
Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Sep 2009
|
|
|
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Yunkers, Adja, 1900-1983. |
| Title: | Adja Yunkers Papers |
| Dates: | 1941-1952 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, published material, clippings, scrapbook from the Latvian-American lithographer and painter. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 http://scrc.syr.edu |
Adja Yunkers (1900-1983) was an artist and teacher known for his color woodcuts, lithographs, and abstract paintings. Born in Latvia, he studied in Europe, established a workshop in Stockholm, and eventually emigrated to the United States in 1946, where he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. He taught at the Cooper Union Art School and the New School for Social Research.
The Adja Yunkers Papers consist of correspondence, published material, clippings, a scrapbook, and other items. The collection is unprocessed.
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Access Restrictions: The collection is unprocessed and accessible by special permission only.
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Special Collections Research Center has many manuscript collections of artists, including painters, illustrators, cartoonists, and sculptors. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Persons
Yunkers, Adja, 1900-1983.
Subjects
Lithography -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States -- 20th century.
Genres and Forms
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Scrapbooks.
Occupations
Lithographers.
Painters.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Adja Yunkers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
Acquisition Information
Gift of Adja Yunkers, 1964.
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.