Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Henry Sheats Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sheats, Paul Henry
Title: Paul Henry Sheats Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1925-1975
Quantity: 54 linear ft.
Abstract: Files of the American educator (1907-1984). Collection includes personal files (oral history, correspondence from and about Theodor Wilhelm, memorabilia, photographs, material on Nazi education, student papers, speeches, selected writings, some audio-visual material, etc). There are organizational records for several California education organizations as well as a number of key national adult education organizations including the Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., Association of University Evening Colleges, Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, National University Extension Association, UNESCO, and University Council on Education for Public Responsibility. There are also more than 40 subject and country files and information on meetings and conferences.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Born on December 5, 1907 in Tiffin, Ohio, Paul Sheats (1907-1984) attended Heidelberg College in his hometown where he earned his A.B. in 1929. He went on to earn an M.A. from Columbia University in 1930, and a Ph.D. from Yale University in 1936. He was an instructor in government at New York State College for Teachers in Albany, an instructor in education at Yale, and an assistant professor of education at the University of Wisconsin. During World War II he served for a time as head of the adult section of the Office of War Information. Sheats has also been the education director of Town Hall in New York. In 1946 he joined the University of California as Associate Director of Extension and in 1949 he became a full professor, a position he held until his retirement in 1975. In 1957 he became Director of University Extension and was named Dean of Extension in 1958. He held this position until 1967 when he returned to teaching full-time. He was also a professor of education at University of California, Los Angeles.

In the course of his life he maintained memberships with several key adult education organizations. Sheats was President of both the National University Extension Association and the Adult Education Association. He served as the University Extension representative on the Executive Committee of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. He also served on the Board of Directors of the National Training Laboratories and on the Adult Education Committee of the Master Plan Survey Team, which acted as architects for the Master Plan for Higher Education in California. For six years Dr. Sheats served on the UNESCO National Commission (at one time holding the office of Vice-Chairman), and he was a member of President Kennedy's Panel of Consultants on Vocational Education. In addition he held seats on the Boards of Directors for the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults and the National Training Laboratories.

Paul Sheats' articles appeared in the major adult education publications, and he authored or co-authored a number of books including Citizenship Throuqh the Social Studies (with R. W. Frederick), 1936; Forums for Young People (with J. W. Studebaker and C. S. Williams), 1937; Education and the Quest for a Middle Way, 1938; Forums on the Air, 1939; Adult education: the community approach, 1953; Adult Education (with R. Spence and C. Jayne), 1953; University of California Extension in a decade of transition, 1962; The case against the adult dropout, 1965; and Aging and the imagination, 1976.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Henry Sheats Papers are divided into six series.

The papers in Personal files pertain to Paul Sheats, the person. The files begin with biographical information in the form of a transcript of an oral history. Correspondence, memorabilia and photographs follow. Next are files devoted to Sheats's activities and interests from the 1930s through the 1960s. Of note are the files for Nazi educational philosophy, public forums and university extension. The files continue with copies of speeches, interviews and reports authored by Sheats from 1946-1970. There are files with some of Sheats's writings, however, they are selective; five writing projects undertaken in the late 1960s and 1970, as well as four books which he authored and a doctoral dissertation by his wife, June Barth Dow. The personal files conclude with audio visual material such as slides and tapes.

Organizational records consists of files for organizations with which Sheats was affiliated. The organizations, appearing alphabetically in the files, are:

• Adult Education Association, 1961-1966 (includes material from the Special Conference on the War on Poverty, 1964)
• American Council on Education, 1963-1964
• Association of University Evening Colleges, 1953-1968
• California State Board of Education - Advisory Committee on Adult Education, 1967-1970
• Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1953-1969 (includes a history of the CSLEA by James B. Whipple)
• International Community College, 1970-1972
• National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, 1958-1967 (The 1961 meeting is of special interest because it was the centennial of the Morrill Land-Grant Act. Sheats served as chairman of the organization's Division of Extension.)
• National Training Laboratories, 1947-1970
• National University Extension Association, 1949-1970
• Southern Regional Education Board - Adult Basic Education - Staff Development Project - Southeastern Region, 1969-1973
• Unesco, 1951-1974
• University Council on Education for Public Responsibility, 1962-1963
• University of California Extension, 1958-1967
• University of California, Los Angeles, 1971-1974
• Western Training Laboratory, 1952-1969
• Youth Opportunity Board of Greater Los Angeles, 1965

Paul Sheats attended over 70 meetings and conferences of note for which he kept records which comprise Meetings files. The meetings are arranged in alphabetical order by sponsor. Many adult education associations and universities are represented in these files.

During the course of 50 years, Sheats collected information about various components of adult education. He kept Subject files as a means for easy organization, containment, and access of this information. The collection has preserved this order, maintaining the same subject headings used by Sheats. Topics range from adult basic education to consumer education, from labor education to World War II. Topics have been subdivided if the bulk and nature of the material warranted such a division. Arrangement of the subject files is alphabetical.

The Geographical files are similar in nature to the subject files. Material about education from around the world is grouped primarily by country, however, some material is designated by geographic region. Countries represented here range from Africa to Yugoslavia.

The Printed material files are the most ambiguous division within the collection. This division was not used by Paul Sheats in his filing system, however, these materials could not readily be integrated within the existing framework of the collection. The material is filed alphabetically under author or title.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The inventory reflects the intellectual organization of the material and gathers related material under the same heading(s), but because the material arrived in two distinct accessions separated by many years, material for a given topic may be physically located in more than one place. For this same reason, the organizational files from the two accessions are arranged slightly differently. The researcher will be well advised to review the entire inventory carefully to ensure that no relevant material is missed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sheats, Paul Henry, Archives
Wilhelm, Theodor, 1906-

Corporate Bodies

University of California, Los Angeles
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education
American Council on Education
Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges
Association of University Evening Colleges (U.S.)
California State Board of Education, Advisory Committee on Adult Education
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
International Community College
National University Extension Association
NTL Institute for Applied Behavioral Science
Southern Regional Education Board, Adult Basic Education, Staff Development Project, Southeastern Region
U.S. National Commission for UNESCO
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility
University of California (System), University Extension
Western Training LaboratoryWorld Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Youth Opportunity Board of Greater Los Angeles

Subjects

Adult education, New Zealand
Adult education
Adult education teachers, Training of
Adult education, Africa
Adult education, Australia
Adult education, Canada
Adult education, Europe
Adult education, Great Britain
Adult education, India
Adult education, Methodology
Adult education, Research
Adult education, United States
Apartheid, South Africa
Basic education
Community development, United States
Community education, United States
Education, 1945-1964
Education, 1965-
Educators, United States
Evening and continuation schools, California
Evening and continuation schools, United States
Literacy
Mass media in education
National socialism and education
Older people, United States
University extension, California
University extension, United States
Vocational education, United States
World War, 1939-1945, Education and the war
World War, 1939-1945, Pamphlets

Genres and Forms

Abstracts
Annual reports
Awards
Bibliographies
Correspondence
Drafts (documents)
Memorabilia
Memorandums
Minutes
Newsletters
Notes
Oral histories
Pamphlets
Press releases
Proceedings
Reports
Slides
Speeches
Yearbooks

Occupations

Educators

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Henry Sheats Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul H. Sheats, 1968, 1985

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: -
Revision history: Oct 1969 - unspecified (AMV); Jan 1977 - unspecified (-); Aug 2006 - parts 1 and 2 inventories integrated, part 2 boxes renumbered (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Personal files
Biographical
Box 1 Oral History
Correspondence
Box 1 Dr. Theodor Wilhelm 1936-1939
See also European trip; Nazi educational philosophy
Box 1 Australia 1959-1960
Box 1 Sabbatical 1970
Memorabilia
Yearbooks
Box 1 Columbian High School, Tiffin, Ohio 1925
Box 1 Heidelberg College, Tiffin, Ohio 1929
Box 1 New York State College for Teachers, Albany, NY 1931
Awards
Box 2 Delbert Clark Award in Adult Education 23 May 1970
Box 97 Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., President 1953-1954
Box 97 Adult Educators of Greater Los Angeles May 1975
Box 97 National University Extension Association, Julius M. Nolte Award 29 Apr 1975
Photographs
Box 2 Debate Club, Tiffin, Ohio High School 1924
Box 2 Reception for President Johnson at UCLA, February 21 1964
Box 2 Vocational Education Panel at the White House, November 27 1962
Box 2 European trip records 1935
See also Dr. Theodor Wilhelm; Nazi educational philosophy
Box 2 Nazi educational philosophy 1930s
See also Dr. Theodor Wilhelm; European trip records
Public Forums
Box 2 Personal File 1930s-1940s
Box 2 Counseling 1930s-1940s
Box 2 Publications 1930s-1940s (3 folders)
Box 2 Publicity 1930s
Box 2 Reporting Projects 1930s
Box 2 Scheduling 1930s
Box 3 Short Programs 1930s-1940s
Box 3 Subjects and References 1930s
Box 3 Chattanooga, Hamilton County Public Forum Scrapbook 1936-1937 (2 folders)
Town Hall
Box 3 Lecture Division 1940s
Box 3 Workshop Division 1940s
Box 3 American Platform Guild 1940s
Box 3 National Education Association 1940s
Box 3 New Tools for Learning 1940s
Box 4 University of Wisconsin 1930s-1940s
Box 4 Metropolitan Youth Council 1940s
Box 4 Office of War Information 1940s
University Extension
Box 4 Reorganization 1964-1965, 1967-1968
Box 4 Resignation 1967
See also Organizational records: University of California Extension
Student Papers
Box 4 Issues in Adult Education, 232B 1971
Seminar on Research in Adult, Vocational, and Technical Education, 261G 1969
Box 4 University of Lethbridge Consultation 1967-1968
See also Geographical files: Canada: University of Lethbridge
Speeches, Interviews, Etc.
Box 4 Table of Contents, v. 1 and v. 2 1946-1947
Box 4 v. 1, no. 1-20
Box 4 v. 1, no. 21-33, 35-41
Box 5 v. 2, no. 42-60
Box 5 v. 2, no. 61-66
Speeches, Forms and Reports
Box 5 Indices, v. 1-5 1954-1966
Box 5 v. 1, no. 1-20
Box 5 v. 1, no. 21-38
Box 5 v. 2, no. 39-45
Box 5 v. 2, no. 46-70
Box 5 v. 2, no. 71-80
Box 6 v. 3, no. 80a-100
Box 6 v. 3, no. 101-137
Box 6 v. 4, no. 138-155, 158-165
Box 6 v. 4, no. 166-185
Box 6 v. 5, no. 186-195
Box 6 v. 5, no. 196-208
Box 6 1961, 1967-1968, 1970
Writings
Administration of Adult Basic Education
Box 7 Outline
Box 7 Draft (2 folders)
Encyclopedia of Education, "Continuing Education" (field article)
Box 7 Correspondence 1967-1969
Box 7 Outline and Article 1969
Foundation of Education, Chapter 27 - Learning Society 1970
Box 7 Drafts (3 folders)
Box 7 Proof
Box 7 Teacher's Manual Draft
Handbook of Adult Education in the U.S. - Introduction 1970
Box 7 Handwritten Copy
Box 7 Draft
Box 7 Rough Final Draft
Box 7 Final Draft
Box 7 Master Copy
We Keep on Learning: The Growth of Adult Education in America
Box 7 Correspondence 1961, 1966
Box 7 Draft 1966
Published works
Box 98 Adult Education: The Community Approach, by Paul H. Sheats 1953
Box 98 Citizenship Education Through the Social Studies: A Philosophy and a Program by Robert Wendell Frederick 1936
Box 98 Education and the Quest for a Middle Way, by Paul H. Sheats 1938
Box 98 Handbook of Adult Education in the U.S., by Malcolm S. Knowles 1960
Dissertation
Box 98 Characteristics of Noncredit University Extension Students, by June Barth Dow 1965
Audio-Visual Materials
Records
Box 96 The People Act, Programs 9 and 10
Box 96 The Ways of Mankind, Program 7 and 8
Slides
Box 96 Dr. Sheats 1973
Tapes
Cassettes
Box 96 Unesco (4)
Reel-to-Reel
Box 96 Aldous Huxley (2)
Box 96 Illich
Box 96 Frank Jessup/UCLA Seminar
Video
Box 96 Learning to Be
Box 96 Misc. (2)
Organizational records
Adult Education Association
Annual conference
Box 99 1961
Box 99 1963
Special conference
Box 99 1961
Box 99 1964 (on War on Poverty)
Box 99 National Conference 1965
Box 99 Report on Current Business 1966
American Council on Education
Annual Meetings
Box 99 1963
Box 99 1964
Association of University Evening Colleges
Annual meetings
See also Meetings
1960
Box 99 Organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 99 Reports and notes
Box 99 1961
Box 99 1964
Box 99 1965
1966
Box 99 Organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 99 Address and notes by Paul H. Sheats
Box 99 Reports and notes
Box 100 1967
Committee on Minimum Data and Definitions
Box 7 Reports 1960-1966
Box 100 Committee on Relationships with Other Organizations 1963
Box 7 Research Committee 1959
Meetings
See also Annual meetings
Box 7 15th Annual 1953
Box 7 18th Annual 1956
Box 7 19th Annual 1957
Box 8 20th Annual 1958
Box 8 21st Annual 1959
Box 8 22nd Annual 1960
Box 8 23rd Annual 1961
Box 8 24th Annual 1962
Box 8 25th Annual 1963
Box 9 26th Annual 1964
Box 9 27th Annual 1965
Box 9 28th Annual 1966
Printed Materials
Box 9 "From the Dean's Desk..." 1965, 1969
Newsletter
Box 9 v. 3, no. 4; v. 4, no. 1, 3; v. 5, no. 7, 8; v. 6, no. 2, 6-8 1955-1958
Box 9 v. 7, no. 1-8 1958-1959
Box 9 v. 8, no. 1-8 1959-1960
Box 9 v. 9, no. 1-8 1960-1961
Box 9 v. 10, no. 1-8 1961-1962
Box 9 v. 11, no. 1-8 1962-1963
Box 10 v. 12, no. 1-8 1963-1964
Box 10 v. 13, no. 1-7 1964-1965
Box 10 v. 14, no. 1-6 1965-1966
Box 10 v. 15, no. 1-6 1966-1967
Box 10 v. 16, no. 3-6 1968
Box 10 Who's Who in 1964
California State Board of Education. Advisory Committee on Adult Education
Box 10 Correspondence 1967-1970
Meetings
Box 10 1968
Box 10 Conference 1970
Box 10 Surveys 1968-1969
Box 10 Administrative and Operational Concerns Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10 Curriculum Task Force 1970
Box 10 Finance and Facilities Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10 Personnel Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10 Students Task Force 1969-1970
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
Box 100 Annual Leadership Conference 1965
Box 11 Carnegie Corporation - Commonwealth Fund 1967
Box 11 Ford Foundation grants 1962
Box 11 History 1967
Interim reports
Box 11 6th, 7th Oct 1953 - Sep 1954, Oct 1955
Box 11 Liberal education 1955
Box 11 University Extension 1962
Speeches
Box 11 Schwertman, John B., Director 1954-1955
Meetings
Board of Directors
Box 11 10-11 Mar 1962
Box 11 12 Mar 1964
Box 100 1966
Box 100 Board of Directors Meeting Working Papers Oct 1966 (2 folders)
Box 100 1967
Box 11 20 Mar 1967
Box 11 15-16 Sep 1967
Box 11 Conference of Liberal Arts Deans 1954
Box 11 4th Leadership Conference for University Adult Educators 1956
Box 12 National Conference on the Urban University and Community Needs 1954
Printed Materials
CSLEA Reports
Box 12 1961-1964
Box 12 1964-1965
Box 12 1966-1967
Box 12 1968
Continuing Education for Adults
Box 12 1961-1962
Box 12 1963-1964
Box 12 1965-1966
Box 13 1967-1973
Notes and Essays on Education for Adults
Box 13 no. 1, 2, 4-10 1952-1955
Box 13 no. 11, 13-15 1955-1956
Box 13 no. 16-20 1957-1958
Box 13 no. 21-25 1958-1959
Box 13 no. 26-31 1959-1960
Box 13 no. 34-36 1961-1962
Box 14 no. 37-40 1963
Box 14 no. 41-45 1964-1965
Box 14 no. 46-50 1965-1966
Box 14 no. 51-54 1966-1967
Box 14 no. 55, 57-59 1967-1969
Occasional Papers
Box 15 no. 1, 2, 4-9 1960s
Box 15 no. 10-13, 15-17 1960s
Reports
Box 15 1955, 1957-1958, 1960
Box 15 1961
Research Reports
Box 15 1961
Box 15 1963-1964
Box 15 1968
Box 16 Report 1953, 1957-1959
Box 16 Reprints 1956, 1957, 1959
International Community College
Board of Governors
Box 16 Correspondence 1970-1972
Box 16 Meetings 1971-1972
Box 16 Catalogs 1971-1972
Printed Materials
Box 16 Misc. ca. 1970s
National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges
Annual meeting
Box 16, 100 72nd Annual 1958
Box 16 73rd Annual 1959
Box 16, 100 74th Annual 1960
75th Annual 1961
Box 17 v. 1
Box 17 v. 2
Box 100 Organizational correspondence
Box 100 Dec 1960-Jul 1961
Box 100 Aug 1961-Nov 1961
Box 100 General plans
Box 101 Press Releases
Box 101 Addresses
Box 101 Reports (2 folders)
77th Annual 1963
Box 101 Organizational correspondence
Box 101 General plans
Box 101 Reports 2 folders
Box 17 Misc.
78th Annual 1964
Box 101 Organizational correspondence
Box 101 General plans
Box 101 Addresses and notes
Box 101 Reports (2 folders)
Box 17 Misc.
79th Annual 1965
Box 102 Organizational correspondence
Box 102 General plans
Box 102 Addresses
Box 102 Reports and resolutions
Box 17 Misc.
80th Annual 1966
Box 102 Organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 102 Addresses
Box 17 81st Annual 1967
Executive Committee Meeting
1964
Box 102 Jan
Box 102 May
Box 102 Sep
1965
Box 102 Jan
Box 102 May
Box 102 Oct
1966
Box 102 Jan
Box 102 May
Box 103 Sep
Division of Extension Meeting
Box 103 1964
Box 103 1966
Centennial Committee 1960-1962
Box 103 General Plans and Organizational Correspondence
Box 103 Publications
Box 103 News Articles
Box 103 Extension Questionnaire
Box 103 Citizen Seminars
Box 103 Ad Hoc Committee on Membership Meeting Jul 1966
Box 103 Questionnaire on Administrative Problems and Practices 1963
Newsletter
Box 103 1963
Box 103 1965
Box 103 1966
Box 16 Task Force on the State University and Public Affairs 1964-1967
National Training Laboratories
College Leaders
Box 17 2nd 1961
Committee on Minority Group Affairs / Negotiating, Committee of Black Ad Hoc Committee
Box 17 Minutes 6 Sep 1969
Community Leadership Training
Box 17 2nd 1961
Box 18 Reading Book 1969
Box 18 Conference on Executive Behavior and Organizational Effectiveness 1961
Group Development
Box 18 1st 1947
Box 18 2nd 1948
Box 18 1949
Box 18, 19 1950 (5 folders)
Box 19 1951
Box 19 Reports 1951
Box 19 1st Session 1951
Box 20 2nd Session 1951
Box 20 1952
Box 20 1953
Box 20 Master File 1953
Bulletins
Box 21 no. 2-4 1948, 1951
Box 21 no. 6 1955
Box 21 Explorations in Human Relations Training: An Assessment of Experience 1947-1953
Box 104 Executive Committee Meeting Mar 1963
Human Relations Training
Box 21 15th 1961
Box 21 17th 1963
Box 21 Applications, no. 1-3 1966
Box 21 Explorations, no. 2 1966
News
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 21 v. 7, no. 4 1963-1964
Box 21 v. 9, no. 4 1965-1966
Box 21 v. 10, no. 2-4 1966
Box 21 v. 11, no. 2-3, Index 1967
Box 21 v. 12, no. 4 1968
Box 21 Reading Book, Rev. 1969
Leadership Skills Workshop for Elementary School Principals
Box 21 1st 1958
Management Work Conference
Box 22 7th 1961-1962
National Board Meeting
Box 104 1961 Oct
Box 104 1962
Box 104 May
Box 104 Oct
1963
Box 104 Jun (2 folders)
Box 104 Oct (2 folders)
NTL for Educators
Box 22 3rd 1961
Protestant Church Leadership Laboratory
Box 22 6th 1961
Printed Materials
Box 22 Conference Planning 1940s-1950s
Box 22 Informational Papers 1970s
Box 22 Interpersonal Process of Self-Disclosure: It Takes Two to See One, by Samuel A. Culbert 1967
Box 22 Framework for Examining Change, by Jack R. Gibb 1961
Midwest Group for Human Resources newsletter
Box 22 v. 1, no. 1; v. 2, no. 2 1968, 1969
Box 22 Network News Apr 1969
News and Reports
Box 22 v. 2, no. 4; v. 3, no. 1-3 1968, 1969
Research Reprint Series
Box 22 no. 7, 9, 11 1961-1962
Box 22 Role Playing / Large Group Committee 1940s-1960s
Selected Reading Series
Box 22 no. 1-2 1961
Box 23 no. 5-6 1962
Social Change: Ideas and Applications
Box 23 v. 1, no. 2 1971
Box 23 Story of the Bethel Idea, by Stuart Chase 1957
Subscription Service
Box 23 no. 1-4 1963-1964
Box 105 University - NTL Relationship Meeting Feb-Mar 1963
National University Extension Association
Board of Directors Meetings
1960
Box 107 Mar
Box 107 Nov
1962
Box 107 Apr-Aug
Box 107 Sep-Nov
1963
Box 107 Mar
Box 107 Nov
Box 107 1964
Box 107 1965
Box 107 1966
Box 107 1967
Committees
Box 108 Ad Hoc Committee Apr 1960
Ad Hoc Committee on Constitution Revision, Organization, Structure and Fee Modification ("Eddy Committee")
Box 108 1961-1964
Box 108 1965-1967
Box 108 Ad Hoc Committee on Organizational Problems 1963
Box 108 Ad Hoc Committee for the Study of the 1961 Position Paper and Future Directions of the Association, Meeting 16-19 Jul 1967
Box 108 Committee on American Indian Affairs
Box 108 Awards and Honors Committee 1962-1963
Box 108 Business and Affairs Committee 1962, 1964
Box 23 Committee on Community Organization 1949, 1953-1954, 1956, 1969
Box 108 Discussion and Debate Materials Committee 1961-1965
Box 108 Executive Committee 1965-1967
Box 108 Extension Services for the Armed Forces Committee 1963
Box 108 Finance Committee 1962
Box 108 Governmental Relations Committee 1964-1967
Box 108 Humanities Committee 1962-1963
Box 108 Committee on Inter-Association Relationships 1962-1964
Box 108 Inter-Organizational Cooperation Committee 1962
Box 108 Nominating Committee 1963-1967
Box 108 Professional Development Committee 1962-1963, 1965
Box 108 Publications and Public Information Committee 1963
Box 23 Committee on Reports 1961
Box 108 Research Committee 1963-1965
Box 108 Resolutions Committee 1962, 1963
Box 108 Terminal Education Committee 1962
World Affairs Committee
Box 23 1960
Box 108 1962
Box 23 Community Development Division 1965-1966
Box 23 National Teacher Training Institute 1967
Meetings
Box 23 43rd Annual 1958
Box 23 44th Annual 1959
Box 23, 105 45th Annual 1960
46th Annual 1961
Box 105 Organizational correspondence
Box 105 General plans
Box 105 Newspaper clippings
Box 105 Speech
Box 105 Reports
Box 23 Misc.
47th Annual 1962
Box 106 Organizational correspondence
Box 106 General plans
Box 106 Speeches
Box 106 Reports
Box 24 Misc.
48th Annual 1963
Organizational correspondence
Box 106 1961-1962
Box 106 Jan-Apr 1963 (3 folders)
Box 106 General plans
Box 106 Reports
Box 24 Misc.
Box 24, 106 49th Annual 1964
50th Annual 1965
Box 106 Correspondence, general plans, speech by Sheats
Box 106 Publications
51st Annual 1966
Box 107 Correspondence, general plans, rreports
Box 107 Publications
Box 24 Misc.
Box 24, 107 52nd Annual 1967
Box 24 Preparation of Extension Leaders 1947
Printed Materials
Studies in University Extension Education
All issues are together in a single folder
Box 24 no. 2-4 1944-1946
Box 24 no. 6 1951
Box 24 no. 9 1953
Box 24 no. 11 1954
Box 24 Misc. 1940s-1970s
Miscellaneous
Box 109 Division of Audio-Visual Communications 1963-1965
Box 109 Division of Conferences and Institutes 1962
Division of Evening Colleges and Class Extension
Box 109 1962
Box 109 1963-1964
Box 109 Institute on the Federal Legislative Process 5 May 1961
Box 109 NUEA Work-Study Conference on New Educational Media 28-29 Apr 1962
Box 109 NUEA - Speech Association of America, Joint Symposium Dec 1962
Box 109 Position Paper 1960-1962
Correspondence and Drafts 1960, 1961-1962, undated (3 folders)
Southern Regional Education Board, Adult Basic Education Staff Development Project, Southeastern Region
Box 24 Correspondence 1971-1972
Box 24 Proposal - Teacher Training 1971
Box 24 Graduate Program Reports 1971
Box 24 Reports 1969-1971
Box 25 Reports 1970s
Box 91 Reports (legal size) 1971
Box 25 State Reports 1971
Box 25 Speech, October 18 1971
Meetings
Graduate Program Development
Box 25 June 1970
Box 25 October 1971
Planning of In-Service Workshops 1971
Regional
Box 25 2nd 1970
Box 25 3rd 1970
Box 26 4th 1971
Box 26 5th 1972
Box 26 6th 1973
Unesco
Correspondence
Box 26 1958-1960
Box 26 1961-1962
Meetings
Consultative Committee on Adult Education
Box 26 3rd 1951
Box 26 4th 1952
Box 26 8th 1956
Box 26 9th 1957
Box 26 10th 1959
Box 26 Experts on Research in Literacy 1968
General Conference
Box 26, 27 7th 1952 (2 folders)
Box 27 11th 1960
International Advisory Committee for Out of School Education
Box 27 2nd Session 1970
International Committee for the Advancement of Adult Education
Box 27 1st Session 1961
International Consultative Liaison Committee for Literacy
Box 27 2nd Session 1968
Box 27 Media 1959, 1961-1962
Box 27 Seminar on Methods and Techniques of Adult Education in International Organizations Concerned With Women's Interests 1959
United States National Commission
Box 27 5th 1955
Box 27 8th 1961
Box 27 13th 1969
World Conference on Adult Education
Box 27 1st 1949
Box 27 2nd 1960 (3 folders)
Box 28 3rd 1972
Printed Materials
Adult Education Information Notes
Box 28 no. 1, 8 1973-1974
Literacy: a Newsletter
All issues are together in a single folder
Box 28 8 Sep 1969
Box 28 no. 1-2 1970
Box 28 no. 2 1974
Box 28 Literacy 1965-1971
Box 28 Misc. 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility
Box 29 Annual Meeting 1962
Box 29 Associate Members 1963
Box 29 Associates (Deans and Directors) 1962
Box 29 Board of Directors 1962
Box 29 Program Committee 1962
Box 29 Program Planning Committee 1962
University of California Extension
See also Personal files: University Extension
Box 29 Academic Senate Committee 1950s-1960s
Box 29 Dean's Administrative Council 1963
Box 29 University Extension Council 1964-1967
Box 29 Academic Plans 1950s-1960s
Annual Reports
Box 29 1962-1966
Box 30 1966-1969
Box 30 Community Seminar Program 1964-1965
Extension Reorganization
Box 30 v. 1 1960
Box 30 v. 2 1960-1963
Meetings
Box 30 Approaches to Desegregation: The Superintendent's Perspective 1969
Box 30 Articulation Conference 1961
Box 30 Conference on Poverty in America 1965
Box 30 Conference on the Creative Person 1961
Box 31 Economic Growth Symposium 1964
Fulbright Conference on American Higher Education
Box 31 1956
Box 31 1957
Box 31 1962
Box 31 1963
Box 31 Planning Conferences and Workshops 1955
Box 31 Memoranda, Grant and Contract 1964-1967
Box 32 Programs 1962-1963, 1966
Box 32 Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 32 Salary Scales 1965-1967
Box 32 Statistical Summaries 1964-1966
Box 32 Misc. Printed Materials 1965
Western Center for Community Education and Development
Box 32 Activity Reports 1967-1968
Box 32 Reports 1966-1968
Box 32 Western Center for Continuing Education in Hospitals and Related Health Institutions Regional Conference on Hospitalwide Education and Training 1968
University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Education
Box 32 Committee on Changing Roles of Adolescents and Young Adults 1972-1973
Box 32 National Conference on Community Continuing Education 1973
Box 32 Misc. printed materials 1953, 1971, 1974
Western Training Laboratory
Correspondence
Box 32 Administrative 1968-1969
Box 32 Staff 1968-1969
Box 32 Budget 1968-1969
Box 33 Design Papers 1960s
Group Development
Box 33 1st 1952
Box 33 2nd 1953
Box 33 3rd 1954
Box 33 4th 1955
Box 33 5th 1956
Box 33 Rosters 1969
Box 33 Misc. Papers 1960s
Youth Opportunity Board of Greater Los Angeles
Box 34 Community Development Evaluation Panel 1965
Box 34 Progress Reports 1965
Meetings files
Adult Education Association of Michigan
Box 34 Annual 1966
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 34 A.I.D. Conference 1964
Box 34 Allerton Park Conference of Professors of Adult Education 1955
Box 34 Delegate Assembly 1973
Box 34 18th Annual 1968
National Conference
Box 34 1971
Box 34 Speech Research 1971
Box 34 1974
Agency for International Development
Box 34 Adult Education in Developing Nations 1962
Box 34 Conference on Multidisciplinary Analyses of Alternatives to Traditional Education in Latin America 1973
American Association of Junior Colleges
Box 34 Committee on Continuing Education 1966
American Educational Research Association
Annual meeting
Box 35 1972
Box 35 1974
Box 35 1975
American Hospital Association
Box 35 Workshop on International Classification of Diseases, Adapted for Use in the United States (ICDA-8) 1969
American National Red Cross
Box 35 National Convention 1972
Association of Higher Education
Box 35 18th Annual 1963
California Community College Continuing Education Association
Box 35 1st Annual 1970
California Council on Adult Education
Box 35 Annual 1969
California State Department of Education
Box 35 Conference on Vocational Education 1965
Santa Barbara Workshop in Adult Education
Box 35 1958
Box 35 1960
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 35 Ann Arbor Conference 1957
Box 36 Madison Conference 1959
Box 36 East Lansing Conference 1960
Box 36 Philadelphia Conference 1967
Committee of Adult Education Organizations
Box 36 Wingspread 1969
Community Development Society
Box 36 5th Annual 1973
Ford Foundation
Box 36 Urban Extension Conference 1963
Box 36 Galaxy Conference 1969
Hawaii State Department of Education
Box 36 State Conference 1963
Highlander Research and Education Center
Box 36 1st Inter-American Adult Education Seminar 1962
Institute of Lifetime Learning
Box 36 Institute Day 1967
International Congress of University Adult Education
Box 36 World Conference 1970
Los Angeles Junior High School Principals Association
Box 36 Improving Faculty Meetings 1974
Michigan State University, Kellogg Center for Continuing Education
Box 37 9th Annual 1966
Box 37 11th Annual 1968
National Association of Adult Educators
Box 91 Extraordinary Congress (legal size) 1969
National Association for Public School Adult Education
Box 37 Ad Hoc Committee on a Professional Development Program for Public School Adult Educators 1969
International Conference
Box 37 17th Annual 1968
National Institute of Mental Health
Box 37 National Conference on Continuing Education 1967
New York University
Box 37 40th Anniversary of School of Continuing Education 1975
North American Conference on Adult Education
Box 37 1st 1967
Pennsylvania State College
Box 37 J. Orvis Keller Building Dedication 1966
Purdue University
Box 37 Albert P. Marble and Midland-Ross Foundation Lecture in Continuing Education 1966
Rutgers State University
Box 37 Interuniversity Seminar on Urban Extension 1966
Santa Barbara City College
Box 37 50th Anniversary 1969
Syracuse University
Box 37 Psychological Backgrounds of Adult Education 1962
Box 38 Sociological Backgrounds of Adult Education 1963
Box 38 University in Urban Society 1966
Texas Christian University
Box 38 Fort Worth Week - Community and University,1969
United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 38 Ideals of American Freedom and the International Dimensions of Education 1962
United States International Cooperation
Box 38 Administration - Korea
Box 38 Inter-Regional Conference on Community Development and its Role in Nation Building 1961
University of Akron
Box 38 50th Anniversary 1966
University of Alberta
Box 38 Conference on Post Secondary and Continuing Education 1966
University of California - San Francisco Medical Center
Box 38 Storage of Abilities: A Centennial Celebration 1968
University of Chicago
Box 38 Application of Adult Education Concepts 1972
Workshop for Administrators of University Adult Education
Box 38 1966
Box 38 1968
University of Maryland
Box 38 4th World-Wide Armed Forces Education Conference 1962
University of Pittsburgh, School of General Studies
Box 38 Board of Visitors 1973
University of Tennessee
Box 38 Conference on Higher Adult Education in the South 1961
Utah
Box 38 Governor's Conference 1965
Utah State University
Box 38 Conference on Higher Education 1965
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Box 39 Annual 1964
Box 39 Western Regional Conference on Education Beyond the High School 1957
World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Box 108 Annual Meeting 1961
General Assembly
Box 39 10th
Box 108 General Correspondence 1959-1960, 1961
International Conference on Adult Education
Box 108 1st 1959
Box 39 2nd 1961
Box 39 3rd 1962
Seminar
Box 39 1970
Box 39 6th 1971
Box 39 8th 1973
Subject files
Box 39 Administration 1960s-1970s
Adult Basic Education
See also Subject files: Teacher training
Box 40 Alabama State University 1970s (2 folders)
Box 40 Appalachian Adult Basic Education Demonstration Center 1969
Box 40 Appalachian Adult Education Center 1970s
Box 40 California 1960s-1970s
Box 40 Columbia University 1970
Box 40 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1968
Box 40, 41 Florida State University 1968 (3 folders)
Box 41 Illinois 1965
Box 41 Indiana University 1970
Box 41 National Advisory Committee on Adult Basic Education 1968
National Multimedia Center for Adult Basic Education see: Box 93-95
Cross-Referenced Index for Abstracts
Box 93 001301-002500
Box 93 001901-002200
Box 93 002501-002800
Box 93 002801-003100
Abstracts
Box 93 000189
Box 93 000193-000195
Box 93 000598
Box 93 000701-000800
Box 93 000901
Box 93 001000-001600
Box 94 001601-002500
Box 95 002601-003100
Box 41 National Association for Public School Adult Education, ca. 1965
Box 41 National University Extension Association 1966-1968 (4 folders)
Box 42 Nevada 1969-1970
Box 42 North Carolina State University 1960s-1970s
Box 42 Northern Illinois University 1967
Box 42 Ohio State Board of Education 1967
Box 42 Ohio State University 1967-1969 (3 folders)
Box 42 University of Chicago 1971
Box 42 University of Massachusetts 1970
Box 43 University of Missouri 1972
Box 43 University of Washington 1965
Box 43 White Plains Adult Education Center 1973
Box 43 Misc. 1960s-1970s
Aged
Box 43 Bibliographies
California - Governor's Conference on Aging
Box 43 1951
Box 43 1960
Box 43 1967
Box 44 Conferences 1950s-1960s
Florida State University - Leadership Development Institute
Box 44 1st 1969
Box 44 2nd 1971
Box 44 3rd 1972
Guideposts to Effective Action in Aging
Box 44 Case Study, no. 1, 3, 6-10 1960
Box 44 Ohio State University 1964
Box 44 National Institutes of Health 1950s-1960s
Box 45 Older Workers 1950s
Box 45 University of Chicago 1961
Box 45 White House Conference on Aging 1961 (2 folders)
Box 45 Misc. 1950s-1960s
Box 45 Behavioral Science 1940s, 1960s-1970s
Box 45, 46 Civic Education 1939, 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
Community Development
Box 46 Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 46 Agency for International Development 1950s-1960s
Box 46 American Association of Junior Colleges 1960s
Box 46 American Council for the Community 1951-1952
Box 46 Association for the Study of Community Organization 1960s
Box 46 Cerritos College 1974-1975
Box 46 Colorado State University 1971-1973 (2 folders)
Box 47 Columbia University Teachers College 1949
Box 47 Committee for Economic Development 1960s-1970s
Box 47 Community Action Program 1960s
Community Development Review
Box 47 no. 3 (Dec 1956); no. 6 (Sep 1957)
Box 47 v. 4, no. 1-4 1959
Box 47 v. 5, no. 1-4 1960
Box 47 v. 6, no. 1-3 1961
Box 47 v. 7, no. 1 (1962); v. 8, no. 1 (1963)
Community Service News
Box 47 v. 3, no. 3 (1945); v. 5, no. 3, 5 (1947)
Box 48 v. 7, no. 3-5 (1949); v. 8, no. 3 (1950); v. 9, no. 4 (1951)
Earlham College
Box 48 Community Dynamics Annual Reports 1948-1951, 1953
Box 48 Misc. 1950s-1960s
Box 48 Economically Disadvantaged 1960s-1970s
Box 48 General Federation of Women's Clubs 1950s-1960s
Box 48 Indiana University - Purdue University 1950s-1960s (2 folders)
Box 48 International 1958
Box 48 Michigan State University 1950s
Box 48 Mississippi State University 1950s-1960s
Box 48 Montana State University 1950s
Box 48 New York State Citizens' Council 1956
Box 49 New York University 1954
Box 49 Northern Illinois University 1967
Box 49 San Bernardino Valley College 1950s
Box 49 Southern Illinois University 1950s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 49 Texas Technological College 1957
Box 49 United Nations 1950s-1960s
Box 50 University of California Extension 1950s-1960s
Box 50 University of Kentucky 1950s
Box 50 University of Michigan 1950s
Box 50 University of Virginia 1940s
Box 50 University of Washington 1950s-1960s
Box 50 University of Wisconsin 1969
Box 50 Washington University 1960s
Box 50 Wayne State University 1960s
Box 50 West Georgia College 1960s-1970s
Box 50 Misc. 1930s-1950s
Box 51 Misc. 1960s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 51 Community Education 1940s
Consumer Education
Box 51 Bibliography 1969
Box 51 Misc. 1969
Box 51 Counseling 1960s
Box 51 Curriculum 1958
Developing Countries
Box 51 Bibliography 1965
Box 52 Misc. 1964
Box 52 Evaluation 1950s-1970s
Box 52 Family 1940s-1960s
Box 52 Finance 1930s-1960s (2 folders)
Box 52 Goals 1960s
Box 52, 53 Graduate Programs 1950s-1970s (2 folders)
Group Dynamics/Discussion/Leadership
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Leader's Digest
Box 53 v. 1, 2 1950s
Leadership Pamphlets
Box 53 no. 2, 3, 5, 7 1955-1957
Autonomous Groups Bulletin
Issues are contained in 7 folders total, 4 in Box 53 and 3 in Box 54.
Box 53 v. 1, no. 1-3 1945
Box 53 v. 2, no. 2, 4 1946-1947
Box 53 v. 3, no. 4 1948
Box 53 v. 4, no. 1-4 1948-1949
Box 53 v. 5, no. 1-4 1949-1950
Box 53 v. 6, no. 1-4 1950-1951
Box 53 v. 7, no. 1-3 1951-1952
Box 53 v. 7, no. 4 1952
Box 53 v. 8, no. 1-3 1952-1953
Box 54 v. 8, no. 4 1953
Box 54 v. 9, no. 1-4 1953-1954
Box 54 v. 10, no. 1, 2, 4 1954-1955
Box 54 v. 11, no. 2-4 1955-1956
Box 54 v. 12, no. 1, 3, 4 1956-1957
Box 54 v. 15, no. 3, 4 1960
Leadership Resources Inc.
Box 54 Bibliographies 1968
Box 54 Learning About Leadership Series 1961
Box 54 Looking into Leadership 1961
Box 54 Management Series 1968
Misc.
Box 54 1930s-1940s (3 folders)
Box 55 1950s (5 folders)
Box 56 1960s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 56 Undated
Box 56 History 1930s-1940s, 1960s
Box 56 Industry 1950s-1960s
Box 56 Innovation 1960s-1970s
Labor Education
See also Subject files: Vocational education
Box 56 1950s
Box 57 1960s-1970s
Box 57 Learning 1950s-1970s
Liberal Education
Fund for Adult Education
Box 57 Lectures 1950s
Occasional Papers
Box 57 no. 1-3 1950s
Box 57 Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 57 Misc. 1956
Box 57 Libraries 1950
Box 57 Lifelong Learning 1970s
Literacy
International Institute for Adult Literacy Methods
Literacy Discussion
Box 57 v. 2, no. 1 1971
Literacy Documentation
Box 58 v. 1, no. 3-4 1972
Literacy Work
Box 58 v. 1, no. 5; v. 3, no. 4 1972, 1974
Box 58 Misc. 1971
Box 58 Puerto Rico 1955
Box 58 World Education Inc. 1971
Misc.
Box 58 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
Box 59 1970s
Mass Media
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Mass Media/Adult Education
Box 59 nos. 1-10, 23 1967-1968, 1969
Television
Box 59 Chicago Junior City College 1950s-1960s
Box 59 Juvenile Delinquency 1964
Box 59 Rural Family Development 1970s
Box 59 University Council on Education for Public Responsibility 1966
Box 59 Misc. 1950s-1960s
Box 60 Misc. 1950s-1960s
Box 60 Methodology 1940s-1960s
Box 60 Minorities 1960s-1970s
Open University
Box 60 Wisconsin 1970s
Box 60 Misc. 1960s-1970s
Box 60 Participation Studies 1950s-1960s
Population
Box 60 Agency for International Development 1972
Box 60, 61 California 1960s (2 folders)
Box 61 Misc. 1970s
Program Planning
Box 61 American Association for the United Nations 1940s
Box 61 Misc. 1940s-1970s
Box 61 Psychology of Adults 1940s-1960s
Public School
Box 61 Bibliography 1967
California
Box 61 Administration 1960s
Box 61 California Council for Adult Education 1971
Box 61 Citizen Unity Committee and the former Morale Committee of the Schenectady County Consolidated County War Council 1942-1943
Box 61 Handbook 1973
Box 61 Salaries 1950s, 1974-1975 (2 folders)
Box 61 Statements 1967-1969
Box 62 Studies 1940s-1960s
Box 62 Teacher Training 1950s-1960s
Box 62 Misc. 1940s-1960s
Los Angeles
Box 62 Annual Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 62 Belmont Community Adult School 1960s
Box 62 Counseling 1958
Box 62 Curriculum 1968-1969
Box 62, 63 Division of Career and Continuing Education 1970s (2 folders)
Box 63 Evaluations 1960s-1970s
Box 63 Gerontology Office 1950s-1960s
Box 63 Goals 1968
Box 63 Handbooks 1971
Box 63 Studies 1950s-1960s
Box 63 West Valley Occupational Center, n.d. undated
Box 63 Misc. 1960s
Box 64 Curriculum
Box 64 Illinois 1966
National Association for Public Continuing and Adult Education
Administrative Swap Shot
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 64 v. 17, no. 2-5 1970-1971
Box 64 v. 18, no. 1-5 1971-1972
Box 64 v. 19, no. 1, 3 1972
Box 64 v. 20, no. 1-6 1973-1974
Box 64 v. 21, no. 1, 2 1974
Box 64 Almanac 1974
Pulse of Public Continuing and Adult Education
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 64 v. 11, no. 3, 4, 8 1970-1971
Box 64 v. 12, no. 1, 2, 4-7 1971-1972
Box 64 v. 13, no. 4-7 1973
Box 64 v. 14, no. 1-3, 5, 6, 8 1973-1974
Box 64 v. 15, no. 2 1974
Techniques for Teachers of Adults
Box 64 v. 15, no. 2, 3, 5, 6 1974-1975
Box 64 National Association of Public School Adult Educators 1950s
Box 64 National Education Association 1950s
Box 64 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Religious Education
Box 64 Indiana University - Purdue University 1954
Box 64 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Research
American Educational Research Association
Box 64 Directories 1969, 1974-1975
Box 64 Misc. 1969
Box 64 Antioch College 1959-1960
Box 65 Knox, Alan B. 1960s
Box 65 Kreitlow, Burton W. 1960s
Box 65 Mountain Plains Region 1967-1971
Box 65 Stanford University 1966
Box 65 University of California 1963
Washington University
University College Research Publications
Box 65 no. 9, 10 1966
Box 65 Misc. 1960s
Box 65 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Residential Education
Box 66 Bibliography 1968
Box 66 Directories 1960s
Box 66 Misc. 1956
Box 66 Science and Technology 1960s-1970s
Box 66 Socio-Technical Systems 1960s-1970s
Staff Development
Box 66 Bibliography 1973
Box 66 Misc. 1969
Box 66 Teacher Training 1940s-1970s (2 folders)
See also Subject files: Adult Basic Education
Testing
Box 66 College Entrance Examination Board 1960s-1970s
Box 66 Misc. 1968-1969
University Extension
Box 67 History and Overview 1920s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 67 Administration 1950s-1960s
Box 67 Cooperative Extension 1950s-1970s
Box 67 Policy Statements 1960s
Box 67 Professional Upgrading 1960s
Box 67 Programs and Faculty Participation 1950s
Box 67 Title I Programs 1960s-1970s
California
Box 67 University of California 1940s-1950s
Florida
Box 68 Board of Regents 1967
Box 68 Florida Institute for Continuing University Studies 1963
Illinois
Box 68 University of Chicago, 1892-1930
Box 68 Indiana 1961
Box 68 Iowa 1961
Box 68 Michigan 1951, 1970
Missouri
Box 68 University of Missouri 1967
New Jersey
Box 68 New Jersey Association for Adult Education 1963
Box 68 Rutgers State University 1950s-1960s
New York
Box 68 City College 1970s
Box 68 New York University 1966-1967
University of the State of New York Bulletin
Box 68 no. 1357 1 Dec 1948
Box 68 Oregon 1966-1968
Virginia
Box 68 University of Virginia 1944
Box 68 Washington undated
Wisconsin
Box 68 University of Wisconsin 1950s
Urban Extension
Box 68 1950s-1960s
Box 69 1960s-1970s
Vocational Education
See also Subject files: Labor education
B'nai B'rith Career and Counseling Services
Box 69 Explorations, parts 1 and 2 1974
Box 69 Resources 1974
Chartering Process
Box 69 Report 1968
Box 69 Instructional Manual 1968
Box 69 National Advisory Council on Vocational Education 1960s-1970s
Panel of Consultants on Vocational Education
Box 69 Report 1963
Box 69 Summary Report 1963
Box 70 Appendix 1, 3 1963
Box 70 University of California, Los Angeles 1960s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 70 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Women
Box 70 Bibliography 1967
Box 70 College of San Mateo 1970
Box 70 Radcliffe Institute 1968
Box 70 Misc. 1960s-1970s
World Education
Box 70 International Congress of University Adult Education 1962
Box 70 International Council for Adult Education 1975
World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Echo
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 70 v. 20, no. 2 1971
Box 70 v. 21, no. 2-4 1972-1973
Box 70 v. 22, no. 1-4 1973-1974
Box 70 v. 23, no. 1, 3 1974-1975
Box 70 World Education Inc. 1974
Box 71 Misc. 1950s
World War II
Box 71 Office of War Information 1940s (4 folders)
Box 91 Office of War Information (legal size) 1940s
Geographical files
Box 71 Africa 1960s-1970s
Australia
Box 71 Aborigines 1969-1970
Box 71 Australian Association of Adult Education 1960s-1970s
Box 72 Australian National University 1960s-1970s
Box 91 Australian National University (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 72 Canberra University College 1950s-1960s
Box 72 Council of Adult Education 1940s-1970s
Duncan, W. G. K.
Box 91 Adult Education in Australia 1944
Box 91 Appendices A-H 1944
Box 91 Appendices J-R, and Index 1944
Box 91 Adult Education in New South Wales 1944
Box 72 Kormilda College 1969-1970
Special Schools Bulletin
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 72 v. 5, no. 6 1968
Box 72 v. 6, no. 2-5 1969
Box 72 v. 7, no. 2-6 1970
Box 72 v. 8, no. 1 1971
Box 72 Tasmania Adult Education Board 1950s-1970s
University of Adelaide. Department of Adult Education.
Box 72 Annual Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 72 Pamphlets 1950s-1960s
Box 72 Misc. 1950s
Box 73 University of Melbourne 1950s
Box 73 University of New England 1950s-1970s
Box 91 University of New England (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 73 University of Queensland 1968, 1970
University of Sydney
Box 73 Aboriginal Family Education Centers 1969-1971
Box 73 Department of Adult Education 1968-1970
Box 73 Department of Tutorial Classes 1950s
Box 73 Extension Board 1950s
Box 73 University of Western Australia 1950s-1970s
Box 92 University of Western Australia (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 73 Wangaratta Centre for Continuing Education 1970
Box 92 Wangaratta Centre for Continuing Education (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 74 Workers' Educational Association 1950s, 1970s (2 folders)
Box 74 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Box 92 Misc. (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Brazil 1961
Canada
Canadian Association for Adult Education
Box 74 Bibliographies 1950s-1970s
Learning for Living
Box 74 no. 1-5 1950s
Box 74 no. 6, 7, 10, 11 1950s
Box 74 Misc. 1950s-1960s
Box 75 Canadian Institute of Adult Education 1966-1967
Box 75 Center for Community Studies 1950s-1960s
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Box 75 Bibliography 1971
Box 75 Comparative Studies 1971
Box 75 Degree Research 1968-1969
Box 75 Non-Degree Research 1960s-1970s
Box 75 Women 1969
Box 75 McGill University 1969-1970
Box 75 St. Francis Xavier University 1955
Box 76 Thomas More Institute 1960s
University of British Columbia
Box 76 Annual Report 1967-1968
Occasional Papers in Continuing Education
Box 76 no. 1-8 1968-1973
Box 76 Niemi, John A. 1970s
Box 76 Misc. 1950s-1970s
Box 76 University of Lethbridge 1960s
See also Personal files: University of Lethbridge Consultation
Box 76 University of Montreal 1960s
Misc.
Box 76 1958
Box 77 1960s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 77 China 1960s-1970s
Box 77 Czechoslovakia 1967
Box 77 Denmark 1930s-1960s
Europe
European Bureau of Adult Education Notes and Studies
Box 77 1957-1962
Box 77 1963-1966
Box 78 Misc. 1940s-1960s
Box 78 Finland 1968
France
Centre Universitaire de Coopération Économique et Sociale Centre
Box 78 Activity Report 1970
Box 78 Programs 1960s-1970s
Box 78 Misc. 1956
Germany
Box 78 Bibliography 1969
Box 78 Volkshochschulen 1950s-1960s
Box 79 Misc. 1930s-1950s (2 folders)
Box 79 Greece 1957, 1960s (3 folders)
Box 79 Hong Kong 1960s
Box 79 Hungary ca. 1968
India
Box 79 Association of Voluntary Agencies for Rural Development 1960-1961
Box 79 National Fundamental Education Centre 1958, 1960
Box 92 National Fundamental Education Centre (legal size) 1961
University of Rajasthan
News
Box 80 v. 5, no. 3; v. 6, no. 1, 2; v. 7, no. 1-4 1967, 1968-1969
Box 80 Reports 1960s
Box 80 Misc. 1940s-1960s
Box 92 Misc. (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 80 Israel 1950s-1970s
Box 80 Italy 1950s-1960s
Box 80 Japan 1950s-1960s
Kenya
Box 80 Board of Adult Education 1971
Kenya Journal of Adult Education
Box 80 v. 1, no. 1; v. 2, no. 2; v. 3, no. 1, 4 1972-1974
Box 81 Korea 1960-1961
Box 81 Latin America 1960s-1970s
Box 81 Liberia 1965
Box 81 Middle East 1960s-1970s
Box 81 Nepal, n.d.
Netherlands
Box 81 International Bulletin of the Leidsche Onderwijsinstellingen-Leiden-Holland 1965-1970
Box 81 Misc. 1956
New Zealand
Box 81 Auckland Headmasters' Association 1960s-1970s
Box 92 Council of Adult Education 1959
National Council of Adult Education
Box 81 Annual Reports 1955-1973
Box 81 Newsletters 1966-1970
Box 81 Misc. 1960s
Box 92 University of Auckland 1960s-1970s
Box 82 Victoria University of Wellington 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 92 Victoria University of Wellington (legal size) 1969-1970
Box 82 Misc. 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 82 Nigeria 1960s-1970s
Box 82 Norway 1950s-1960s
Philippines
Box 82 Community School 1952
Box 83 Family Planning 1970s
Box 83 Fulbright Program 1940s-1950s
Box 83 Misc. 1940s, 1960s
South Africa
Box 83 Apartheid 1950s
Box 83 Institute of Citizenship 1950s
Box 83 University of Cape Town 1950s
Box 83 University of South Africa 1959
Box 83 South East Asia 1942
Box 83 Sweden 1930s-1970s
Box 83 Taiwan 1950s-1960s
Tanzania
Institute of Adult Education - Dar Es Salaam
Studies in Adult Education
Box 84 no. 5, 8-10, 16, 18 1973-1974
Box 84 Misc. 1960s-1970s
Box 92 Misc. (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 84 Misc. 1960s
Thailand
International Workshop for Evaluation Specialist on Non-Formal Education for Functional Literacy and Family Life Planning
Box 84 Part 1 1974
Box 84 Part 2 1974
Box 84 Misc. 1960s-1970s
Box 84 Turkey 1950s-1960s
Box 84 U.S.S.R. 1950s-1960s
United Kingdom
Box 84 Edinburgh University 1960s
Box 84 National Foundation for Adult Education 1947-1948
Box 84 National Institute of Adult Education 1950s-1960s
Box 92 National Institute of Adult Education (legal size) 1960s
Box 85 Ruskin College 1950s-1960s
Box 85 Universities Council for Adult Education 1960s
Box 85 University of Birmingham 1960s
Box 85 University of Glasgow 1960s
Box 85 University of Keele 1960s
Box 85 University of London 1960s
Box 85 University of Manchester 1960s-1970s
University of Oxford - Delegacy for Extra-Mural Studies
Box 85 Annual Reports 1955-1957, 1960, 1965-1966
Rewley House Papers
Box 85 v. 3, no. 5, 6, 8-10 1956-1962
Box 85 v. 4, no. 1-3 1962-1965
Box 85 1965-1966
Box 92 Misc. 1967
Box 92 University of Nottingham 1960s
Box 86 Workers Educational Association 1940s-1960s
Box 86 Misc. 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
Box 86 Uruguay 1969
Box 86 West Indies 1950s-1960s
Box 86 Yugoslavia 1962
Printed material
Box 86 About Adult Education in Los Angeles, ed. by Gloria Houston 1971
Adult and Continuing Education Today
Box 86 v. 4, no. 24 (1974); v. 5, no. 2 (1975)
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Adult Education Monographs
Box 86 no. 1, 2, 4 1956-1958
Box 86 Articles 1955, 1957, 1968
Dateline
Box 86 v. 1, no. 5, 7 1974
Box 86 Federal Support for Adult Education Directory 1966
Box 86 Adult Education Defined and Described, by Wayne L. Schroeder ca. 1970
Box 87 Adult Education Process and Procedure, by Paul Bergevin, John McKinley and Robert M. Smith 1961
Box 87 Adult Education Services of State Departments of Education, by John B. Holden 1959
Adult Educators of Greater Los Angeles
Open Channels
All issues are together in a single folder.
Box 87 v. 1, no. 4 1971
Box 87 v. 2, no. 2, 4 1972-1973
Box 87 v. 3, no. 5, 7 1974, 1975
v. 6, no. 1
American Council on Education
Box 87 Fact Book on Higher Education 1963
California
Senate Interim Committee on Adult Education
Box 87 Partial Report 1951
Box 87 11th Report 1953
State Department of Education Bulletin
All issues are together in two folders.
Box 87 v. 11, no. 2 1942
Box 87 v. 20, no. 4 1951
Box 87 v. 22, no. 6 1953
Box 87 v. 23, no. 5 1954
Box 87 v. 24, no. 8, 16 1955
Box 87 v. 26, no. 12, 13 1957
Box 87 Handbook on Adult Education in California, Rev. Ed. 1966
Box 87 California Going, Going...: Our State's Struggle to Remain Beautiful and Productive, by Samuel E. Wood and Alfred E. Heller 1962
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 87 Adult Education: A New Imperative for Our Times 1961
Box 87 Comparative Adult Education, Bibliography and Resources, n.d.
Box 87 Continuing Education and the Problem of Excellence, by John B. Schwertman 1955
Coordinating Council for Higher Education
Box 88 Reports 1960s (3 folders)
Box 88 Cross Cultural Interaction Skills: A Digest of Recent Recent Training Literature, by Roger DeCrow 1969
Box 88 Educational Alternatives: Crisis in the Hemisphere, by Thomas J. LaBelle ca. 1971
Box 88 Educational Strategies for the 1970s, by Philip H. Coombs 1970
Box 88 Environmental Quality and the Citizen: A Teaching Guide for Adult Education Courses Related to the Environment, by Bernard L. Clausen and Ross L. Iverson undated
Box 88 Field of Adult Education and Implicit Functions for the Division of Adult Education 1969
Ford Foundation Letter
Box 88 v. 4, no. 2 1973
Global Dimensions in U.S. Education: The Community, by William C. Rogers 1972
Hospital Personnel Development: A Manual for Trainers
Box 88 Drafts, Chapters 2-5 1967
Box 88 Identifying Educational Needs of Adults, by Homer Kempfer 1951
Box 88 Improving Your English Skills, by Leonard S. Bennett, et al. 1974
Invitation to Learning
Box 88 v. 2, no. 1 1952
Landmarks and New Horizons in Continuing Education
Box 88 no. 1 1971
National Advisory Council on Adult Education
Box 88 Federal Activities in Support of Adult Education 1972
Box 88 National Organizations and Voluntary Associations With Adult Education Concerns in the United States 1971
Box 89 Reports 1971-1973
Box 89 State Demographic Data 1973
National Education Association. Division of Adult Education Service.
Box 89 Staff Papers 1970
New York Adult Education Council
Box 89 "Adult Education for Everybody" 1954
Box 89 20th Anniversary Yearbook of Adult Education 1953
Box 89 Next 30 Years: Concepts, Methods and Anticipations, by F. E. Emery ca. late 1960s
Box 89 Noncredit Activities in Institutions of Higher Education: Registrations by Florence B. Kemp 1967-1968, 1972
North Carolina State University at Raleigh, Department of Adult and Community Education
Box 89 Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations 1967-1974
Box 89 Practice of Public Relations: Case Studies by 20 Professionals, ed. by Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith 1968
Box 89 Selected Approaches to Adult Education, by Homer Kempfer and Grace S. Wright 1950
Box 89 Social Action in Social Studies: Toward a Rationale, by Fred M. Newmann 1972
Syracuse University, University College
Box 89 Speeches 1950s-1960s
Texas
Box 89 Continuing Education: Thrust for Relevance Proposed State Plan for Adult and Continuing Education, 2nd draft 1974
Trans-action
Box 89 v. 1, no. 4-6 1964
Box 89 v. 2, no. 1, 2, 4-6; v. 3, no. 1 1964-1965
United States Department of the Interior, Office of Education
Bulletin
Box 89 no. 12 1932
University of California at Riverside
Box 90 Annual Report 1968-1969
University of Chicago
Continuing Education Report
Box 90 nos. 1-16, 19 1965-1967, 1969
University of Missouri
President's Committee on Communication
Box 90 Abridged Report 1968
University of Southern California
Box 90 "Status Report on the Organization and Functions of the College of Continuing Education" 1974
World Education Inc.
Box 90 Evaluation Report 1973
Box 90 Youth as Socio-Cultural Systems in American Society, by Thomas J. Labelle 1972

Return to top