Myra Scovel Manuscripts

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Oct 1987

Revision history:
25 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Scovel, Myra.
Title: Myra Scovel Manuscripts
Dates: before 1962
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, missionary. Collection contains undated typescript draft and final draft with revisions of The Chinese Ginger Jars, her autobiographical work on missionary life in China.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Myra Scovel (1905-1994) was an American nurse and missionary for the United Presbyterian Church for more than thirty years. She and her husband, Dr. Frederick Gilman Scovel, were assigned to missions in China (1930-1951) and India (1953-1961). She was also a writer and poet.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Myra Scovel Manuscripts consists of undated typescript draft and final draft with revisions of The Chinese Ginger Jars, her autobiographical work on her experiences during her missionary life in China.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

For other personal accounts of missionary life, see the Frederick Harding Manuscript (Garo mission in Assam, India), the Ralph E. Dodge Papers (Zimbabwe), and the Marion Kingsley letters (Korea).


Subject Headings

Persons

Scovel, Myra.

Corporate Bodies

Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. -- Board of Foreign Missions.
United Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. -- Commission on Ecumenical Mission and Relations.

Associated Titles

The Chinese ginger jars.

Subjects

Missionaries.
Missions -- Asia.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Missionaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Myra Scovel Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Myra Scovel, 1962.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 Autobiography, The Chinese Ginger Jars - first draft, 135 pp.
Box 1 Autobiography, The Chinese Ginger Jars - author's manuscript, 155 pp.