Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Schutz, Anton. |
| Title: | Anton Schutz Etchings |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1926-1929 |
| Quantity: | 1.75 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Etchings of German-American artist Anton Schutz |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Anton Schutz (1894-1977) was a German-American artist and founder of the New York Graphic Society.
Schutz was born 1894 in Berndorf, Germany. He attended the University of Munich where he received a dual degree in mechanical engineering and architecture. Despite his education in engineering and architecture, he turned to art, and received a degree from the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, Germany. He emigrated to New York in 1924.
Shortly after arriving in the United States, Schutz met Joseph Pennell. Pennell, the leading printmaker at the time, was impressed with Schutz's etching abilities, and appointed Schutz as the monitor of his etching class at The Art Students League. In 1925 Schutz was commissioned by The New York Times to make etchings of New York City and other American cities. Schutz's previous education as an engineer served him well when it came to drawing accurate etches of landmark buildings, and his etchings were very popular. In 1928 and 1929 Schutz travelled to Russia, Japan, and China, and the etches he drew while he was there were published in The New York Times and New York Herald Tribune.
Despite Schutz's success as an artist during the 1920s, the Great Depression negatively affected the art market in the early 1930s. Schutz stopped making etchings, which were not very profitable, and instead shifted his focus to producing high quality color reproductions of paintings from museums throughout the world. In 1925, Schutz founded New York Graphic Society that distributed his and other artists' work, and he now utilized his company to distribute the reproductions. His business thrived, and the New York Graphic Society became one of the largest reproduction companies in the world. Ultimately, Schutz's career as an etch artist only lasted twelve years.
Schutz died on October 6, 1977 in New York City.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Anton Schutz Etchings consists of five matted original etchings of New York City buildings and street scenes.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged alphabetically by title of etching.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Anton Schutz Etchings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of William Gaske, 2021.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: DTF
Date: 23 Nov 2021
Revision history: 07 Jul 2022 - a title and more detail assigned to previously untitled etching (DTF)
Inventory
| Etchings | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Equitable Trust Co. Building 1927 | ||||||||||
| The pyramid-topped building on the left is the Bankers Trust Building. Tall building in center is Equitable Trust Co. building. Schutz's name on etching lower right. Signed in pencil below etching lower right. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Madison Square Garden 1929 | ||||||||||
| View of street leading to Madison Square Garden (not the current Madison Square Garden, but a previous building with the same name that was demolished in the 1920s). Two trees right of street, one left. Men, women, and children walk the street and sidewalks. A tall spire towers above the building, with a statue of Diana at the top of the tower. Handwritten text lower left below etching that is illegible. Signed in pencil lower right. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Three Giants 1927 | ||||||||||
| The N.Y. Telephone Co. Building at left; the Woolworth Building in center; the Transportation Building on right. Signed and dated 1927 on etching lower left. Signed in pencil below etching lower right. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Trinity Church 1926 | ||||||||||
| Street view of Trinity Church. Tall modern buildings surround the historic church. Handwritten message below etching lower left reads, "To my friend Mr. Roy Goodfellow." Signed in pencil below etching lower right. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | View of Lower Manhattan from Governors Island 1929 | ||||||||||
| The buildings on the right with the tunnel openings are ferry stations. Handwritten message below etching lower left reads, "With the artist's compliments to Mr. and Mrs. Hugh and Joan Dyas, [illegible], July 17, 1929." Signed in pencil below etching lower right. | |||||||||||