fielded national tickets in every presidential campaign through 1976.

According to the party's website, their goal is "a classless society based on collective ownership and control of the industries and social services, these to be administered in the interests of all society through a Socialist Industrial Union government composed of democratically elected representatives from all the industries and services of the land. Production would be carried on for use instead of profit."

Daniel DeLeon (1852-1914), author of three of the pamphlets, was an American socialist newspaper editor, politician, Marxist theoretician, and trade union organizer, and was a leading figure in the Socialist Labor Party of America.

Arnold Petersen (1885-1976), author of two of the pamphlets, was the party's National Secretary for more than 50 years.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Socialist Labor Party Pamphlets consist of 56 pamphlets put out by the party on a range of topics relevant to their ideology and goals. Topics covered include unemployment, low wages, capitalism, fascism, war/peace, strikes and anti-semitism. The collection also includes the Louisville city platform, and state platforms for New York and Illinois.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Originals in box 2 are restricted due to condition. Researchers are requested to use the photocopies in Box 1.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to Socialism, Communism and American radicalism, including a collection of American radical ephemera; please see the SCRC Subject Index for a full listing. For cataloged books and periodicals, including New Masses and Partisan Review, please consult the Classic Catalog .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

De Leon, Daniel, 1852-1914.
Petersen, Arnold, 1885-1976.

Corporate Bodies

Socialist Labor Party.

Subjects

Communism -- United States.
Labor movement -- United States.
Political parties--Platforms.
Radicalism -- United States.
Socialism -- United States.

Places

United States -- Economic conditions -- 1961-1971.

Genres and Forms

Pamphlets.
Propaganda.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Socialist Labor Party Pamphlets,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 May 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Pamphlets (photocopies)
Box 1 Abolish capitalism! 1932
Box 1 An address to the voters of the state of Massachusetts
Box 1 Anti-semitism: cause and cure
Box 1 Atomic power:promise or menace?
Box 1 Capitalist unionism 1925?
Box 1 The C.I.O., by Daniel de Leon after 1937
Box 1 City of Louisville platform 1933
Box 1 Civil liberties: an American heritage after 1942
Box 1 Collapse of capitalism 1927 - letter of acceptance of Jeremiah D. Crowley, Socialist Labor candidate for vice-president
Box 1 The democracy of socialism
Box 1 Do we have a democracy?
Box 1 Fascism
Box 1 Fascism, or industrial feudalism…
Box 1 The fascist menace (without subheadings)
Box 1 The fascist menace (with subheadings)
Box 1 Illinois state platform 1938?
Box 1 Industrial union government 1933?
Box 1 Industrial unionism, by Daniel de Leon 1913
Box 1 Is labor a commodity? 1938 - 2 copies
Box 1 Is Socialism un-American? 1940?
Box 1 The labor draft 1940?
Box 1 The labor draft: step to industrial slavery
Box 1 The machine and unemployment
Box 1 New York state platform 1947?
Box 1 1944 platform 1944
Box 1 No jobs -- why? 1940?
Box 1 Outlawing strikes
Box 1 Own your jobs!
Box 1 The police and the right of revolution
Box 1 Political gangsterism, by Arnold Petersen
Box 1 Post-war crisis 1940-1946
Box 1 Poverty can be abolished
Box 1 The program for peace, security and freedom 1952
Box 1 The race problem
Box 1 Re Australia 1930
Box 1 Significance of the ballot
Box 1 Socialism: champion of civilized principles
Box 1 Socialism and the flag, by Daniel de Leon
Box 1 The Socialist Labor Party vs. the Socialist Party
Box 1 Socialism now!...or chaos
Box 1 Stop peacetime conscription!
Box 1 Stop peacetime conscription!
Box 1 Survival is the issue!
Box 1 There can be no peace without socialism
Box 1 Tom Mooney and the class struggle
Box 1 The two party hoax
Box 1 Unemployment
Box 1 Unemployment…why?
Box 1 The "union label" by Arnold Petersen
Box 1 The value of labor laws
Box 1 War
Box 1 Watch your liberties!
Box 1 What is socialism?
Box 1 What means this strike?
Box 1 What Socialism means
Box 1 Whither society? - 2 copies
Pamphlets (originals)
RESTRICTED: Originals of the pamphlets are restricted due to condition. Researchers are requested to use the photocopies in Box 1.
Box 2 A-Z

Return to top