TABLE OF CONTENTS
Overview of the Collection
Biographical History
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Arrangement of the Collection
Restrictions
Subject and Genre Headings
Related Material
Administrative Information
Inventory
Correspondence-subject files
Memorabilia
Negatives
Photographs
Printed materials
Miscellaneous
|
An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University
|
|
|
|
| Creator: |
Sipprell, Clara E. (Clara
Estelle),1885-1975
|
| Title: |
Clara E. Sipprell Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: |
1915-1970 |
| Quantity: |
65 linear ft. |
| Abstract: |
Papers of the American
photographer. Original photographs, arranged as character studies,
landscapes, portraits, and still life studies. Correspondence (1929-1970),
clippings, interviews, photographs of her. Portraits
of Louis Adamic, Svetlana Allilueva, Van Wyck Brooks, Pearl S. Buck, Rudolf
Bultmann, Charles E. Burchfield, Fyodor Chaliapin, Ralph Adams Cram, W.E.B.
Du Bois, Albert Einstein, Dorothy Canfield Fisher, Ralph E. Flanders, Michel
Fokine, Robert Frost, Eva Hansl, Roy Harris, Granville Hicks, Malvina
Hoffman, Langston Hughes, Robinson
Jeffers, Louis Krasner, Serge Koussevitzky, Luigi Lucioni, Emil Ludwig,
Edwin Markham, Isamu Noguchi, Maxfield Parrish, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Eleanor
Roosevelt, Dane Rudhyar, Ruth St. Denis, Otis Skinner, Ida Tarbell, Howard
Thurman, Ridgely Torrence, Hendrik Van Loon, and others
|
| Language: |
English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 http://scrc.syr.edu |
Clara E. Sipprell (1885-1975) was a Canadian-American photographer, known for her landscapes and for portraits of famous actors,
artists, writers and scientists.
Sipprell was born in Canada, a posthumous child with
five brothers. Her widowed mother had to work to support the family, and
Clara lived with her grandparents until she was old enough to go to school.
Henry, the next to eldest, went to Buffalo, New York, where he found work
and soon drew the rest of the family after him. The eldest boy, Frank,
became a photographer and soon had a shop of his own.
Clara spent her free time in her brother's shop. At the age of sixteen she left
school and devoted her entire time to what was to become her life's work.
For ten years she assisted her brother Frank, learning photographic
techniques during the period of the glass plate and platinum paper. When
artificial lighting began to be used, her brother adopted it, but Clara
stuck to the old ways. By doing so, she was setting up her own standards and
establishing her own ideas of what a photograph should be. She has never
used artificial lighting, believing that natural light would give the result
she preferred. She does not enlarge, nor does she crop her photographs to
manipulate her composition; implicitly the composition must be complete
before the picture is made. It is claimed also that she does not retouch her
negatives, although there is some evidence in the collection to the
contrary.
Her early exhibitions were at the Buffalo Camera Club at a time when its
membership was closed to women; one year she won half the prizes offered.
Her first New York show was at Teachers College, Columbia University, and
she subsequently opened a studio in Greenwich Village. The work of several
New York photographers taught her much, she says; Alfred Stieglitz, Edward
Steichen, Dr. Arnold Genthe, Max Weber, Clarence White, Gertrude Kasebier,
and Alice Boughton were among them. She became a member of the Pictorial
Photographers of America, the Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain,
and the Arts Club of Washington.
A Russian friend arranged for her to photograph Stanislavsky's Moscow Art
Theatre troupe, the first of a number of seminal opportunities for her. A
trip to Vermont opened up further vistas for her, and she engaged a studio
in the Connecticut River Valley village of Thetford which she maintained for
seventeen summers. When her partner married a Yugoslav, she was introduced
to that country as a subject for her photographs. Her god-daughter, Nina,
the child of this marriage, became a subject of constant interest. Her
friends planned a trip to Sweden for her in 1928, arranging opportunities
for her there which included access to the Royal Palace, and photographs of
King Gustav and other members of the Swedish royal family were the result.
Many famous personalities came to her for portraits. Amoung these were Albert
Einstein, Robert Frost, Edwin Markham, and Pearl Buck as well as the
musicians and composers contained in this collection.
During the 1920's and '30's, Clara Sipprell often received prizes in various
national and international exhibits which included her work in landscapes
and still lifes as well as portraits. One of her cityscapes, "New York-Old
and New", was one of the first photographs aquired by the Museum of Modern
Art in 1932.
The move of her summer studio to Manchester Center, Vermont, from Thetford Hill
came about largely through her friendship with Dorothy Canfield Fisher, the
writer, who wrote the first publicity for her after the move. Annual trips
to Spain and Portugal, Italy, Greece, Japan, Great Britain, France, and to
visit friends in Yugoslavia provided new experiences and new subjects for
her camera. A collection of sixty photographs, which included several taken
as a result of these trips as well as many portraits of those whom she
regards as the "great ones", was chosen for exhibition at Syracuse
University in 1960. Miss Sipprell died in 1975 at the age of 89.
Cf. Elizabeth Gray Vining, "Introduction" to Moment of
light, photographs of Clara Sipprell, New York, John Day
Company, c1966.
Return to the Table of Contents
Correspondence-subject files contain client
correspondence and a small amount of personal correspondence, including letters and research materials
created by Phyllis
Fenner and Antje Lemke.
Memorabilia includes Sipprell's photographic
equipment (camera, a lens, and an easel) as well as a studio brochure and business card.
The photographer's original, 8 x 10 inch cellulose acetate Negatives comprise 92 boxes and are
divided by type. Boxes 1-48 and 74-86 contain those of Sipprell's original negatives that are still
usable as well as some proof prints. Boxes 49-62 contain interpositives, also known as master positives. Boxes 63-68 contain
duplicate negatives. Box 69 contains 21 glass plate negatives; a few are broken but most are intact. Boxes 87-96 contain
original negatives that have deteriorated past the point of usability; these negatives are restricted and may not be used
without special permission. Boxes 97-101 contain negatives that have been digitized; these too are restricted and may not
be used without special permission.
A given photograph may exist in numerous different negative forms, some created by Sipprell and others created by Special
Collections Research Center staff as part of preservation efforts. In addition, many of
the negatives have been digitized and are available online. To simplify locating all negatives of
a person or subject, this section of the inventory is also available in the form of a
spreadsheet listing the photographs alphabetically by title/subject, and which can be sorted by box
number, subject/title, or date.
Click here to open the spreadsheet.
Printed materials in the collection include articles
on Sipprell, brochures, clippings, exhibit catalogs, one print of unknown
provenance, and a handful of proofs.
The collection also contains two hundred and forty original Photographs, 1915-1963, approximately eighty of which were
included in the book Moment of light, photographs of
Clara Sipprell. They are divided into four series determined by
their subject matter; many are also available in various negative forms (see discussion of negatives,
above).
Character studies (individuals identified only by the caption on the
print) include five prints of Nina, Miss Sipprell's
god-daughter, as well as one of Peter, Nina's son; it has not been possible
to determine their surname from information at hand.
Landscape studies include four subseries of United States, Canadian, Vermont,
and Yugoslav views.
Portrait studies, the most extensive series in the collection, represent Miss
Sipprell's photographs of celebrities, friends and neighbors. Items in this
series are arranged alphabetically by the last name of the person portrayed,
with the exception of royalty; the latter may be located under given name.
When more than one person is portrayed in the same photograph, cross
references have been included in the shelf list.
Still life studies contains miscellaneous still lifes.
In her research for her book, Charles Ives
Remembered, Vivian Perlis was actively engaged in locating
photographs of Ives. As a result of these inquiries, Mrs. Perlis met Clara
Sipprell, who gave the photographs in the 1980 additions collection to the
library.
Miscellaneous materials include two taped interviews
with Sipprell, three autochrome cases, autochrome images, a file index on
the Sipprell negatives created by the SCRC, a framed negative, a Master's
thesis written by Sipprell scholar Mary Kennedy McCabe, and an assortment of
personal photographs.
Return to the Table of Contents
Correspondence-subject Files are arranged alphabetically. One folder of Memorabilia is in Box 70; artifacts are placed individually on shelves. Negatives are subdivided by type and arranged
alphabetically by subject/title. Printed
materials are arranged alphabetically by
genre. Photographs are divided into four series (character studies, landscape studies, portrait studies, and
still lifes); within these, items are arranged alphabetically by name (for portraits) or by caption
(for others). Miscellaneous materials
are arranged alphabetically by
form.
Return to the Table of Contents
Access Restrictions
Negatives in Boxes 87 through 101 are restricted due to deterioration.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders
before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this
collection.
Return to the Table of Contents
Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many photographers, including Margaret Bourke-White and others. Please
refer to the SCRC Subject Index
for a complete listing.
Return to the Table of Contents
Persons
Adamic, Louis, 1899-1951.
Allilueva, Svetlana, 1925-
Brooks, Van Wyck, 1886-1963.
Buck, Pearl S. (Pearl
Sydenstricker), 1892-1973.
Bultmann, Rudolf Karl, 1884-1976.
Burchfield, Charles Ephraim,
1893-1967.
Chaliapin, Fyodor Ivanovich,
1873-1938.
Cram, Ralph Adams, 1863-1942.
Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward
Burghardt), 1868-1963.
Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955.
Fisher, Dorothy Canfield, 1879-1958.
Flanders, Ralph E. (Ralph Edward),
1880-1970.
Fokine, Michel, 1880-1942.
Frost, Robert, 1874-1963.
Hansl, Eva vB. (Eva vom Baur)
Harris, Roy, 1898-1979.
Hicks, Granville, 1901-1982.
Hoffman, Malvina, 1887-1966.
Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967.
Jeffers, Robinson, 1887-1962.
Koussevitzky, Serge, 1874-1951.
Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995.
Lucioni, Luigi, 1900-
Ludwig, Emil, 1881-1948.
Markham, Edwin, 1852-1940.
Noguchi, Isamu, 1904-1988.
Parrish, Maxfield, 1870-1966.
Rachmaninoff, Sergei, 1873-1943.
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Rudhyar, Dane, 1895-1985.
Sipprell, Clara E. (Clara Estelle),
1885-1975 -- Archives.
Sipprell, Clara E. (Clara Estelle),
1885-1975 -- Photograph collections.
Skinner, Otis, 1858-1942.
St. Denis, Ruth, 1880-1968.
Tarbell, Ida M. (Ida Minerva),
1857-1944.
Thurman, Howard, 1900-1981.
Torrence, Ridgely, 1875-1950.
Van Loon, Hendrik Willem, 1882-1944.
Subjects
Available light photography.
Nature photography.
Photographers -- United States.
Photography -- Equipment and supplies.
Photography, Artistic.
Portrait photography.
Russians -- Portraits.
Still-life photography.
Women photographers -- United States.
Yugoslavs -- Portraits.
Places
Yugoslavia -- Description and travel.
Yugoslavia -- Pictorial works.
Genres and Forms
Audio tapes.
Autochromes.
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Negatives.
Photographs.
Slides.
Occupations
Photographers.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Clara E. Sipprell Papers, Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
Purchase, 1960 and various dates. Lemke material gift of Antje Lemke.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: Jan 1984 - additions, revised (ASD);
14 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon);
Feb 2009 - updated, reorganized (BMG);
May 2009 - updated 87-101 (MRC)
Return to the Table of Contents
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Correspondence-subject files |
|
|
Client correspondence |
| Box 71 |
|
|
A - C |
| Box 71 |
|
|
D - L |
| Box 71 |
|
|
M - R |
| Box 71 |
|
|
S - Z |
|
|
Personal Correspondence |
| Box 70 |
|
|
Fenner, Phyllis |
| Box 70 |
|
|
Lemke, Antje
(2 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Memorabilia |
| On Shelf |
|
Camera |
| On Shelf |
|
Camera Lens |
| On Shelf |
|
Easel |
| Box 70 |
|
Miscellaneous |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Negatives |
|
|
The following box list gives a breakdown of the negatives in Boxes 1-70 and 74-101 by format. To simplify locating
all negatives of a person or subject, this section of the
inventory is also available in the form of an alphabetical list by subject/title,
which can be sorted by box number, subject/title, or
date. Click here to open the spreadsheet. |
| Box 1-48 |
|
Original (usable) negatives and proof prints
(8247 items)
|
|
|
|
See also Boxes 74-86 below. Original negatives deteriorated past the point of usability have been transferred to Deteriorated
negatives (below). |
| Box 49-62 |
|
Interpositives
(2540 items)
|
| Box 63-68 |
|
Duplicate negatives
(1089 items)
|
| Box 69 |
|
Glass plate negatives
(21 items)
|
| Box 74-86 |
|
Original negatives |
|
|
|
See also Boxes 1-48 above. |
| Box 87-101 |
|
Deteriorated and/or digitized negatives
(2837 items)
|
|
|
|
RESTRICTED: Restricted due to condition (crinkled, vinegar syndrome, etc). Alternate forms of most of these exist -- see interpositives
(Boxes 49-61), duplicate negatives (Boxes 63-68), and the Sipprell Digital Collection.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Photographs |
|
|
Items in the shelf list marked with an asterisk (*) are mounted on a rejected
print back to back. |
|
|
Character studies |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
The Abyssinian Jew |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
*Alida's Hand 1943 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
A Baby 1924 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
The Blacksmith |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
*Boy Against Mantle 1930 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Carola 1932 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Dancer, Liberia
|
|
|
|
|
See also Son of a Liberian
King. |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Kathy |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Korean Dancer |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Koto Player, Kabuki Theatre (Japanese) |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
The Last of the Guslars, Yugoslavia - (Story
Teller of Yugoslavia) 1926
|
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Late in the Day 1921 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Little Boy in Georgia 1934 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Mother & Child, Arlington, Vt. 1958 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
Mother and Children 1955 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Mother & Daughter 1945 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Nina and her Grandfather 1931 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
*Nina at 2 years 1929 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
*Nina at 7, Reading on Porch 1934 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
*Nina at 12 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Nude
- carbon print, an early picture
|
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Peter 1959 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Quaker Ladies |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Quaker Type 1929 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Roxanne 1963 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Russian Nobleman 1935 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Sisters 1930 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Son of a Liberian King 1940
|
|
|
|
|
See also Dancer,
Liberia. |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
*A Sprig of Pussywillow 1930 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Tarascan Indian, Mexico 1932 |
| Oversize 2 |
|
|
Three Years Old 1931 |
|
|
Landscape studies |
|
|
|
United States |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
The Apache Trail, Arizona 1929 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
A Blekinge Motif, Sweden 1938 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Cathedral Rock, Bryce Canyon |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Chapetepec (i.e., Chapultepec) Park,
Mexico City
|
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
The Cloisters at Tzintzuntzan, Mexico |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Cypresses at Monterrey, California |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
El Capitan, Yosemite Valley 1923 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Esteys (i.e., Estes) National Park
- a pinhole exposure, made without a lens
|
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Grand Canyon at Dawn |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
The Great White Thrown (i.e., Throne),
Zion National Park 1930
|
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Live Oaks, Georgia |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Pier at Murray Bay 1928 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
St. Mary's Lake, Glacier National Park 1930 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Salt Lake City, Utah 1949 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Sentinel at Sunset, Zion National Park 1930 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Street in Urapan, Mexico 1932 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Sunday Morning, South Ferry |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Taos, New Mexico 1930 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
The Tennessee River 1930 |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Tree (two prints) |
| Oversize 3 |
|
|
|
Wreck at Virginia Beach 1930 |
|
|
|
Canada |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
British Columbia 1923 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Canadian North West 1923 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Church with Daisies, Gaspe Peninsula 1922 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Drying Cod, Gaspe Peninsula 1923 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Daisies Along the Gaspe 1923 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Lake Louise, Canadian Rockies |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
The Tower of Babel, Canadian Rockies 1930 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
The Valley of the Ten Peaks, British
Columbia 1923
|
|
|
|
Vermont |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Barns in Winter, Vermont 1921 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Covered Bridges at Fairlee, Vermont |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
House in Winter, Thetford, Vermont |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
June in Vermont 1920 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Old Bennington Church, Vermont 1939 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
*The Old Darling Place, Dorset, Vermont 1927 |
| Oversize 4 |
|
|
|
Thetford Hill Church, Vermont |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Vermont Farm |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
The White Birch, Vermont |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Winter Sunset, Vermont |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Winter Woods, Vermont |
|
|
|
Yugoslavia |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
An Abandoned Garden in Dalmatia 1926 |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Bay of Kotor |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Ancient Bridge at Salona |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Cypresses |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Olive Grove, Dalmatia 1926 |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Pineas, Dalmation Coast |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Plitvitsi Lake 1926 |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
A Street in Sarajevo 1926 |
| Oversize 5 |
|
|
|
Where the Sava and the Danube Meet,
Belgrade
|
|
|
Portrait studies |
|
|
|
The titles for portraits are given as written on the item. Negatives of many of these individuals also exist. To locate
negatives for a given title or subject, please refer to the alphabetical listing of negatives and prints, accessible here. |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Felix Adler, Founder of Ethical Culture
Movement
|
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Jeanne Andonian, French Novelist 1961 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
D'Archiadi, Rome |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Dr. Azaioli of Rome 1935 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Tokuho Azuma IV, Japanese Kabuki Theatre |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Count Folke Bernadotte of Sweden 1939 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Henry Beston, writer 1952 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Paul Boepple, conductor 1963 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Mme. Breshkovsky, "The Little Grandmother of
the Russian Revolution"
|
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Pearl Buck, writer |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Pearl Buck 1962 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Father Bulgakov, head of the Russian Orthodox
Church in Paris 1940
|
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Rudolf Bultmann, German theologian |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Mrs. Budolf Bultmann 1958 |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
*Ralph Bunche, statesman |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Charles Burchfield, painter
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
H.R.H. Prince Carl of Sweden, head of the
International Red Cross 1938
|
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Chen Chi, Chinese, painter |
| Oversize 6 |
|
|
Kate Chittenden, pianist and teacher 1920 |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Mabel Churchill, Syracuse, New York, teacher |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Sally Cleghorn, poet |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Elizabeth Coatsworth, writer |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Charles Coburn in "The Better 'Ole" |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Timothy Cole, wood engraver |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Royal Cortissoz, art critic |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
John Cotton Dana, librarian |
|
|
|
|
Missing |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Clarence Day, Woodstock, Vermont 1920 |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Robert W. de Forest, President of Metropolitan
Museum of Art 1922
|
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
*John Dewey, philosopher and educator |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Mary Dewson, Head of Women's Democratic Party
under Roosevelt
|
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
William E. (B.) DuBois, Negro writer
- includes 4 prints made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Irwin Edman, philosopher |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Gustav Ekstein, writer |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Carl Eldh, Swedish sculptor |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
Stuart Eldridge, Vermont artist 1961 |
| Oversize 7 |
|
|
H.R.H. Prince Eugene of Sweden |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Phyllis Fenner, librarian 1944 |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
John Finley, editor of the New York Times
|
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Dorothy Canfield Fisher, writer |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Michael Fokine, Russian choreographer and
dancer
|
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Dr. Mary Freeman 1955 |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Robert Frost, poet (bust) |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Robert Frost, poet (full length) |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Robert Frost, Vermont poet - (half length) 1953
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
|
|
|
|
See also Carl
Ruggles. |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Masaya Fujima II, Japanese Fabuki Theatre |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Maria Germanova, Moscow Art Theatre |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Lillian Galbraith, engineer |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Carol Glenn, violinist |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Alexander Gretchaninov, Russian composer 1923 |
|
|
|
Georges Gretanshikoff |
|
|
|
|
See Nicolas
Roerich. |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Prof. Axel Hagerstrom, Swedish philosopher |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Count Hugo Hamilton of Sweden 1931 |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Dag Hammarskjöld, Swedish statesman |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Governor Professor Hjalmar Hammarskjöld |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Walter Hard, poet |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Roy Harris, composer |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Roland Hayes |
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Liverpool Hazard, 108 years old (former slave
on Butler Plantation, Georgia)
|
| Oversize 8 |
|
|
Professor Eli Heckscher, Swedish economic
historian 1938
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Granville Hicks, writer |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Malvina Hoffman, sculptor |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
The last portrait of Oliver Wendell Holmes,
three weeks before he died 1935
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Langston Hughes, poet
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Charles Edward Ives, composer |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Robinson Jefferson, poet 1944 |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Gertrude Kasebier, photographer |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Vassily Kachalov, actor, Moscow Art Theatre 1925 |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Miss Kendall, Wellesley College professor -
193?
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Charles Rann Kennedy, playwright 1920 |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
John Kirkpatrick, pianist |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Mme. Knipper-Chekova, Moscow Art Theatre |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Sergei Konenkov, Russian sculptor |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Louis Krasner, violinist
- includes two additional prints
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Mr. & Mrs. Henry Lanier, son of Sidney
Lanier 1915
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Bruno Liljefors, Swedish nature painter |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Eugene List, pianist 1961 |
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Amy Loveman, editor, Saturday Review 1952
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Luigi in the Birch Wood, Manchester, Vt. 1951
- Luigi Lucioni, painter
|
| Oversize 9 |
|
|
Toni at Taos 1949 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Edwin Markham, poet |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Anjani Mehta of India 1947 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Ivan Mestrovic in his Studio at Zagreb,
Yugoslavia 1924
|
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Ivan Mestrovic, Yugoslav sculptor
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Carl Milles, Swedish sculptor |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Emma Mills, book reviewer 1952 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Grandma Moses, painter |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Ivan Moskvin as Tsar Feodor, Moscow Art Theatre 1926 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Ivan Moskvin, Moscow Art Theatre |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Boris Nagashoff |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Isami Noguchi, sculptor
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Paul Ouzounoff, artist, Moscow Art Theatre |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Mme. Isabella de Palencia, Spanish Ambassador
to Sweden 1941
|
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Kurt Palm of Sweden 1939 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Roland Palmedo 1940 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Mme. Pandit, India 1946 |
| Oversize 10 |
|
|
Anne Parrish, writer 1940 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Frances Perkins, Secretary of Labor |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Dr. Samuel Pettingill of Vermont 1959 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Clarence Pickett, Quaker leader |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Sergei Rachmaninoff, Russian composer and
pianist
|
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Sir Sarvepali Radhakrishnan, President of India |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Carl Ramsay, Orchidist 1956 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Ellen Emmet Rand, portrait painter 1940 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Santha Rama Rau, Indian writer |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Sigmund (i.e., Syngman) Rhee of Korea 1941 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Mme. Rimsky-Korsakoff, niece of Tschaikovsky |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Nicolas Roerich and Georges Gretanshikoff 1922
|
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Eleanor Roosevelt, humanitarian
- includes one print made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt Jr. 1920 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Glen Rounds, writer & artist 1953 |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Dane Rudyar, theosophist |
| Oversize 11 |
|
|
Carl Ruggles and Robert Frost 1958
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Ruth St. Denis, dancer |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Mrs, Sampson 1953 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Lawrence Schmeckebier, Art Department, Syracuse
University
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Albert Schweitzer,
writer-doctor-philosopher-musician
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Rudolf Serkin, pianist |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Roger Sessions, composer |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Otis Skinner, actor |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
John Sloan, painter |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Mr. Speed of Union Village, Vermont |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Constantin Stanislavsky, Founder of Moscow Art
Theatre
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Alfred Stieglitz, photographer
- includes two prints made by SCRC
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Sadja, daughter of Leopold Stokowski |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Harlan Fiske Stone, Chief Justice of the United
States Supreme Court
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Loredo Taft, sculptor |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Tane Takahashi of Japan 1953 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Ida Tarbell, author 1942 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Mrs. Truscott of Thetford, Vermont 1921 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Elizabeth Gray Vining, writer |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Wang, Chinese painter 1942 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Edward Weston, photographer |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Gladys White (Mrs Walter White) |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Walter White, American Negro leader |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Frances Williams, actress 1951 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Eleanor Worcester of Vermont 1925 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Mrs. Wyman of Vermont 1962
- neighbor
|
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Stanley Yarnall, Quaker teacher 1958 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Junzo Yoshimura, Japanese architect 1945 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Ella Young, Irish folklorist 1949 |
| Oversize 12 |
|
|
Marguerite Zorach, artist |
|
|
Still life studies |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Apple |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
An Arrangement of Woodbine and Glass 1929 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
The Bibles of Rufus Jones |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Fading Roses |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Floating Hollyhocks |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Freeshia (i.e., Freesia) 1923 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Freesias |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Ivy and Old Glass 1920 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Ivy in Old Bottle 1920 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Jack in the Pulpit 1922 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Mother by Mestrovic |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Paganini by Konenkov 1921 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Rose in Glass Bottle 1922 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Roses and Steps 1922 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Spring Arrangement
|
|
|
|
|
See also Spring Bloom in
Glass Container. |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Spring Beauties 1922 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Spring Bloom in Glass Container 1922
|
|
|
|
|
See also Spring
Arrangement. |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Still Life--Roses |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Still Life with St. Francis 1945 |
| Oversize 13 |
|
|
Water Lily 1929 |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
General Nicholas Khrahoff |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Felicity 1968 |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Kristi 1969 |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Serfei Konenkov, Russian sculptor |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
New York Harbor |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Carol Fenner |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Loredo Taft and a section of his Fountain of
Time on Chicago midway
|
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Jennifer 1969 |
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Svetlana Alleluyeva
- Stalin's daughter
|
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
Welthy Honsinger Fisher, Founder of Literacy
Village, Lucknow, India
|
| Oversize 14 |
|
|
[sculpture] by Mestrovic |
|
|
Miscellaneous |
| Oversize 15 |
|
|
An Arrangement with Frog 1922 |
| Oversize 15 |
|
|
Albert Einstein, physicist (framed) |
| Oversize 15 |
|
|
Exhibition Posters |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Printed materials |
| Box 70 |
|
Articles |
| Box 70 |
|
Brochures |
| Box 70 |
|
Clippings |
| Box 70 |
|
Exhibit catalogs |
| Box 70 |
|
Prints
(2 folders)
|
| Box 70 |
|
Proofs |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Miscellaneous |
| Box 71 |
|
Audio tapes
(2 folders)
|
| Box 73 |
|
Autochrome cases
- one contains an autochrome image
|
| Box 73 |
|
Autochromes |
| Box 73 |
|
File index |
| Box 73 |
|
Framed negative (Ackerman Preservation, 1991) |
| Box 72 |
|
Master's thesis on Sipprell |
| Box 71 |
|
Personal photographs |
Return to the Table of Contents
|