Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Bernard Sobel Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sobel, Bernard.
Title: Bernard Sobel Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1933-1963
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Author and dramatist. Collection contains correspondence (photocopies), printed material, published material and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bernard Sobel (1887-1964) was an American playwright and drama critic. He was an active member of The Lambs, a theatrical social and dining club founded in New York 1874 as a companion club to the one of the same name formed in London in 1848. Members of The Lambs have included Fred Astaire, Cecil B. DeMille, Douglas Fairbanks, Will Rogers, Gene Autry, all the Barrymores, and a host of other "bright lights" of the theatre. Originally men only, The Lambs opened their dining room to women in 1957, after what Sobel termed "a violent battle with the wheelchair brigade" (St. Petersburg Times, 17 Mar 1957, p. 13E). The club thrives today, with headquarters at 5th Avenue and 51st Street.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bernard Sobel Papers consists of correspondence (photocopies), printed material (relating to The Lambs, a men's theatrical and dining club), published material (two books by Sobel) and a photograph.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sobel, Bernard -- Broadway heartbeat.
Sobel, Bernard -- The indiscreet girl.
Sobel, Bernard.

Associated Titles

The lambs script.

Subjects

Dramatists -- United States.
Theater critics -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memoirs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Dramatists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bernard Sobel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1944, 1949, 1954, 1960, 1961, 1963
Printed material
Box 1 The Lambs Script 1963 - cover art by Jimmy Hatlo; includes clipping of an article about The Lambs (2 issues)
Published material
Box 1 Articles, in various magazines 1935, 1960, 1963
Box 1 Books - hardbound copies of The Indiscreet Girl (1933) and of Sobel's memoirs, Broadway Heartbeat (1953)
Photographs
Box 1 Cover of A Pictorial History of Vaudeville, 1961

Return to top