Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Railroad Stock Certificates

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Railroad Stock Certificates
Inclusive Dates: circa 1826-1968
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Stock and bond certificates from branches of the New York Central Railroad.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New York Central Railroad was formed in 1853 by the merger of ten smaller regional railroads, under the encouragement of industrialist and Mohawk Valley Railroad owner Erastus Corning. The ten railroads were:

• Albany and Schenectady Railroad
• Utica and Schenectady Railroad
• Syracuse and Utica Railroad
• Rochester and Syracuse Railroad
• Buffalo and Rochester Railroad
• Schenectady and Troy Railroad, a branch from Schenectady east to Troy
• Rochester, Lockport and Niagara Falls Railroad, a major branch from Rochester west to Niagara Falls
• Buffalo and Lockport Railroad
• Mohawk Valley Railroad
• Syracuse and Utica Direct Railroad

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Railroad Stock Certificates collection consists of stock and bond certificates from branches of the New York Central Railroad.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to local and regional railroads in the northeastern United States, including some related directly to the New York Central. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York Central Railroad Company.

Subjects

Railroads -- Finance.
Railroads -- New York (State)
Railroads -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Bonds (negotiable instruments)
Stock certificates.

Occupations

Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Railroad Stock Certificates,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Portions gift of George LaBarre Galleries, 1998.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top