Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Ross, Emory. |
| Title: | Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1897-1938 |
| Quantity: | 2 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Missionaries and friends of Albert Schweitzer. Photographs. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Emory Ross (1887-1973) was a missionary with the Disciples of Christ. He and his wife, Myrta, became friends with Albert Schweitzer while serving as missionaries in equatorial Africa, and were early supporters of the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship during World War II.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs consists entirely of photographs of African people and places.
Arrangement of the Collection
Photographs are arranged alphabetically in each box by topic.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Estelle Linzer
Finding Aid Information
Created by: --
Date: 1996
Revision history: 21 Jul 2014 - corrected bio (MRC);
10 Jan 2024 - collection rehoused and inventory updated (DTF)
Inventory
| Filmstrips | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Tumbra of Africa - with printed guide | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Congo 1938 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Early Congo mission 1897-1906 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Old Congo 1928, 1938 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | African faces | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Congo life 1921 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Congo Methodist mission | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Early Congo mission | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Joseph Clark's prints 1928-1929 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Liberia 1938 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Nigeria, Southern Rhodesia 1938 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Southern Rhodesia 1938 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Ubangi River, Congo circa 1916 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | West African coast 1938 | ||||||||||