Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Dane Rudhyar Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rudhyar, Dane, 1895-1985.
Title: Dane Rudhyar Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1919-1973
Quantity: 3.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American composer, painter, philosopher. Correspondence, and manuscript and published articles, books, and lectures relating to astrology, consciousness, the occult, self-realization, and theosophy.
Language: Majority in English, a few items in French and Dutch.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dane Rudhyar (1895-1985), born Daniel Chennevière in Paris, was an author, composer and humanistic astrologer. Rudhyar studied at the Sorbonne, moved to New York in 1916, and became an American citizen in 1926. Although respected in astrological and New Age circles, he did not become generally well-known until the 1970s, when mainstream publisher Penguin Books published his The Practice of Astrology. Over the course of his life he wrote more than forty books and hundreds of articles on astrology and spirituality.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dane Rudhyar Papers consist of writings, artwork, printed material, and published material by and about Rudhyar.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Series are arranged in no particular order, but within each series material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rudhyar, Dane, 1895-1985.

Subjects

Astrology.
Authors, American.
Consciousness.
Human beings.
Occultism.
Occultists -- United States.
Philosophers -- United States.
Self (Philosophy)
Self-realization.
Spiritual life.
Theosophy.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Lectures.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Occultists.
Philosophers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dane Rudhyar Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: May 1987
Revision history: 16 Jul 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Comfort, Will Levington
Box 1 Council, Paul - popular astrology
Box 1 Jones, Marc Edmund
Box 1 Kirsch, James
Box 1 Kunkel, Fritz
Box 1 Lewi, Grant, ed. Horoscope
Box 1 Miller, Henry 1945, 1960 (2 items, 1 copy)
Box 1 Mott, Francis J.
Box 1 —, Paul
Box 1 re: Modern man's conflicts
Writings
Articles
Box 1 Aryan root-race and its sub-races 1937
Box 1 Ascension of man 1944
Box 1 "Astrologer" surveys modern thought undated
Box 1 Call to occultists and theosophists undated
Box 1 Challenge of true philosophy undated
Box 1 Circuits of the moon 1943
Box 1 Civilization as food 1925
Box 1 Cosmic ideas in art undated
Box 1 Declaration of human interdependence 1943
Box 1 Descent into flesh undated
Box 1 Descent of power: an Aquarian key to the world in the making 1946?
Box 1 Easter meditation on Pluto 1944
Box 1 Film music for all men undated
Box 1 Framework of personality: The meridian polarities 1944
Box 1 Great American tradition 1943
Box 1 Great stations of life and truth undated
Box 1 Light which shineth in darkness 1944
Box 1 Lure of cosmic consciousness 1922
Box 1 Make way for creative men! undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Messengers of the new life 1944
Box 1 Mind on the threshold 1944
Box 1 Mystery of the 'first breath' 1946
Box 1 Mystery of the seed undated
Box 1 Mystery of the sun 1943
Box 1 New mysticism of science 1937
Box 1 New sovereignty 1945
Box 1 New year for a new world 1943
Box 1 On the death of war heroes 1942
Box 1 Organic democracy the answer to totalitarianism 1943
Box 1 Our field and our purpose of action 1924
Box 1 Our Piscean heritage and the task ahead for 'These Americas' 1943
Box 1 Power in defeat: The underground 1945
Box 1 Practice in consideration 1946?
Box 1 Problems of the emotional life 1948
Box 1 Production for plenty - for all, by all 1943
Box 1 Rebirth of Mercury 1943
Box 1 Reconstruction in truth 1945
Box 1 Secret doctrine 1923
Seed for greater living
Box 1 1955-1956 (2 folders)
Box 2 1957-1963, undated (7 folders)
Box 2 Steps to astrological wisdom 1945-1946, 1967-1968 (3 folders)
Box 2 Studies in modern psychology: The education to personality 1946-1947
Box 2 Study of psychological complexes 1947
Box 2 Synthesis - solidarity - service undated (2 folders)
Box 2 Thomas Paine, father of western democracy undated
Box 2 Toward the man of plentitude 1960
Box 2 Transfer of destiny 1964
Box 3 Trinity of diseases undated
Box 3 Way of creative accomplishment 1944
Box 3 Way Through: Twelve basic challenges and tests of individual existence 1961
Box 3 When end meets beginning 1945
Box 3 Where do we stand 1960
Box 3 Why I wrote Fire out of stone 1963
Box 3 Work of civilization 1944
Books
Astrology of America's destiny circa 1973
Box 3 First draft, not used - manuscript
Box 3 Manuscript - holograph
Box 3 Setting copy
Box 3 Corrected galley
Box 3 Miscellaneous production material
Faith that gives meaning to victory
Box 4 Manuscript 1942, 1943 - holograph
Box 4 Revisions 1948
Box 4 Gifts of the spirit undated - manuscript (holograph and typescript copy)
Box 4 Gospel to individuals undated - manuscript (holograph and typescript copy) (3 folders)
Box 4 Lovely little ghost 1953 - manuscript (holograph)
Box 4 Meditations on universal themes (proposed) 1942-1946? - manuscript (holograph) (2 folders)
Box 4 Moon cycles and fortunes of life 1946 - published copy with revisions
New goals 1945-1946
Box 4 Manuscript, 5 chapters - holograph and typescript copy
Box 5 Manuscript, 4 chapters - holograph and typescript copy
Box 5 New mansions for new men 1935-1936 - manuscript (holograph and typescript copy) (3 folders)
Box 5 Of stars, sex, and Henry Miller 1955 - manuscript (holograph)
Box 5 Rana: an epic narrative - manuscript (typescript copy) (2 folders)
Box 5 Transcendental movement in painting 1939 - manuscript (holograph) (2 folders)
Triptych
Box 5 Part I, Gifts of the spirit 1945-1946 - manuscript (holograph, typescript copy) and clipping
Box 5 Part II, Challenges of the earth 1946-1947 - manuscript (holograph)
Box 6 Part III, The Illumined road 1947-1948 - manuscript (holograph), original folder
Box 6 When cosmic love awakens 1953 - manuscript (holograph)
Lectures
Box 6 New images for modern times 1954
Box 6 New symbols for a global society 1966
Box 6 Quality of a creative leadership in the atomic age 1954
Box 6 Transpersonal way and the religious attitude 1954
Lessons
Box 6 Liberation through sound 1931 (3 folders)
About Rudhyar
Box 6 Astrology of personality 1937 - comments
Box 6 Faith that gives meaning to victory undated
Artwork by Rudhyar
Box 6 "Storm gods," offset print undated
Printed material
By Rudhyar
Box 6 Miscellaneous
Box 6 Minute scope, Nov/Dec 1963, Jan 1964
Box 6 Seed letter Sep 1958
About Rudhyar
Box 6 Miscellaneous
Box 6 Morang, A. / Dane Rudhyar, pioneer in creative synthesis 1939 (2 copies)
Box 6 Programs, lectures, etc.
Miscellaneous
Box 6 Dried petals
Published material
By Rudhyar
Box 7 Astrologie Aanleg en Karakter 1950
Box 7 Faith that gives meaning to victory 1943
Box 7 Fire out of the stone circa 1963
Box 7 Gifts of the spirit circa 1956
Box 7 Lunation cycle circa 1967
Box 7 Modern man's conflicts 1948
Box 7 New mansions for new men 1946
Box 7 Rebirth of Hindu music 1928 (2 copies)
Box 7 Rhapsodies 1919
Box 7 Rhythm of human fulfillment circa 1966 (2 copies)
Box 7 Roc enflamme circa 1960
Box 7 Seed ideas, 2nd series: Will to destiny circa 1930 (2 copies)
By others
Box 8 Bhagawad gita 1910
Box 8 Henry Cowell, a record of his activities 1934
Box 8 Edwin A. Fleisher collection of orchestral music in the Free Library of Philadelphia 1945
Box 8 Merrill, Arch / Our goodly heritage undated - signed by author

Return to top