Al Smith Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MD
Date: 11 Dec 2008

Revision history:
11 Dec 2008 converted to EAD (MD)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Al, 1902-
Title: Al Smith Cartoons.
Dates: 1955-1966.
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons from the comic strip Mutt and Jeff.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Al Smith (1902-1986), born Albert Schmidt, was an American cartoonist.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Al Smith Cartoons collection contains original cartoons from the comic strip Mutt and Jeff (1955-1966).


Arrangement of the Collection

As received.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Bud Fisher Cartoons collection for additional Mutt and Jeff material. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of cartoon collections at the Special Collections Research Center.


Subject Headings

Persons

Smith, Al, 1902-

Associated Titles

Mutt and Jeff.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images).

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Al Smith Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Al Smith, 1971-1982.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.