Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles Augustin Sainte-Beuve Collection

An inventory of his items at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sainte-Beuve, Charles Augustin, 1804-1869.
Title: Charles Augustin Sainte-Beuve Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1851-1855, undated
Quantity: 23 items
Abstract: Papers of the French author, literary biographer and critic. Vol. containing 19 ALS, mostly undated, to Antonia de Vaquez; 1 letter of Antonia de Vaquez to her mother; and 1 letter from Thomas Devaquetz to Monsieur Sant-Boeuf [sic]. Also, a single letter (15 Jun 1854) from Sainte-Beuve to friends.
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Augustin Sainte-Beuve (1804-1869) was a French literary critic and author best known for his articles in French reviews such as La Revue de Paris and La Revue des deux mondes.

Sainte-Beuve was born in Boulogne-sur-Mer, Département Pas-de-Calais to Augustine Coillot and Charles-François Sainte-Beuve on December 23, 1804. Because his father died three months before his birth, Sainte-Beuve was raised by his mother and aunt, Marie-Thérèse Cormier. He attended the Collège Charlemagne from 1818 to 1821 where he studied Greek and then the Collège Bourbon from 1821 to 1823. While at the Collège Bourbon, he also studied French, English, and German Romantic literature, as well as chemistry and physiology. After graduating in 1823, Sainte-Beuve enrolled as a medical student at the Hôspital Saint-Louis.

In 1824, Sainte-Beuve began writing for a literary review, Le Globe. He reviewed Victor Hugo's revised Odes et Ballades in 1827. This review led to his admission into Hugo's household and membership in La Cénacle. This was the start of a successful career. Sainte-Beuve was appointed conservateur at the Bibliotèque Mazarine in 1840 and was elected into the Académie Française in 1844. He was also awarded the cross of the Légion d'honneur in 1852 and was appointed to the post of sénateur by Napoleon III.

Sainte-Beuve died on October 13, 1869 at the height of his career.

1829 Vie, poésies, et pensées de Joseph Delorme ( Life and Poems of Joseph Delorme)
1830 Les Consolations
1834 Volupté ( Voluptuousness)
1836–46 Critiques et portraits littéraires ( Literary Portraits and Critical Essays)
1837 Pensées d'août ( Thoughts of August)
1840–59 Port-Royal
1844 Portraits de femmes ( Portraits of Women)
1846 Portraits contemporains ( Contemporary Portraits)
1851–2 Causeries du lundi ( Monday Chats)
1861 Chateaubriand et son groupe littéraire sous l'Empire ( Chateaubriand and his Literary Set)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Augustin Sainte-Beuve Collection contains 22 pieces of Correspondence. Nineteen letters to Antonia de Vaquez, one letter from de Vaquez to her mother, and one letter from Thomas de Vaquez to Sainte-Beuve are housed in a single bound volume. The only letter not in this volume is the one from Sainte-Beuve to friends.

Writings contains a bound volume of corrected proofs for articles written by Sainte-Beuve for the Le Constitutional.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Correspondence and Writings. Correspondence is then divided into three subseries: Incoming correspondence, Outgoing correspondence, and To and from others.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sainte-Beuve, Charles Augustin, 1804-1969 -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Augustin Sainte-Beuve Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 21 Jan 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming correspondence
Oversize 1 de Vaquez, Thomas 04 Dec 1855 (1 item)
Outgoing correspondence
Oversize 1 de Vaquez, Antonia 09 Apr 1851, undated (19 items)
Oversize 1 Friends 15 Jun 1854 - includes summary/transcription (1 item)
To and from others
Oversize 1 de Vaquez, Antonia to her mother 30 Jun 1851 (1 item)
Writings
Oversize 1 Corrected proof for Le Constitutional 1864
Corneille. Le Cid 29 Feb 1864-21 Mar 1864
Works of Emile de Girardin 11 Apr 1864
Works of Viollet le Duc 15 Feb 1864

Return to top