George Shove Account Book

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: George Shove.
Title: George Shove Account Book
Dates: 1787-1829
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Ledger of 18th and 19th c. general merchant George Shove.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of George Shove other than the information given in the collection. He was evidently a general merchant, selling everything from molasses to nails. The location of his store cannot be definitively determined, but if he is of the same family as the creators of the Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book (see Related Material below), it may have been in Freetown, Massachusetts or thereabouts.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Shove Account Book consists of one volume, a ledger containing credits and debits for various patrons of the merchant George Shove. Items sold include molasses, rum, sugar, shoes, corn, flaxseed and cloth. Items listed in the credit column include wood, coal, "days worked," curing and tanning services, and hoops (whether dress or barrel is not specified). Occasionally food items are listed, such as herring and "a pig."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book, which may be from members of the same merchant family.


Subject Headings

Persons

Shove, George.

Subjects

Merchants -- United States -- History -- 18th century.
Merchants -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Freetown (Mass. : Town) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Shove Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Financial papers
Volume 1 Account book 1787-1829