Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frederick B. Serger Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Serger, Frederick, 1889-
Title: Frederick B. Serger Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1934-1966
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: American landscape and still life painter. Collection contains correspondence, writings, exhibition catalogues and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick B. Serger (1889-1965) was an American painter known for his floral still lifes and landscapes.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick B. Serger Papers consists of correspondence, writings, exhibition catalogues and clippings. The bulk of the collection is exhibit catalogs.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The entire collection is arranged roughly chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Serger, Frederick, 1889-

Subjects

Art, Modern.
Painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick B. Serger Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederick B. Serger, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Oct 2010
Revision history: 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Subject files
Box 1 1934-1935 Bielsko, Poland, Women's portraits, Przyjaciol Sztuk Museum, Krakow, Poland - news clippings, exhibition catalog
Box 1 1936 Salon des Tuileries, Bernheim-Jeune &c, Paris - news clippings, admission ticket
Box 1 1936-1937 Salon d'Automne, Paris; purchase of painting "Venice" by the city of Paris - news clippings, admission ticket, criticism
Box 1 1936-1939 Letters from museum directors in Poland
Box 1 1936-1938 Patacu Sztuki, Krakow, Poland; Salon in Museum Malarski, Warsaw, Poland - clippings, exhibition catalog
Box 1 1938 Salon d'Automne - exhibition catalog
Box 1 1939 Salon des Tuileries, XVIe Catalogue
Box 1 1943 Lilienfeld Galleries exhibition
Box 1 1944 "New York as Seen by Artists of Many Lands" / Hoffman, Else
Box 1 1945 Exhibition, Lilienfeld Galleries, NY; Carnegi Institute, Pittsburgh - catalog, clippings, correspondence
Box 1 1946 La Tausca exhibition - catalog
Box 1 1946 Exhibitions, De Yong Museum, San Francisco and Museum of New Mexico, Santa Fe - correspondence
Box 1 1946, 1963 Schonemann Galleries, one man show; Retrospective 1933-1963 - catalogs, clippings
Box 1 1947 Painting of the Year, 4th annual; Pepsi Cola exhibition, Rochester Memorial Art Gallery - catalog
Box 1 1946-1951 Exhibit, Lilienfeld Gallery, NY ; various group shows in New York - clippings, catalogs
Box 1 1947 Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, DC; Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, Ohio - correspondence, catalogs
Box 1 1947-1952 Springfield Art League, Springfield, Massachusetts - clippings, catalogs, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1947-1954 Connecticut Gallery of Fine Art, Hartford, Connecticut - catalog, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1947-1962 Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia ; Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit, Michigan - catalogs
Box 2 1948 University of Illinois, Contemporary American Painting - catalog, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1948-1949 State Teachers College, Indiana, PA, Art Dept, group show - catalogs, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1948-1950 Woodstock, New York, Rudolph Galleries ; New Paltz State Teachers College Art Association - clippings, catalogs
Box 2 1947-1951 Clearwater Art Museum, Clearwater, Florida ; Norton Gallery and School of Art, West Palm Beach, Florida
Box 2 1948-1950 Jewish Museum, New York ; Diamond Jubilee Art Exhibit, Philadelphia, PA - catalogs, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1950 Van Diemen, Lilienfeld Galleries, New York - clippings, catalog
Box 2 1948-1949 Art Association of New Orleans ; Isaac Delgado Museum of Art, New Orleans - catalogs, clippings
Box 2 1947-1951 Painters and Sculptors Society of New Jersey ; Jersey City Museum - catalogs, award, one piece correspondence
Box 2 1951-1955 Butler Institute of American Art, Youngstown, Ohio ; one man show - catalogs, critique
Box 2 1952-1953 John Heller Gallery, New York - catalog, clippings
Box 2 1964 Frederick Anthony Gallery, Beverly Hills, California ; Orr's Gallery, San Diego, California - catalogs
Box 2 1965 Louuisiana Art Commission Galleries ; Baton Rouge, Louisiana retrospective show - catalogs, clippings, correspondence, publicity
Box 2 1965 La Boetie, New York - catalog, clippings
Box 2 1965 Obituary
Box 2 1966 Memorial exhibition, La Boetie - catalog, clippings
Box 2 Undated Statements about paintings, by Serger
Box 2 Undated Fan mail
Box 2 Undated La Boetie Gallery Collection - `exhibition catalogs, press release

Return to top