Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jack Robbins Collection Relating to James T. Farrell

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Robbins, Jack Alan.
Title: Jack Robbins Collection Relating to James T. Farrell
Inclusive Dates: 1973-1977
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of material relating to the American author. Collection includes correspondence, memorabilia, and writings by Farrell and by Robbins about Farrell.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James T. Farrell (1904-1979) was an Irish-American novelist, short story writer, journalist, travel writer, poet, and literary critic. Born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, he attended the University of Chicago and published his first short story in 1929. He is best known for his Studs Lonigan trilogy and for his A note on Literary Criticism, in which he described two types of the American Marxist character.

Jack Alan Robbins is the editor of Granville Hicks in the New masses (1974) and James T. Farrell: Literary Essays 1954-74 (1976), among other works.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack Robbins Collection Relating to James T. Farrell consist of correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Correspondence is primarily between Jack Robbins and others, in particulr Kennikat Press, who was publishing an anthology of Farrell's essays of which Robbins was the editor. Memorabilia consists mostly of clippings. Writings contains reprints of pieces by Farrell, and typescript drafts and notes of Farrell's introduction to the anthology.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, all other series alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.
Robbins, Jack Alan.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James T. Farrell Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jack Robbins.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Feb 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 General 1973-1976 - most is between Robbins and others, and pertains to the anthology of Farrell's essays for which Robbins was the editor
Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings about 1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 "Salute To James R. Farrell" 1976
Writings
Box 1 By Farrell 1973-1974 - reprints
An American Tragedy: A 50th anniversary / Dreiser's Tragedy: The distortion of American values, 1973
Ernest Hemingway (2 copies)
Joshua, The Southern Review, Summer 1974
Box 1 By Robbins, about Farrell undated - typescripts; several appear to relate to a collection of Farrell's essays published by Kennikat Press

Return to top