Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Halsey A. Rhodes Diary

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rhodes, Halsey A.
Title: Halsey A. Rhodes Diary
Inclusive Dates: 1863
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the Civil War soldier. Diary kept while Rhodes was a member of Company H, New York Volunteers, 50th Engineers Regiment.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Halsey A. Rhodes (fl. 1863) was an American soldier who served with the Union army during the U.S. Civil War. Rhodes was a Private with Company H of the 50th Engineers Regiment of New York Volunteers. Little is known about Rhodes. His unit was originally organized in Elmira, New York on September 18, 1861. On October 22, 1861, the regiment became the 50th New York Engineers and was detailed as sappers, miners and pontooners.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Halsey A. Rhodes Diary is a single bound volume written by Rhodes while he was a member of Company H, New York Volunteers, 50th Engineers Regiment during the U.S. Civil War. The front of the diary contains an almanac for the year, while the back of the volume contains a cash account ledger. Included with the diary is a photocopy of the 180-page volume.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rhodes, Halsey A.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States. Army. New York Volunteers, 50th.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Halsey A. Rhodes Diary
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 16 Jan 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 279 Diary 1863 - includes a photocopy of the volume (180 pages)

Return to top