Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Samuel Sloan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sloan, Samuel, 1817-1907.
Title: Samuel Sloan Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1851-1892
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American railroad executive; born in Ireland. Three letter books (1874-1883), much of which pertain to the operation of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company; and reports and published material about railroads.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Sloan (1817-1907) was an American railroad executive, primarily with the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad.

Born in Ireland December 25, 1817, Sloan came to the United States with his family when he was a year old. When his father died in 1931, he left school and went to work for an importing firm. He remained there for 25 years, eventually becoming president of the firm. In 1855 he became director of the Hudson River Railroad and was elected its president soon after. In 1864 he resigned to become director of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad, and in 1867 he was elected president. Sloan's 32-year administration of the railroad covered a period of cut-throat competition as the railroad was extended north and west. A 160% increase in general freight and an 88% increase in passenger service ensued. Sloan resigned as presidentin 1899 but continued as chairman of the board for eight more years. He died at Garrison, New York, in 1907 at the age of ninety.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Sloan Papers consist of correspondence and published material . Correspondence includes letter books of outgoing correspondence. Published material consists of books by others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Published material is arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Records. Special Collections Research Center also has numerous collections relating to railroads; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sloan, Samuel, 1817-1907 -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company.

Subjects

Railroads -- Management.
Railroads -- New York (State)
Railroads -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Letter books.
Reports.

Occupations

Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Sloan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Jan 1968
Revision history: 18 Nov 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Access Restrictions
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.
Box 1 Outgoing 1874-1877
Box 1 Outgoing 1876-1878
Box 1 Outgoing 1879-1883
Published material (by others)
Box 2 Atlas of New York 1862
Box 2 Railroad Reports of New York 1849-1851
Box 2 Railroads of the United States, by Henry V. Poor (Volume 1) 1860
Box 3 Report of the Railroad Commissioners of New York 1855 (2 volumes)
Box 3 State Engineer's Report on Railroads 1859
Box 3 Wagner Palace Car Co. 1892

Return to top