Rudyard Kipling Collection
Special Collections Research Center
Syracuse University Library
Syracuse, NY 13244
Correspondence FormA Note to Researchers
SCRC revises and updates its finding aids from time to time. To be sure that you are working with the most current version, please check with our reference staff by using our correspondence forms (see above), writing to scrc@syr.edu, or calling (315) 443-2697.
This file was last modified on: September 22, 2003 01:07 PM
DESCRIPTION:
The Rudyard Kipling Collection comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the British author (1865-1936) as well as Kipling research materials and Kiplingiana from a number of private collectors.
Spanning 1889 through 1961, Correspondence, totaling over 950 items (more than 750 authored by Kipling), includes incoming and outgoing Kipling letters as well as third-party correspondence pertaining to Kipling. Arranged chronologically, Kipling Letters - Outgoing (Boxes 1-13) and Kipling Letters - Incoming (Box 13) are further delineated by type and recipient or author. Third-Party Correspondence (Boxes 14-15) is arranged alphabetically by author, and additionally described by recipient, date, and item type. The preponderance of third-party correspondence comprises the letters of Mrs. Caroline Kipling and secretaries, Sara Anderson and Mary E. Walford, which relate to both Kipling's business concerns and the couple's personal affairs. Correspondence of greatest depth and duration includes that with Lady Edward Cecil (Lady Alfred Milner after 1917), and neighbor Henry Wymyss Feilden.
Writings (Boxes 16-19) include holographic and/or typed manuscripts and published versions of Kipling's prose, speeches, verse and dramatic works as well as production records, notes, and miscellany. The numbers following items in this section refer to those assigned by Barbara Rosenbaum in the Index of English Literary Manuscripts (London; New York: Mansell, c1990, Vol. 4, pt. 2).
Memorabilia (Boxes 19-23) consists of legal material, photographs, portraits and caricatures, printed materials, writings by others, and miscellany. Legal documents comprise Kipling's will and papers concerning the Estate of Cecil John Rhodes. Printed materials consist of books owned by Kipling, clippings, and miscellaneous catalogues, programs and pamphlets. Arranged by title, writings by others include holograph and/or typescript manuscripts and published articles, mostly about Kipling. Miscellany contains Kipling artifacts (dried flowers, his broken pipe, his typewriter, and a sheet of his stationery); pen and ink sketches by Kipling; and various scrapbooks.
Also included are three small collections of Kipling material formerly in the possession of McClures', E. W. Martindell, and Alan D. Wilson. McClures' Material (Boxes 23-24) comprises correspondence primarily of H. H. McClure and S. S. McClure with and about Kipling and the publishing company, writings, and memorabilia (clippings, photographs, and miscellany). The E. W. Martindell Collection (Box 24) consists of correspondence between Martindell and fellow collector W. A. Kirkman; writings (typescript copies of 29 uncollected and unverified Kipling verses); and memorabilia, mostly clippings about Kipling. The Alan D. Wilson Collection (Boxes 24-25) includes correspondence about Kipling and Mark Twain, writings about Kipling, and memorabilia (an account book belonging to Wilson and dealer catalogues listing Kipling and Twain items).
In addition, many published Kipling works and Kipling reference materials are located in Special Collections.
Inclusive dates: 1880-1964
Size of collection: 16.5 linear ft.
INVENTORY:
Box 1 Correspondence Rudyard Kipling Letters - Outgoing Date Type Recipient Ja 1889 ALS Mr. G. Hooper [1890] ALS Elizabeth Bisland [1890?] ALS William Ernest Henley [1890?] ALS William Ernest Henley Mr 2 1890 ALS Mr. A. P. Watt Mr 4 1890 ALS Fitzroy Bell Mr 5 1890 ALS Fitzroy Bell Mr 11 1890 ALS Fitzroy Bell My? 1890 ALS Agnes Macdonald Poynter My 17 1890 ALS [ ] Jilbert Je 12 1890 ALS [ ] Ag 13 1890 ALS A. P. Watt D 6 1890 ALS Edmund Gosse Ap 30 1891 ALS [ ] My 14 1891 ALS Norman McColl Ag 1891 ALS Lady Pollock Ag 12 1891 ALS [Fitzroy] Bell D 5 1891 ALS John S. Lee Ja 18 1892 ALS William Ernest Henley Ja 30 1892 ALS Mrs. Sington F 9 1892 ALS Mrs. Sington S 25 1892 ALS Mr. Gilder N 10 1892 ALS Richard Harding Davis Mr 19 1893 ALS D. Appleton & Co. My 22 1893 ALS W. J. Bok Je 22 1893 ALS [Herbert] Stephen Jl 21 1893 ALS Association of American Authors Jl 23 1893 ALS Youth's Companion O 5 1893 ALS Guy Newell Boothby O 24 1893 ALS Miss E. M. Willard D 10 1893 ALS Corpl. J. H. Cooke D 10 1893 ALS S. McClure D 10 1893 ALS Edward Lucas White [1894] ALS Elliott & Fry Mr 9 1894 ALS Mr. [Frank Hall] Scott Je 4 1894 ALS J. Stuart Ag 17 1894 ALS Scribner's Magazine Ag 21 1894 ALS [Edward L. Burlingame] Ag 24 1894 ALS Mary Mapes Dodge Ag 27 1894 ALS T. Fisher Unman S 2 1894 ALS Mary Mapes Dodge S 6 1894 ALS Mary Mapes Dodge [S 22 1894?] ALS Mary Mapes Dodge N 16 1894 ALS E. M. Camp N 16 1894 ALS Mrs. Sington D 4 1894 ALS D. O. Melville D 12 1894 ALS George W. Melville ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 2 Ap 3 1895 ALS Charles Eliot Norton Ap 10 1895 ALS Mr. [J. L.] Nourse Je 14 1895 ALS Paul Wyatt Jl 24 1895 ALS Paul Wyatt Jl 29 1895 ALS Paul Wyatt S 24 1895 ALS Messrs Smith & Winchester N 23 1895 ALS W. Hallett Phillips D 22 1895 ALS Miss Conant Mr 14 1896 ALS Robert Barr Ap 7 1896 ALS Alan D. Wilson My 10 1896 ALS Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum My 27 1896 ALS [ ] My 31 1896 ALS Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum Jl 28 1896 ALS Reuben Best Co. Ag 24 1896 ALS H. H. McClure O 29 1896 ALS Edith Nesbit Bland N 2 1896 ALS Robert Barr N 7 1896 ALS Robert Barr N 8 1896 ALS Mrs. Sington [Ja 24 1897] ALS H. Mineloz Mr 1 1897 ALS Mary Mapes Dodge [My 20 1897] ALS William A. Fraser [May/Je] 1897 ALS Mr. Adee Je 23 1897 ALS George Allen Ag 22 1897 ALS Mrs. George E. Buckle [Late Ag 1897]ALS Miss Blogg S 10 1897 ALS copy [Edward] Burlingame D 2 1897 ALS George E. Buckle D 2 1897 ALS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 3 Ja 20 1898 ALS Bruno Lessing My 20 1898 ALS Mr. Spearing Jl 11 1898 ACS W. Woods Jl 23 1898 ALS Walter Besant Ag 14 1898 ALS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. S 23 1898 ACS Frank Bullen [Oct] 1898 ALS Frank Bullen N 11 1898 ALS Frank Bullen N 12 1898 ACS Mrs. Sington N 25 1898 ALS Frank Bullen D 5 1898 ALS Mrs. [ ] D 6 1898 ACS Mrs. Armitage n.d. 1899 ALS Copeland Kell [1899?] telegram H. H. McClure ca. 1899 ALS Mr. [ ] n.d. 1899 telegram H. H. McClure (signed "Doubleday") n.d. 1899 telegram H. H. McClure (signed "S. S. McClure") Ja 19 1899 ALS Mrs. Sington F 6 1899 ALS Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum F 13 1899 ALS Arthur Brentano - Brentanos F 18 1899 ALS H. H. McClure Mr-Ap 1899 ALS(draft) [The Press] S 19 1899 ALS The New York Press S 22 1899 ALS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. O 19 1899 ALS [Vernon Blackburn?] N 29 1899 ALS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. D 23 1899 ACS Caspar Whitney D 29 1899 ACS Mrs. Trotter Ja 1 1900 ACS Mr. and Mrs. Frederick W. Childs Ja 2 1900 ALS H. H. McClure My 28 1900 ACS W. French Je 21 1900 ACS [Sir Frederick James Mirrielees] Je 21 1900 ACS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. Ag 20 1900 ALS C. W. N. Rolfe Ag 24 1900 ALS C. W. N. Rolfe S 21 1900 ALS J. Watson O 16 1900 ALS Sir Henry Fletcher O 30 1900 ALS Augustus Gurlitz N 4 1900 ALS C. W. N. Rolfe Ja 24 1901 ALS [ ] Heathcote Ap 16 1901 ALS A. E. Wayt My 16 1901 ALS Mr. Walker My 19 1901 ALS A. E. Wayt My 23 1901 ALS Augustus Gurlitz My 24 1901 copy H. H. McClure My 30 1901 ALS H. H. McClure My 30 1901 ALS Mr. Walker Je 13 1901 ALS Augustus Gurlitz Je 29 1901 TLS,ALS Augustus Gurlitz Je 29 1901 ALS Mr. Walker Jl 1 1901 ALS John S. Arkwright Ag 8 1901 ALS [ ] Ag 14 1901 ALS Mr. Walker Ag 21 1901 ALS Miss Maury S 1 1901 ALS Bruce M. Falconer S 21 1901 ALS G. Matheson N 16 1901 ALS Mrs. Guthrie D 4 1901 ALS Guy Newell Boothby D 14 1901 TLS [ ] Rutter Mr 23 1902 ALS Capt. Morton Riter Ap 16 1902 ALS A. E. Wayt Je 6 1902 ALS George E. Buckle Jl 17 1902 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Jl 23 1902 ALS Edward William Bok Ag 16 1902 ALS J. Smith Ag 21 1902 ALS W. J. Smith S 24 1902 ALS Lady Edward Cecil S 25 1902 ALS Mr. Matheson S 29 1902 TLS Lady Edward Cecil O 8 1902 ALS Lady Edward Cecil O 19 1902 ALS Ambrose Poynter N 3 1902 TLS F. E. James N 15 1902 ALS Lady Edward Cecil D 3 1902 ALS Mrs. Sington ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 4 My 13 1903 ALS W. J. Smith Jl 9 1903 ALS Mrs. Sington Ag 16 1903 ALS Augustus Gurlitz S 22 1903 TLS copy Leigh Canney D 7 1903 ALS Mrs. Trotter D 11 1903 ALS A. B. Filson Young Mr 22 1904 ALS A. B. Filson Young Jl 16 1904 ALS Mr. [Alfred J. Warne] Browne S 29 1904 ALS Edward William Bok O 10 1904 ALS Mr. Leonard O 25 1904 ALS [ ] N 22 1904 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden N 22 1904 ALS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. N 24 1904 ALS W. J. Smith N 27 1904 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris N 28 1904 ALS A. B. Filson Young N 29 1904 ALS Mr. Smith Ja 3 1905 ALS Edward William Bok F 21 1905 ALS George Baldwin My 9 1905 ALS R. Malleson My 22 1905 ALS Mr. Leonard Je 21 1905 ALS Edward Noble Jl 5 1905 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Jl 28 1905 ALS Edward William Bok Ag 26 1905 ALS Edward William Bok O 4 1905 ALS Mr. Tomalin N 15 1905 ALS Mrs. Nesbitt D 4 1905 ALS Edward William Bok D 16 1905 ALS Mrs. Frank N. Doubleday D 16 1905 ACS A. Sutherland-Harris D 21 1905 ALS [Albert] Hunt D 21 1905 ALS Sir Algernon Methuen F 14 1906 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 22 1906 ALS E. Elliott Frost Mr 27 [1906] ALS George Baldwin My 15 1906 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Jl 4 1906 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Jl 24 1906 ALS Mr. Cope S 20 1906 TLS Reginald Haines O 14 1906 ALS [Charles] Scribner [N 1906] ACS Claude Flight N 13 1906 ALS Claude Flight N 23 1906 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 10 1906 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Mr 27 1907 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden My 3 1907 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Je 17 1907 ACS Edward William Bok Jl 18 1907 ACS Mrs. T. J. B. Nicholson Ag 23 1907 ACS H. H. McClure Ag 23 1907 APCS J. Watson S 12 1907 ALS Henry Pegram O 1907 ALS H. H. McClure O 12 1907 ALS T. Sothern Holland N 9 1907 ALS Douglas Murray N 9 1907 ACS A. Sutherland-Harris N 26 1907 ALS Mrs. Sington D 17 1907 ACS Henry Pegram ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 5 Sun. 1908 ANS Lady Edward Cecil Ja 21 1908 ALS Mr. Garlick F 16 1908 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 11 1908 ALS Mrs. Armitage Mr 11 1908 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ap 8 1908 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden My 25 1908 ALS Lady Edward Cecil My 30 1908 ALS Claude Flight Je 23 1908 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Je 30 1908 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Jl 4 1908 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Jl 8 1908 ANS Lady Edward Cecil Jl 14 1908 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Jl 30 1908 ALS [Stephen William] Black Ag 4 1908 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ag 12 1908 ALS [Mr.] Leonard [Ag 18] 1908 ALS Mrs. Leonard O 8 1908 ALS [ ] O 14 1908 ALS Mr. Leonard O 17 1908 TLS A. J. Connabeer O 29 1908 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris N 17 1908 ALS Mr. Brand N 20 1908 TLS Edward William Bok N 26 1908 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris D 2 1908 ANS Lady Edward Cecil D 21 [1908?] ALS A. Sutherland-Harris D 26 1908 ACS Sir Algernon Methuen Ja 10 1909 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ja 29 1909 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden [Mr 1909] ANS James Rennell Rodd Mr 4 1909 ALS James Rennell Rodd Mr 9 1909 ANS James Rennell Rodd Ap 2 1909 ACS James Rennell Rodd Ap 6 1909 ALS Fred Runtree [Ap 7 1909] ACS Lady James Rodd Ap 11 1909 ALS Lady James Rodd My 7 1909 ALS William Earl Hodgson Je 3 1909 ACS Scottish Provident Institute Je 10 1909 TLS Claude Flight Jl 13 1909 ACS Ian D. Colvin Ag 2 1909 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Ag 24 1909 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ag 30 1909 ALS Joseph Jacobs S 7 1909 TLS Mrs. Lucy Pearson S 9 1909 ALS A. Selwyn Bruce S 30 1909 ACS A. Selwyn Bruce O 29 1909 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden N 12 1909 TLS Thomas Seccombe [D 1909] ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 30 1909 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden [1910] AL copy Mr. Shee of National Service League Ja 15 1910 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ja 22 1910 ALS Edward William Bok Ja 22 1910 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ja 27 1910 ALS Major C. F. Massey F 3 1910 ALS C. W. N. Rolfe F 8 1910 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden [Mr] 1910 ALS Miss Maggie Hooper Jl 12 1910 AL [Mr. Shee, of Nat'l Service League] Ag 2 1910 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ag 27 1910 ALS Mr. Paine S 7 1910 ALS Mr. Leonard O 22 [1910?] ALS Major Chapman N 9 1910 ALS Ethel Rolt Wheeler N 24 1910 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden N 30 1910 ALS Douglas Sladen D 11 1910 ALS J. Porter Watson D 12 1910 ALS J. Porter Watson ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 6 [Ja 1911] ALS Edward William Bok F 15 1911 ALS Sher Mohommed F 23 1911 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 6 1911 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 15 1911 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ap 7 1911 ALS Herman Moroney see also Kipling Writings - Miscellany - Touring report Ap 12 1911 TLS Legal & Commercial Ins. My 11 1911 ANS Lord Alfred Milner My 12 1911 TLS Miss Ensor Je 12 1911 ACS Ralph David Blumenfeld Jl 21 1911 ACS Sir Bertrand Dawson S 23 1911 copy Lord Alfred Milner O 8 1911 ALS Lady Edward Cecil O 11 1911 ALS Watson [ ] O 14 1911 ACS A. Sutherland-Harris O 16 1911 ALS Ian D. Colvin O 20 1911 ALS [ ] Trotter O 22 1911 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden O 24 1911 TLS G. Marconi N 13 1911 ALS Edward William Bok N 23 1911 TLS Arthur Poyser D 4 1911 ALS Edward William Bok D 4 1911 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 10 1911 ALS Lady Edward Cecil D 11 1911 ALS J. Porter Watson (missing Nov. 1992) F 8 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden [Mr 5 1912] ANS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 9 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 12 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 12 1912 ALS Stephen Paget Mr 13 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 16 1912 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Mr 16 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 24 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 28 1912 ACS S. L. Bensusan Mr 28 1912 ALS Ian D. Colvin Mr 28 1912 ALS Moreton Frewen Mr 29 1912 TLS R. M. [sic] Underwood Johnson Ap 9 1912 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ap 10 1912 TLS W. J. Harding Ap 17 1912 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Jl 11 1912 ALS Douglas Sladen S 21 1912 ALS Mrs. Black S 24 1912 APCS Lord Blyth N 2 1912 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris N 12 1912 TLS W. Smither D 2 1912 ACS [General John Barton Sterling] Ja 4 1913 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 14 1913 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ap 3 1913 ALS Mr. Vedrenne Ap 9 1913 TLS C. Bowyer Vaux Ap 14 1913 TLS George Baldwin Ap 25 1913 ANS Lady Edward Cecil My 10 1913 TLS Mr. Vedrenne Je 12 1913 ACS Ian D. Colvin Je 23 1913 TNS R. W. K. Edwards Jl 23 1913 TLS R. W. K. Edwards Ag 15 1913 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Ag 15 1913 TLS R. W. K. Edwards Ag 23 1913 ANS Anthony Belt S 10 1913 ALS Hugh Poynter O 1 1913 ANS Sir Algernon Methuen O 28 1913 TLS S. L. Bensusan N 1 1913 ACS Dr. Curteis N 5 1913 TLS Rev. T. Dixon-Spain D 9 1913 TLS [ ] Loraine D 15 1913 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 25 1913 ALS Mrs. Edward William Bok D 25 1913 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 26 1913 ALS Roger Cherry-Garrard ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 7 Ja 10 1914 ALS Dr. Curteis [F 23 1914] ALS Lord Alfred Milner Mr 6 1914 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden My 20 1914 ACS Frank Bullen My 28 1914 TLS M. J. F. McCarthy Jl 7 1914 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Jl 22 1914 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Ag 4 1914 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ag 7 1914 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden S 18 1914 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden O 28 1914 TLS Edward William Bok N 6 1914 TLS Herbert B. Swope N 12 1914 TLS Edward William Bok N 12 1914 TLS Moreton Frewen N 19 1914 TLS Frank Rosher N 27 1914 TLS Mr. Hargreaves D 5 1914 TLS Edward William Bok Ja 4 1915 ALS Edward William Bok F 7 1915 ALS L. Hodson Ap 3 1915 ALS Captain Huth My 13 1915 ALS [ ] Trotter My 17 1915 ACS Lady Walker Je 30 1915 TLS H. H. McClure N 11 1915 TLS Private [ ] Perry N 15 1915 TLS Private [ ] Perry N 16 1915 TLS Captain a Becket D 9 1915 ALS Lady Edward Cecil D 15 1915 ALS Lady James Rodd F 13 1916 ALS [Dear Sir] Mr 16 1916 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Mr 24 1916 ALS Leon Berthout My 5 1916 ALS Ian D. Colvin My 10 1916 TNS P. M. Alden My 28 1916 ALS Lady Edward Cecil My 29 1916 TLS Miss M. Nott Je 7 1916 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Je 22 1916 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Ag 10 1916 ALS Mr. Barnett Ag 17 1916 ACS [ ] Trotter S 27 1916 TNS E. Capel Cure O 5 1916 TLS Ian D. Colvin O 6 1916 ALS Mrs. Sington N 9 1916 TNS Rev. G. Thompson D 28 1916 ANS Charles Wakefield Ja 26 1917 ALS Mr. Gill Mr 28 1917 ALS James Rennell Rodd Ap 12 1917 ALS Israel Gollancz My 7 1917 ALS James Rennell Rodd Je 4 1917 ALS Captain F. Monroe Je 10 1917 ALS Lady Edward Cecil Jl 22 1917 ALS C. V. Burne Jl 28 1917 TLS Edwin Unwin Ag 16 1917 ALS Colonel Sitwell Ag 17 1917 ALS Ian D. Colvin S 4 1917 ALS Mr. Chappell S 30 1917 ALS Ian D. Colvin N 12 1917 ACS Sir James Dunlop Smith ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 8 [Ja? 1918] ALS Ellery Sedgwick F 1 1918 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden F 7 1918 ANS Henry Wymyss Feilden F 23 1918 ALS Mr. [Allen] Ramsay Mr 8 1918 ALS [ ] Chappell Ap 27 1918 ACS Ralph David Blumenfeld My 18 1918 ALS Lord Alfred Milner Jl 2 1918 ALS Ian D. Colvin Jl 24 1918 ALS Moreton Frewen Ag 3 1918 ALS Geroge Robert Parkin Ag 31 1918 ALS Lord Blyth S 21 1918 ALS Edward William Bok O 30 1918 ALS Lord Sydenham N 6 1918 ALS Miss Jefferson D 13 1918 ALS P. N. Edmonds Ja 7 1919 ALS Thomas Edward Lawrence F 21 1919 ALS [ ] Gilmour Mr 14 1919 TLS Gerald Furlong Ap 30 1919 TLS Sir Fleetwood Wilson Ag 27 1919 TLS Mr. Smith S 13 1919 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden O 8 1919 ALS Thomas Edward Lawrence Ja 5 1920 ALS Ian D. Colvin Ja 24 1920 TLS Edward William Bok F 20 1920 ALS R. A. Blankenberg Mr 13 1920 ALS [ ] Trotter Ap 26 1920 TLS H. H. McClure Ap 29 1920 TLS C. Denham Jenkins My 4 1920 ALS Sir Roger Keyes My 6 1920 ALS Sir Roger Keyes My 11 1920 ACS C. Denham Jenkins My 17 1920 TLS W. J. Kaye Jl 9 1920 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden S 27 1920 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris O 11 1920 ALS Lord Blyth N 8 1920 ALS Mrs. George Adam N 26 1920 ALS Mrs. Sington N 29 1920 ALS Mrs. Sington Ja 5 1921 TLS J. E. Hodgson F 20 1921 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 5 1921 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Mr 27 1921 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden Ap 18 1921 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden My 7 1921 TLS L. Hodson Je 16 1921 TLS Lord Alfred Milner [S? 1921] ALS [ ] Trevor-Battye S 20 1921 ALS [ ] Trevor-Battye S 28 1921 ACS Mrs. Sington O 6 1921 TLS Geoffrey Boothby O 11 1921 TLS Geoffrey Boothby N 1 1921 TLS Ian D. Colvin N 22 1921 ALS "Grandande" [?] N 25 1921 ALS Mrs. Sington Ja 2 1922 ALS Lady Alfred Milner Ja 12 1922 ALS M. Legorcis F 13 1922 TLS Sir Sidney Low F 23 1922 TLS Randolph Lewis Ap 29 1922 ALS Peter Charles Larkin Je 1 1922 ALS Lady Ida Margaret Poore Je 2 1922 ALS Miss M. M. Smith Je 7 1922 ALS Ian D. Colvin Je 8 1922 TLS Arthur Lyons Jl 17 1922 ALS Mrs. Sington Jl 20 1922 TLS Thomas Edward Lawrence Jl 25 1922 TLS Thomas Edward Lawrence S 22 1922 TLS Charles P. Johnson O 1 1922 ALS Lady [ ] Clark O 5 1922 TLS Sub. Lt. H. A. Hunting O 12 1922 TLS Mr. J. Cushing N 3 1922 TLS Captain J. H. Beith ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 9 Ja 15 1923 TLS T. W. E. Moreton F 24 1923 TLS Mayor of Bath F 26 1923 ALS W. Somerset Maugham Mr 24 1923 TLS "Fiennes" [ ] Ap 19 1923 TLS Albert E. Montague My 26 1923 TLS "Fiennes" [ ] Je 19 1923 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Jl 3 1923 ALS James Rennell Rodd S 13 1923 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris S 14 1923 TLS J. L. Paton O 4 1923 TLS [ ] O 27 1923 ALS James George Frazer N 12 1923 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris N 13 1923 TLS T. W. E. Moreton N 19 1923 TLS Edward William Bok D 10 1923 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Ja 5 1924 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Mr 22 1924 TLS Edward William Bok My 3 1924 ALS Lady Alfred Milner My 7 1924 TLS A. Patterson Webb Je 11 1924 ALS Mrs. Sington Je 18 1924 TLS Ursula Stanley Je 24 1924 TLS James Rennell Rodd Jl 1 1924 TLS James Rennell Rodd Jl 14 1924 TLS A. E. Wayt Jl 21 1924 TLS Mrs. A. F. Trotter Ag 22 1924 ALS Lord Dufferin Ag 22 1924 ALS Captain R. F. Gaviland Mahon S 23 1924 ALS L. Reynolds O 17 1924 TLS Mrs. Le Blond N 8 1924 TNS Miss A. T. Foster D 3 1924 TLS Charles G. Mortimer D 13 1924 TLS James Van Allen Shields Ja 13 1925 ALS Emily Caroline Methuen F 4 1925 ALS Edward William Bok My 8 1925 ALS Richard Bentley My 12 1925 ALS [Roger Keyes?] My 24 1925 ALS Mrs. Sington Jl 7 1925 ALS Sir Roger Keyes Jl 8 1925 ALS Col. W. P. Drury Jl 22 1925 ALS [ ] Martyn-Linnington Jl 22 1925 ALS Lady Alfred Milner Ag 12 1925 TLS Jonathan Watson S 15 1925 ANS Creighton [ ] O 21 1925 ALS Lady Alfred Milner O 27 1925 TLS J. G. Gubbins N 9 1925 ALS Mr. Medley N 18 1925 ALS A. S. Frere-Reeves My 21 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner My 28 1926 ALS Mrs. Heron-Maxwell Je 7 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner Je 12 1926 TLS P. M. Walker Je 14 1926 TLS F. L. Minnigerode Je 26 1926 TLS S. L. Bensusan Je 30 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner Jl 13 1926 TLS Mrs. Hartley Clark Ag 26 1926 ALS Dr. Curteis Ag 30 1926 ALS Dr. Curteis S 16 1926 TLS Mrs. George Adam S 23 1926 ALS Plunket Barton S 26 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner O 4 1926 TLS Lady Alfred Milner O 7 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner O 18 1926 TLS Stephen Tallents O 19 1926 ALS Major Hartley Clark N 8 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner N 14 1926 ALS Lady Alfred Milner N 17 1926 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris N 23 1926 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris D 8 1926 TLS Charles G. Mortimer Ja 7 1927 TLS Ursula & Jane Stanley Ja 19 1927 TLS [ ] Levy Ja 22 1927 ALS Earl Beauchamp Mr 14 1927 ALS Senor Villares Je 6 1927 TLS T. W. E. Moreton (missing Nov. 1992) Jl 5 1927 TLS T. W. E. Moreton Jl 7 1927 TLS Mrs. George Adam Ag 4 1927 TLS J. C. Squire Ag 5 1927 TLS John Bennion Booth S 12 1927 TLS Mrs. George Adam O 10 1927 TLS Stephen Tallents O 27 1927 TLS Mr. Swezey O 31 1927 TL M. P. Klingel N 8 1927 TLS Mrs. George Adam N 19 1927 TLS Stephen Tallents D 12 1927 TLS Mr. Boothby D 21 1927 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 10 Ja 14 1928 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Ja 17 1928 TNS Dr. Curteis Ap 7 1928 ALS Sir Roger Keyes My 9 1928 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford (missing 11/92) My 23 1928 ALS Lady Alfred Milner My 27 1928 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris [Je? 1928] TLS Harry Perry Robinson Je 4 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Je 8 1928 TLS [Ursula] Stanley Je 11 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Je 21 1928 ALS Dr. Curteis Je 25 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Je 26 1928 TLS Stephen Tallents Jl 6 1928 TLS S. L. Bensusan Jl 6 1928 TLS Peter Charles Larkin Jl 21 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Ag 1 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Ag 13 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson Ag 24 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson S 1 1928 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves S 4 1928 TLS Walter R. Lawrence, bart. S 4 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson S 29 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson O 24 1928 TLS General G. S. Heard O 29 1928 TLS A. Hunt O 30 1928 TLS Harry Perry Robinson N 23 1928 TLS Alan D. Wilson D 6 1928 TNS Mr. Wynne D 19 1928 TLS Lady Alfred Milner Ja 24 1929 ALS A. S. Frere-Reeves Ja 26 1929 ALS John W. Frost Mr 6 1929 ACS Jean, John & Peter Rochy Mr 14 1929 ACS Ursula Stanley Ap 3 1929 ALS R. Kett Ap 16 1929 ALS [ ] Watson Je 14 1929 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Je 27 1929 TLS S. L. Bensusan Jl 17 1929 TLS George Adam O 21 1929 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris D 9 1929 TLS Mrs. George Adam Ja 19 1930 ALS Stephen Tallents Ja 27 1930 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Ja 29 1930 ALS A. S. Frere-Reeves F 2 1930 TLS Mr. Cigolini Mr 10 1930 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Mr 18 1930 ALS Captain J. M. Reith Mr 30 1930 ACS Mary Elizabeth Walford Ap 7 1930 ALS Mr. Cigolini Ap 13 1930 TLS Mrs. Rogers Ap 29 1930 ALS Captain J. M. Reith My 11 1930 ALS Betty Hanlon My 12 1930 ALS Captain J. M. Reith Je 9 1930 ALS Captain J. M. Reith Je 18 1930 TLS W. R. Morrison S 13 1930 copy E. V. Lucas O 16 1930 ALS Mary Elizabeth Walford O 23 1930 copy L. H. Chandler N 6 1930 copy E. V. Lucas N 6 1930 TLS Lady Alfred Milner N 16 1930 ALS Dr. Curteis N 27 1930 ALS Dr. Curteis N 27 1930 ALS Lady Alfred Milner N 28 [1930?] ANS Dr. Curteis D 4 1930 TLS Lady Alfred Milner D 8 [1930] ALS Dr. Curteis D 8 1930 TLS [ ] D 9 1930 TLS W. R. Morrison D 20 1930 TLS Betty Hanlon D 22 1930 ALS Roland Gwynne Ja 2 1931 TLS Mrs. George Adam Ja 6 1931 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Ja 26 1931 ALS Dr. Curteis F 3 1931 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Mr 18 1931 TLS Mrs. George Adam Mr 18 1931 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves My 7 1931 ALS Dr. Curteis My 19 1931 TLS Ian MacAlister Jl 12 1931 TLS S. L. Bensusan S 5 1931 TNS Mrs. George Adam ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 11 S 12 1931 TLS A. O. Bradley S 24 1931 ALS James Tregaskis O 3 1931 TLS Tristram Grayson O 8 1931 ALS Roland Gwynne O 10 1931 ALS A. S. Frere-Reeves D 1 1931 ALS Lady Alfred Milner D 22 1931 ALS Mary Elizabeth Walford Ja 30 1932 ALS E. V. Lucas Ap 16 1932 ALS [ ] Snow Ap 29 1932 TLS S. L. Bensusan Ap 29 1932 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves My 2 1932 TLS H. M. Wallis Je 2 1932 TLS Roland Gwynne Je 8 1932 ALS Roland Gwynne Je 21 1932 TLS Roland Gwynne Jl 25 1932 TLS James Tregaskis Ag 20 1932 TLS Roland Gwynne Ag 24 1932 ALS Roland Gwynne Ag 30 1932 ALS Roland Gwynne S 3 1932 ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden N 14 1932 TLS Alan D. Wilson N 16 1932 ALS Roland Gwynne N 17 1932 ALS B. E. Aldous N 24 1932 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves N 26 1932 TLS Mr. Rubin N 30 1932 TLS Mrs. Becher D 1932 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 8 1932 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves D 26 1932 ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden D 26 1932 ACS Roland Gwynne Ja 11 1933 TLS/ALS Lady Alfred Milner (Viola) (about Shakespeare sonnets) Ja 12 1933 ALS A. S. Frere-Reeves Ja 18 1933 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Mr 3 1933 ALS Victor Baskerfield Ap 11 1933 TLS Roland Gwynne My 15 1933 TLS W. Cumming Tait My 25 1933 TLS Lady Alfred Milner Je 19 1933 ALS Claude Farrere Ag 1 1933 ALS Neville Lawrence Ag 3 1933 ALS Neville Lawrence Ag 15 1933 ALS A. G. Beaman O 2 1933 ALS Walter [ ] N 26 1933 ALS Ian D. Colvin D 20 1933 ALS Roland Gwynne Ja 29 1934 TNS Customs Officer My 11 1934 ALS Madame Bres My 24 1934 ALS Guitous Stores My 31 1934 ALS Madame Bres Je 1 1934 TLS W. R. Morrison Je 2 1934 ALS A. Sutherland-Harris Jl 25 1934 TLS W. R. Morrison Jl 31 1934 TLS A. S. Frere-Reeves Ag 7 1934 ALS Dr. Curtis S 3 1934 ALS Durand [ ] O 1 1934 ALS Dr. Bres O 5 1934 ALS S. L. Bensusan O 12 1934 ALS S. L. Bensusan N 19 1934 TLS Captain Arthur R. Rawlinson N 26 1934 TLS Major Arthur R. Rawlinson N 27 1934 TLS S. P. B. Mais D 3 1934 TLS Arthur R. Rawlinson D 9 1934 TLS Arthur R. Rawlinson D 20 1934 ALS Dr. Bres D 30 1934 ALS Bernard Sanders Ja 1 1935 ALS Roland Gwynne Ja 1 1935 ACS Bernard Sanders Ja 2 1935 TLS Arthur R. Rawlinson Ja 3 1935 ACS Roland Gwynne Ja 16 1935 TLS Arthur R. Rawlinson Ja 31 1935 TLS William V. Baskerfield My 4 1935 ALS Miss T. Lawrence My 8 1935 ALS St. John Mildmay My 10 1935 TLS Ernest Raymond My 11 1935 ALS Dr. Bres Je 15 1935 TLS Ernest Raymond Je 27 1935 ALS Sally Jl 12 1935 TLS Stephen Tallents Jl 19 1935 ALS Bernard Sanders Jl 19 1935 ACS [ ] ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 12 Jl 25 1935 ACS John Bennion Booth Ag 24 1935 ALS Dr. Bres S 8 1935 ALS Dr. Bres S 12 1935 ALS Bernard Sanders S 15 1935 ACS S. L. Bensusan S 28 1935 TLS Commander White S 29 1935 ALS Bernard Sanders O 3 1935 ACS Mary Elizabeth Walford O 4 1935 ALS Bernard Sanders O 8 1935 ALS Robert U. Johnson O 15 1935 ACS Mary Elizabeth Walford N 1 1935 ALS Mrs. Edward William Bok D 28 1935 TLS Brother White Ja 3 1936 ACS Dr. Bres My 2 s.a. ANS Mr. Scott (on the back of a telegram to H. H. McClure) Je 28 s.a. telegram H. H. McClure? Je 30 ACS H. H. McClure Ag 15 ACS Miss Braver Ag 25 n.y. ALS [ ] S 2 s.a. ALS George E. Buckle O 20 19?? ALS Edward William Bok D 27 s.a. TLS A.S. Frere-Reeves n.d. ACS A. Belt n.d. ALS Lady Byng n.d. ALS Ian D. Colvin n.d.-Wed. ACS Dr. Curteis n.d.-Thurs ALS Dr. Curteis n.d.-Sat. ACS Dr. Curteis n.d.-Sun. ALS Dr. Curteis n.d. ACS Dr. Curteis n.d. ALS Dr. Curteis n.d.-Tues. ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d.-Fri. ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d. ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d. ACS Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d. ALS Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d.-Sun. ALS Mrs. Henry Wymyss Feilden n.d. ANS [ ] Fraser n.d. ACS Moreton Frewen n.d. ALS Miss Glossop Mon. ALS Caroline Grosvenor Mon. even. ANS Caroline Grosvenor n.d. ANS Caroline Grosvenor n.d. ALS Caroline Grosvenor n.d. ALS Augustus Gurlitz n.d. ACS [ ] Hunt n.d. ALS John [ ] n.d. ALS Low [Morgens] n.d. ACS [Low Morgens] Wed. ALS Mr. Price ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 13 n.d. ALS A. Sutherland-Harris n.d.-Tues. ALS A. Sutherland-Harris n.d.-Sun. ACS A. Sutherland-Harris n.d. ACS A. Sutherland-Harris n.d. ALS A. Sutherland-Harris n.d. ANS Mary Elizabeth Walford n.d. ALS A. E. Wayt n.d. ALS A. E. Wayt n.d. ANS [ ] n.d. TLS [ ] n.d. ALS [ ] Miscellany Ja 13 1911, 3 envelopes H. W. Feilden Mr 1 1921, in 1 folder H. W. Feilden n.d. 13 n.d. " H. W. Feilden n.d. 1 envelope Colonal Feilden N 14 1899 envelope Augustus Gurlitz Mr 5 1904 envelope Augustus Gurlitz Box 13 Rudyard Kipling Letters - Incoming Date Type Author n.d. 1899 ALS Andrew Carnegie F 20 1899 TLS S. S. McClure F 21 1899 TLS S. S. McClure Mr 12 1899 ALS Peter Low Ap 21 1899 TLS British Empire League My 4 1899 TLS Oliver Armstrong Fry My 15 1899 TLS Arthur Brisbane My 17 1909 envelope [ ] My 23 1899 ALS Horace W. Greely Je 3 1899 TLS S. S. McClure Co. S 19 1899 copy TLS The New York Press F 25 1911 TLS William Percival Westell F 28 1911 ALS J. H. Gurney Mr 28 1917 TLS James Tregaskis Je 7 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Je 12 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Je 21 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Jl 11 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Jl 18 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Jl 20 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Ag 8 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Ag 11 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Ag 31 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 4 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 8 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 15 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 25 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 27 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson S 28 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson O 2 1928 carbon Harry Perry Robinson Ap 5 1929 copy Alan D. Wilson O 15 1930 copy E. V. Lucas N 6 1930 copy E. V. Lucas F 20 1932 copy H. H. McClure Jl 30 1934 ALS J. B. Booth D 10 1935 ACS Mrs. Luther S. Livingston [undated] holograph Munni Lal ? copy by - "Despicable brute and unwilling R.K. father of babies" ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 14 Third-Party Correspondence see also Boxes 23-24 Author Recipient Date Type Sara Anderson H. H. McClure N 17 1899 ALS Sara Anderson H. H. McClure D 15 1899 ACS Sara Anderson H. H. McClure D 28 1899 ACS Sara Anderson H. H. McClure Ja 4 1900 ACS Sara Anderson H. H. McClure F 10 1900 ALS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Mr 20 1900 ACS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Ap 16 1900 ALS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Jl 3 1900 ACS Sara Anderson Walter T. Spencer Ag 8 1900 ACS Sara Anderson Walter T. Spencer Ag 13 1900 ACS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young D 11 1900 TLS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Je 4 1901 ALS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Je 29 1901 ACS Sara Anderson James Carleton Young Jl 2 1901 ALS Sara Anderson Augustus Gurlitz Jl 23 1901 ALS Stanley Baldwin Duchess of [ ] D 29 1936 ALS Anna S. Balestier H. H. McClure My 8 1899 ALS Ellis Ames Ballard Alan D. Wilson F 14 1930 TLS Ellis Ames Ballard Robert Dechert S 13 1935 TLS Ellis Ames Ballard H. H. McClure My 10 1938 TLS Elsie Kipling Bambridge George P. Anderson Ja 23 1956 ALS Elsie Kipling Bambridge George P. Anderson F 8 1956 ALS George Bambridge Edward Knoblock Ja 30 1936 ALS Geoffrey Barkas Arthur R. Rawlinson D 12 1934 copy contains Kipling marginalia Robert Barr Coulson Kernahan F 11 1892 TLS Robert Barr H. H. McClure D 15 1905 APCS Basil M. Bazley W. G. B. Maitland F 28 1955 T/env. Basil M. Bazley W. G. B. Maitland Ap 19 1961 ACS Earl of Birkenhead Mr. Booth Je 4 s.a. ALS E. R. Blaikie James Carleton Young Ja 23 1906 ALS Andrew Carnegie Caroline Kipling Mr 7 1899 card N. Chamberlain Private Perry N 20 1915 TLS Lloyd H. Chandler Mary Elizabeth Walford N 25 1929 copy J. E. Coates James Carleton Young Ja 11 1911 TLS Curtis Publishing Co. Cary Bok Ja 20 1956 TLS Daily Telegraph A. P. Watt Ja 28 1919 ALS Frank Nelson Doubleday H. H. McClure My 2 s.a. copy (original in R.K. Letters - Outgoing My 2 s.a., Mr. Scott) Paul Du Chaillu Caroline Kipling F 27 1899 ALS Gerald Du Maurier Mr & Mrs Rudyard Kipling My 9 1928 TLS Edna Ferber Frank Nelson Doubleday My 12 1930 TLS Henry B. Fuller H. H. McClure Jl 12 s.a. ALS Hamlin Garland Caroline Kipling S 25 1899 ALS R. W. Gilder S. S. McClure Ap 3 1899 TLS May L. Hamilton-Russell Mrs. Sinclair Ja 7 s.a. ALS Hodder & Stoughton W. G. B. Maitland Jl 10 1941 TLS M. Hogg James Carleton Young Ag 24 1911 TLS M. Hogg James Carleton Young S 16 1911 TLS M. Hogg James Carleton Young O 25 1911 TLS M. Hogg James Carleton Young N 23 1911 TLS M. Hogg R. W. K. Edwards Je 26 1913 TLS R. Thurston Hopkins Holbrook Jackson D 29 1915 ALS R. Thurston Hopkins Holbrook Jackson Ja 4 1916 ALS Henry James William James My 21 1903 TLS Henry James William James Jl 8 1903 TLS Henry James William James O 11 1903 TLS Henry James William James F 2 1904 ALS Edward G. Janeway [ ] Mr 6 1899 ANS Edward G. Janeway [ ] Mr 20 1899 ANS Edward G. Janeway [ ] n.d. ANS Edward G. Janeway [ ] n.d. ANS Copeland Kell Theodore Dunham Mr 6 1899 TLS Copeland Kell H. H. McClure Ap 7 1899 ALS Alice Kipling Mrs. Hales Mr 20 1910 ALS Caroline Kipling [ ] Mr 12 1895 ALS Caroline Kipling [ ] F 3 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling S. S. McClure F 23 1899 TLS Caroline Kipling (Longevity) A. P. Watt F 27 1899 ANS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Ap 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling Frank Nelson Doubleday My 1 1899 tele Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure My 5 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz My 9 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz My 27 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz My 31 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Je 6 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Je 10 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Je 29 1899 TLS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Jl 31 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz O 2 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure N 17 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure N 28 1899 ACS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz D 1 1899 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure D 11 1899 ACS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure W eve.[1899] ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Sat. [1899] ALS Caroline Kipling J. Porter Watson Ag 17 1900 ALS Caroline Kipling J. Porter Watson O 8 1900 ACS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz O 30 1900 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Mr 9 1901 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Mr 26 1901 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Ap 9 1901 ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure My 24 1901 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Je 3 1901 TLS ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 15 Caroline Kipling Mrs. Trotter Je 6 1901 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz S 2 1901 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz O 6 1902 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz N 6 1902 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz My 20 1903 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Ag 6 1903 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Ag 18 1903 TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz S 19 1903 ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz Ja 5 1904 ALS Caroline Kipling Mrs. H. H. McClure Je 6 1904 ALS Caroline Kipling R. W. K. Edwards Ag 1 1913 TLS Caroline Kipling [ ] N [9] 1929 ALS Caroline Kipling Mrs. F. N. Doubleday S 25 1930 ALS Caroline Kipling Mrs. F. N. Doubleday Jl 8 1934 ALS Caroline Kipling Roland Gwynne Ja 2 1935 ALS Caroline Kipling Henry N. Flynt F 18 1936 TLS Caroline Kipling S. L. Bensusan F 25 1936 TLS Caroline Kipling Mrs. Nicholas Penniman F 28 1936 TLS Caroline Kipling Henry N. Flynt Mr 26 1936 ALS Caroline Kipling Henry N. Flynt Ag 15 1936 tele Caroline Kipling Henry N. Flynt S 24 1936 ALS Caroline Kipling Dr. Curteis O 13 1936 TLS Caroline Kipling Mrs. Black n.d.-Sun. ACS Caroline Kipling Mrs. F. N. Doubleday Ap 29 s.a. ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz My 10 s.a. ALS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz n.d. TLS Caroline Kipling Augustus Gurlitz n.d. copy Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Wed. ACS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Sun. ALS Caroline Kipling H. H. McClure Jl 27 s.a. ACS Caroline Kipling Dear People Tues. ALS Caroline Kipling Dolly [ ] n.d.-Thurs ALS Caroline Kipling n.d.-Mon. ALS J. Lockwood Kipling Augustus Gurlitz F 11 1901 ALS J. Lockwood Kipling Douglas Murray D 17 s.a. ALS J. Lockwood Kipling H. H. McClure ANS Ladies' Home Journal Cary Bok D 16 1955 TLS William M. Laffan Frank Nelson Doubleday Ap 10 1899 ALS Lanchester Engine Co. George Baldwin Je 6 1904 TLS Flora V. Livingston William G. B. Maitland Ja 29 1934 TLS Flora V. Livingston W. G. B. Maitland Ja 8 1936 TLS E. V. Lucas James Tregaskis N 15 1930 ALS E. V. Lucas James Tregaskis F 23 1931 ALS E. V. Lucas James Tregaskis Ap 14 1931 ALS E. V. Lucas James Tregaskis My 28 1931 ALS E. V. Lucas Hugh Tregaskis S 9 1931 ALS H. H. McClure Ellis Ames Ballard My 12 1938 copy George A. Macdonald Caroline Kipling S 25 1900 ALS Ian MacLaren Caroline Kipling F 25 1899 ALS Ernest Walter Martindell Alan D. Wilson My 21 1928 ALS Ernest Walter Martindell Alan D. Wilson Je 19 1928 ALS Mowbray Walter Morris James Rennell Rodd O 20 1889 ALS Cecily L. Nicholson J. B. Booth Ja 13 1934 TLS Cecily L. Nicholson T. W. E. Moreton Mr 4 1935 TLS Cecily L. Nicholson Henry N. Flynt Ja 16 1936 TLS Charles Eliot Norton Herbert Small Ap 26 1895 ALS Charles Eliot Norton H. H. McClure Ap 17 1899 ALS Thomas Nelson Page Caroline Kipling Mr 3 1899 ALS K. E. Parker James Carleton Young My 3 1904 TLS K. E. Parker James Carleton Young My 31 1904 TLS J. B. Pond H. H. McClure F 15 1899 ALS Agnes Macdonald Poynter Lady Constance [ ] My 20 1890 ALS Rosenbach Co. A. E. Wayt Je 11 1929 cont. Jan Christiaan Smuts R. A. Blankenberg Ap 7 1921 ALS Frank R. Stockton Frank Nelson Doubleday Mr 5 1899 ALS Nikola Tesla Caroline Kipling Mr 6 1899 ALS George E. Vincent William H. P. Walker O 7 1899 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Charles G. Mortimer Jl 7 1927 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford T. W. E. Moreton O 1 1927 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Harry Perry Robinson Ag 3 1928 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Alan D. Wilson Ja 21 1929 TLS Mary Elizabeth Walford Lloyd H. Chandler N 15 1929 copy John Watson Caroline Kipling Mr 3 1899 ALS A. P. Watt Augustus Gurlitz F 2 1904 TLS Alan D. Wilson Ernest Walter Martindell N 13 1928 TLS ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 16 Writings see also Boxes 23-24 Prose "At the End of the Passage" - KpR 1411* "Below the Mill Dam" - typescript ms. - KpR 1435 "Dis Aliter Visum" - corrected copy of 1st publication, The Pioneer, 4 July 1885 - comments by Martindell written on inside folder flap - KpR 1545 see Oversize Box #1 From Sea to Sea: Letters of Travel see Writings: Miscellany - Preface to unknown volume signed by Rudyard Kipling "How Fear Came to the Jungle" (1894) - KpR 1713 "In Defense of His Home" - KpR 1748 "In the Interests of the Brethren" "Letters to the Family" Limits and Renewals (1 of 2) ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 17 Limits and Renewals (2 of 2) "Naval Manoevres" "Plain Tales From the Hills" Preface to Andre Chevrillon's L'Angleterre et la Guerre - autographed manuscript with holograph revisions Adds Box Puck of Pook's Hill - proof copy of the first edition with holograph corrections (London, 1906) - added 2/93 Box 17 Soldier Tales - production records - illustrations, 21 full-size and 13 head and tail pieces see Oversize Box #1 "Surgical and Medical" "The Tabu Tale" - galley proof with holograph corrections "Thy Servant a Dog" "The Visitation of the Sick" "The War in the Mountains" - revised typescript of first (discarded) article - KpR 221 "The War in the Mountains" - production records - 2 sets of galley proofs for the first edition, each with Kipling's corrections "The Way That He Took" Parts I and II - The Cosmopolitan, Nov. 1900, vol. 30, no. 1; Dec. 1900, vol. 30, no. 2 Speeches Untitled (re: Thugs in India) - 1 p. fragment Verse and Dramatic Works "After O. W. the Unutterable" - KpR 10 "The Answer" - KpR 29 "A Ballad of Bitterness" - Dec. 1883 - KpR 62 "A Banjo Song" "The Baths of Biddlestone" - KpR 92 *KPR #s in this section refer to those assigned by Barbara Rosenbaum in the Index of English Literary Manuscripts (London; New York: Mansell, c1990, Vol. 4, pt. 2). ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 18 Writings (continued) see also Boxes 23-24 Verse and Dramatic Works (continued) "The Bridge-Guard in the Karroo" "Chartres Windows" - KpR 190 "The English Way" - 4 typescript pages with holographic corrections "The Female of the Species" - KpR 359 "The Five Nations" "Four Feet" - KpR 390 "The Gipsy Trail" - KpR 418 "The Heritage" - KpR 463 "The Holy War" - KpR 472 "The Holy War" - galley proof with holographic corrections "La peinture a l'huile" "The Mater" - KpR 1368 "McAndrew's Hymn" - Scribner's Magazine - production records - Dec. 1894 cover proof - original in Kipling Outgoing Letters, 1893 Je 22 - note before KpR 691 "M.I." - Windsor Magazine - production records, 3 cards each approximately 14x11 in. with "M. I." verse and illustrations by L. Raven-Hill - KpR 701 see Oversize Box #2 "Mine Sweepers" - KpR 705 "Morning Song in the Jungle" "A Mother to Her Son" "Oh, Radiant Bay of Naples" - holograph "Oh, Radiant Bay of Naples" - private printing (3 copies) and photocopies of letters about the poem "Pink Dominoes" - KpR 845 "The Shepherd of Dartmoor Plain" "The Sin of Witchcraft" "So For Some the Wet Sail" - KpR 357 ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 19 Songs From Books - production records - KpR 1111 "The Sons of the Widow" "South Africa" - KpR 1118 "The Stumbling Block" "There's Never a Flood" - holograph, 1 photograph Unpublished Items by Rudyard Kipling "Ulster" - KpR 1297 "The Vampire" - KpR 1306 The Years Between - production records - 2 sets of galley proofs (12 Apr 1918; 2 May 1918) of 1st English edition each with Kipling's revisions in holograph see Oversize Box #2 Uncollected verse Miscellany Autographs (2 R. K.) Preface to unknown volume (possibly a draft for From Sea to Sea: Letters of Travel vol. 1) signed by Rudyard Kipling "A Report of Tour to Automobile Club" Revisions of a "War Graves" article Miscellaneous notes Memorabilia Legal Kipling's will - Ja 25 1892 Papers assigning Power of Attorney to make a transfer of Cecil John Rhodes estate land in Africa - 1919 Photographs of Kipling - 11 items Portraits and caricatures - 14 items see also Oversize Box #1 and #2 ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 20 Memorabilia (continued) Printed materials Books Barrack Room Ballads / Rudyard Kipling, 1926 (signed R. K. to R. K.) Collection De Contes Et Chansons Populaires Tome XXIV Contes Birmans d'apres le Thoudamma Sari Dammazat par Louis Vossion, 1901 The Heart of Japan / C. L. Brownell, 1902 Historical Study of the Mother Tongue / H. C. Wyld, 1906 The House Building and Other Poems / Marshall Bruce Williams, 1902 Kate of Kate Hall / Ellen Thorneycroft Fowler and Alfred Laurence Felkin, 1904 The Loves of Miss Anne / S. R. Crockett, 1904 Memoirs of a Person of Quality / Ashton Hilliers, 1907, inscribed by author to Rudyard Kipling Prophesies Miracles and Visions of St. Columba, 1895 - title page only with inscription to Kipling Sir Roger's Heir / F. Frankfort Moore, 1904 ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 21 Memorabilia (continued) Printed materials (continued) Clippings Reviews of Kipling books - 1891-1898, Feb. 189 "Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs - with Ms. notes by Author - Kipling - 1883-1884" - collected by Martindell - see Oversize Box #1 Miscellaneous clippings - 1898-1936, undated Miscellany Dealer catalogues - collected by Harvey Taylor Kipling burial service program - Jan. 23, 1936 Masonic Authors Lodge No. 3456 meeting notice (Kipling listed as an honorary member) - 1936 Pamphlets Writings by others "Cervantes, Zola, Kipling, & Co." / Brander Matthews - The Cosmopolitan - Mar. 1893 "'Cum Laude Platypus' by John R. Ornithorhynchus" / Albert B. Fowler "Foreward" by E. V. Lucas to Five Hundred Points of Good Husbandry / Thomas Tusser, 1931 reprint, typescript; notes; copies of letters to/from E. V. Lucas; scrapbook with clippings about book "John Howell, Bookman and Collector Reveals Kipling Rarities" / Harvey Taylor "Kipling: Laureate of the Empire" / Harvey Taylor - holograph and typescript "Kipling's India" / Arley Munson - The Bookman - Mar. 1914 "A late lark twitters..." - 2 holograph pages - unidentifed author - undated "Mr. Eliot's Kipling" / Lionel Trilling - The Nation - Oct. 16, 1943 Notes of Harvey Taylor "On Some Tales of Mr. Kipling's" / S. R. Crockett - The Bookman - Feb. 1895 Box 21 "Rudyard Kipling" / William Brunton - poem Adds Box A Series of Thirty Etchings by William Strang, Illustrating Subjects from the Writings of Rudyard Kipling / William Strang, c.1901 - production records - etchings (28 of 31, wanting #10 and #28) and typescript copy of manuscript - proofs of the final states by Wm. Strang, printed and signed by Strang's son, David Strang - added 4/93 (2 folders) Box 21 "Today September the 16th 1890 I went up . . ." - 5 typescript pages - undated, unknown author Miscellany Advertising instructions with holograph note "Typed for me by his own hand by Rudyard Kipling... 23/8/06" Bookplates (2) Celluloid drawing (handpainted) - used in Walt Disney's movie production of "The Jungle Book" see Oversize Box #2 Change purse (autographed) Etchings illustrating Kipling short stories see Writings by others A series of thirty etchings by William Strang... "Kipling Flowers" - dried Letters from Kipling to his niece, nephew, and godchildren (photocopies) - gift of Lisa Lewis Pipe (broken, Kipling's) Report card from Haileybury College signed by Cornell Price (later headmaster at a Kipling school) - Mar. 1874 Sketches (pen and ink) by R. Kipling Stationery (Kipling's, 1 item) Typewriter - Kipling's Remington Noiseless (with case) see shelf with oversize boxes ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 22 Memorabilia/Miscellany (continued) Scrapbooks Miscellaneous scrapbooks (4) ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 23 T. W. E. Moreton scrapbook Henry H. Schlosser scrapbook on E. A. Ballard's Kipling Collection bibliography see Package #1 McClures' Material Box 23 Correspondence E. A. Ballard/H. H. McClure - 1938 Dr. Conland to H. H. McClure - June 11, 1899 L. de Forest to H. H. McClure - May 29, 1899 H. H. McClure to A. P. Watt - [1899] McClures'/Kipling Family - photocopies of correspondence McClures'/Miscellaneous correspondence - photocopies Miscellaneous letters to R. Kipling via McClures' - 1899 Writings "The Absent-Minded Beggar" (c. 1899) - Rudyard Kipling "Before Kipling Becomes a Myth" - Feb. 2, 1936 - H. H. McClure - typescript and printed release The Courting of Dinah Shadd A Contribution to a Bibliography of the Writings of Rudyard Kipling -1898 - private printing "Do women have to be alive today. . ." - Apr. 28, 1937 - H. H. McClure "The King" (1st edition American copyright, 1899) - Rudyard Kipling "Kipling's Life In America" - H. H. McClure "Mr. Kipling visited our office. . ." - March 7, 1899 - H. H. McClure - typescript "To the Editor, Readers' Digest" - H. H. McClure Notes on Kipling (undated) - H. H. McClure Miscellany - Letters and statements about Kiplings suit against Putnam ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 24 Memorabilia Clippings - 2 folders Photographs Miscellaneous E. W. Martindell Collection Box 24 Correspondence E. W. Martindell/Rev. W. A. Kirkman Writings Martindell collection of 29 uncollected Kipling verses - 1884-1906 - typescript copies (1 folder): "Amir Ali Locuitur" - Pioneer - July 18, 1888 "Ballad: by an Em-n-nt Lord" - Civil & Military - May 8, 1886 "The Blind Bug" - National Observer - Dec. 27, 1890 "The Bugler" - The Regiment, No. 1 - Oct. 25, 1902 "The Bushman's Daughter" - St. James's Gazette - Aug. 13, 1890 "The City of Berlin" - Sept. 26, 1889 "Departmental Delirium" - Pioneer - April 26, 1887 "'An Echo from Old Calcutta'" - Pioneer - March 15, 1886 "An Excellent Reason" - Pioneer - May 23, 1887 "The Half-Way House" - Pioneer - Apr. 15, 1887 "How Breitmann Became President . . ." - New York World - Apr. 26, 1890 "In Answer" - Civil & Military - Oct. 14, 1887 "The Lament of C. I. E." - Pioneer - Jan. 20, 1888 "The Last Call" - The Week's News - Mar. 31, 1888 "Ms. Verses to A. E. W." - Feb. 4, 1884 "The Michigan Twins" - Boston Advertiser - Mar. 1889 "A Nightmare of Names" - Civil & Military - Dec. 10. 1886 "A Picture in Smoke" - Pioneer - June 30, 1885 "Possibilities" - Pioneer - July 13, 1885 "The Rape of the Breeches" - Pioneer - Mar. 5, 1889 "A Rhodian Portrait" - 1886 "Rudyard and Kipling" - Boston Advertiser - Mar. 1889 "Selling the Cross" - St. James's Gazette - Feb. 2, 1890 "Signs" - Pioneer - Nov. 11, 1886 "Silence is - Golden(?)" - Pioneer - Aug. 18, 1886 "The Simla Exodus" - Pioneer - Aug. 5, 1886 "A Soliloquy from the South" - Pioneer - Dec. 8, 1886 "South Africa" - The Standard - July 27, 1906 "Summer Homes for Nursing Sisters" - Pioneer - Aug. 1, 1887 "Trial by Assessors" - Pioneer - July 14, 1886 Memorabilia Clippings "Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs - with Ms. Notes by Author - Uncollected - Kipling - 1883-4" - includes folder with Martindell's history of the clippings see Oversize Box #2 Alan D. Wilson Collection Box 24 Correspondence re: Kipling Ellis Ames Ballard/Alan D. Wilson - 1928-1930 Frederick L. Ballard, Jr. to Robert Dechert - Feb. 28, 1964 Mrs. W. M. Carpenter to L. H. Chandler - Oct. 22, 1931 Lloyd H. Chandler to Ellis Ames Ballard - 1927-1935 Lloyd H. Chandler/M. E. Walfind [sic Walford] (Kipling's secretary) - 1929 Lloyd H. Chandler/Alan D. Wilson - 1929-1930 L. H. Dunsterville to L. H. Chandler - Oct. 10, 1930 Rudyard Kipling to Lloyd Chandler - Oct. 23, 1930 - copy Rudyard Kipling/Alan D. Wilson - 1928-1932 - copies Flora V. Livingston (Widener Memorial Library, Harvard University)/Alan D. Wilson - 1928-1933 E. W. Martindell to Lloyd H. Chandler - Oct. 6, 1930 E. W. Martindell/Alan D. Wilson - 1928 Miscellaneous Wilson correspondence re: Mark Twain Miscellaneous Wilson correspondence Writings "Charles Buford: His Ancestors and Descendants; Together With Excerpts From His Correspondence and An Appeal to the Republican Party of the United States of about 1857 Presumably Drawn up by Him; Together with an Attempted Identification of the Persons Mentioned in These Papers" - unidentified author "A Kipling Problem, 'Three and -- an Extra' or the Story of 'The Light That Failed'" / Lloyd H. Chandler, 1929 - typescript "List of Kipling Stories Contained in Magazines (Owned by Ellis Ames Ballard)" [by E. A. Ballard] - 2 copies A Summary of the Work of Rudyard Kipling Including Items Ascribed to Him (compiler, Lloyd H. Chandler, 1930) - "Introduction" by E. A. Ballard - typescript draft A Summary of the Work of Rudyard Kipling Including Items Ascribed to Him (compiler, Lloyd H. Chandler, 1930) - typescript draft and research notes (1 of 4 folders) ----------------------------------------------------------------- Box 25 Writings (continued) A Summary of the Work of Rudyard Kipling Including Items Ascribed to Him (compiler, Lloyd H. Chandler, 1930) - typescript draft and research notes (3 of 4 folders) "Talk on the Kipling Society in the United States and Upon Mr. Kipling's Works, to be Given at a Meeting of the Kipling Society in London, June 9, 1931 by L. H. Chandler" - typescript transcript "Three and -- an Extra" by L. H. Chandler Memorabilia Account book of Helen and Alan D. Wilson listing wedding gifts, household furnishings, and books in their library along with estimated prices - 1898-1920 (history of book noted inside by son-in-law Robert Dechert) Dealer catalogues listing Kipling and Twain items ----------------------------------------------------------------- Oversize Box #1 Writings Prose Soldier Tales - production records - illustrations - 21 full-page drawings by A. S. Hartrick Soldier Tales - production records - illustrations - 13 original pen and ink head and tail pieces by A. S. Hartrick Memorabilia Portraits and caricatures Caricature of Kipling by Garretto, The Graphic, Sept. 24, 1927 Photograph (probably albumen) of portrait of Kipling by Philip Burne-Jones, 1899 - mount is signed and inscribed with poem The [?] Bay Portrait of Kipling by E. P. Upjohn - cover of The Metropolitan Magazine ----------------------------------------------------------------- Oversize Box #2 Writings Prose "Dis Aliter Visum" - corrected copy of 1st publication, The Pioneer, 4 July 1885 - comments by Martindell written on inside folder flap - KpR 1545 Verse and Dramatic Works "M. I." - Windsor Magazine - production records, 3 cards each approximately 14x11 in. with "M. I." verse and illustrations by L. Raven-Hill - KpR 701 The Years Between - production records - 2 sets of galley proofs (12 Apr 1918, 2 May 1918) of 1st English edition each with Kipling's revisions in holograph Memorabilia Clippings "Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs - with Ms. Notes by Author - Uncollected - Kipling - 1883-4" - folder with Martindell's notes about the clippings - Martindell Collection Portraits and caricatures Caricature of Kipling by Steven Spurrier - pen and ink with charcoal and white Framed pen and ink drawing of Rudyard Kipling by R. Mathews Framed photograph (platinotype ?) of Rudyard Kipling Miscellany Walt Disney's "The Jungle Book" - handpainted celluloid drawing used in the movie production ----------------------------------------------------------------- Oversize Package #1 Memorabilia Scrapbooks Henry H. Schlosser scrapbook relating to the printing of E. A. Ballard's Catalogue Intimate and Descriptive of My Kipling Collection (Philadelphia: Privately printed, 1935). [M84-1:12]
![]()
© 1999 - Syracuse University Library
Ask a question | Request a visit
URL: http://libwww.syr.edu/digital/guides/r/RudyardKiplingCollection-Inv.htm
Last modified: September 22, 2003 01:07 PM