Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Colette Roberts Artist Interviews

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Roberts, Colette, 1910-1971.
Title: Colette Roberts Artist Interviews
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1969
Quantity: 37 tapes.
Abstract: Papers of the American art critic, gallery director.Born in Paris, France, died 1971. Director of Grand Central Moderns (N.Y.), 1952-1968. Collection consists of taped interviews with Will Barnet, Nell Blaine, Victor Candell, Giorgio Cavallon, pianist George Copeland, Ben Cunningham, Fielding Dawson, Marcel Duchamp, Adolph Gottlieb, José Guerrero, Stanley William Hayter, John Hultberg, Jennett Lam, Charlotte Lichtblau, Roy Lichtenstein, Richard Lindner, Robert Mallary, Leo Manso, Ezio Martinelli, Seong Moy, Norman Narotzky, Louise Nevelson, Betty Parsons, Bernard Pfriem, Abraham Rattner, Man Ray, Robert Reid, Ralph Rosenborg, Jason Seley, William Soles, Hyde Solomon, Hedda Sterne, and Reuben Tam.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Colette Jacqueline Roberts (1910-1971) was a French-born artist, teacher, critic and gallery director. Born in Paris, she studied at the École du Louvre, the Academy Ranson, and the Institut d’Art et Archéologie. She moved to the United States during World War II and became a U.S. citizen shortly thereafter, becoming an active part of the New York art world. In addition to her own work, she wrote and lectured on modern art and fostered cultural exchange efforts between her native and adopted countries. As gallery director of the Grand Central Moderns, she gave many unknown artists their first major exposure (among them sculptor Louise Nevelson). In 1960, Roberts received the Palmes Académiques award from the French government for her work as chair of the French section of the American Red Cross, and she was a writer-in-residence at the MacDowell Colony.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colette Roberts Artist Interviews consists of thirty-seven interviews with notable artists, among them Will Barnet, Victor Candell, Ezio Martinelli, Louise Nevelson, Man Ray, Hedda Sterne and Reuben Tam.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order. All interviews consists of a single tape unless otherwise noted.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Researcher access to the tapes requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All interviews have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Special Collections Research Center has substantial holdings related to art and artists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barnet, Will, 1911-2012.
Blaine, Nell, 1922-1996.
Candell, Victor.
Cavallon, Giorgio.
Copeland, George, 1882-1971.
Cunningham, Ben, 1904-1975.
Dawson, Fielding, 1930-2002.
Duchamp, Marcel, 1887-1968.
Gottlieb, Adolph, 1903-1974.
Guerrero, José, 1914-1991.
Hayter, Stanley William, 1901-1988.
Hultberg, John.
Lam, Jennett, 1911-
Lichtblau, Charlotte, 1925-
Lichtenstein, Roy, 1923-1997.
Lindner, Richard, 1901-1978.
Mallary, Robert, 1917-
Man Ray, 1890-1976.
Manso, Leo, 1914-1993.
Moy, Seong.
Narotzky, Norman, 1928-
Nevelson, Louise, 1899-1988.
Parsons, Betty.
Rattner, Abraham.
Roberts, Colette, 1910-1971.
Rosenborg, Ralph.
Seley, Jason, 1919-
Solomon, Hyde, 1911-
Sterne, Hedda, 1916-2011.
Tam, Reuben.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Artists -- Interviews.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Women art critics -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Interviews.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

Art critics.
Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colette Roberts Artist Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1980
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 25 Sep 2014 - id numbers added to recordings (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All interviews have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Interviews
Abraham Rattner (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_030)
Adolph Gottlieb and John Hultberg fall 1965, spring 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_012)
Ben Cunningham March 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_006)
Bernard Pfriem and Jason Seley fall 1965 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_029)
Betty Parsons Part 1 and 2 1967 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_028)
Colette Roberts interviews Hedda Sterne (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_036)
Excerpts of Lecture at the Museum of Modern Art on Louise Nevelson and Stanley William Hayten interview in his studio at Rue Boissonade, Paris (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_014)
Ezio Martinelli Part 1, and Seong Moy spring 1966, fall 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_025)
Ezio Martinelli part 2 spring 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_024)
George Copeland and Louise Nelvelson with N.Y.U. 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: robers_c_005)
Giorgio Cavallon (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_004)
Hyde Solomon (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_035)
Jennett Lam, N.Y.U. spring 1969 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_016)
John Day represented Whitney Museum of Modern Art, etc. spring 1969 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_009)
John Day 1965 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_008)
John Hultberg spring 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_015)
Kansas City Art Institute. Jose Guerrero, and Leo Manso December 1964; 1965 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_013)
Louise Nevelson: Meet The Artist May 19, 1967 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_027)
Man Ray 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_031)
Marcel Duchamp (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_011)
Nell Blaine, Will Barnet May 1969, November 1969 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_002)
Norman Narotzky (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_026)
Ralph Rosenborg, N.Y.U. (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_033)
Reuben Tam and Leo Manso December 1964 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_023)
Richard Lindner part 1 spring 1965 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_020)
Richard Lindner Part 2; broadcast WNYC spring 1965 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_021)
Riverside Radio Roundtable #50: "The Artist: Public Face, Private Face" with Colette Roberts, Charlotte Lichtblau, and Fielding Dawson. Cyril Peters moderates January 1968 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_007)
Robert Mallary; 465 Browne St. New Rochelle, NY. (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_022)
Robert Reid fall 1968 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_032)
Roy Lichtenstein Part 2 spring 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_019)
Roy Lichtenstein part one. Done by Lessei - a part missing (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_017)
Roy Lichtenstein track 1 retake spring 1966 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_018)
Stanford Williams (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_037)
Victor Candell: Meet the Artist Course, NYC february 1969 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_003)
Will Barnet: Meet the Artist fall 1967 (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_001)
William Soles (1/4"reel tape) (ID#: roberts_c_034)

Return to top