Philippa Schuyler Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 2 Oct 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Schuyler, Philippa
Title: Philippa Schuyler Papers
Dates: 1940-1967
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the African-American pianist, journalist and author. Correspondence, clippings, concert programs, printed material, scrapbooks, and writings
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Philippa Schuyler (1939-1967) was an African-American pianist, journalist and author. She was the only child of African-American journalist and author George Schuyler and his wife Josephine Cogdell, a white artist and writer. Philippa was a piano prodigy as a child, playing at Carnegie Hall and venues around the world. She later became a journalist and writer. She was killed during a trip to Vietnam when the Army helicopter she was riding in crashed in Da Nang Bay.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Philippa Schuyler Papers contains correspondence, clippings, concert programs, printed material, scrapbooks, and writings (including typescripts of articles, novels, plays, etc).


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has been foldered and roughly sorted by type of material, but no formal arrangement has been done.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: One folder containing medical information is restricted.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of Ms. Schuyler's father, George S. Schuyler. For related material by Ms. Schuyler in our Rare Books holdings, please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog .


Subject Headings

Persons

Schuyler, Philippa.

Subjects

African American authors.
African American journalists.
Pianists -- United States.
Women authors.
Women journalists.
Women pianists.

Genres and Forms

Clippings.
Correspondence.
Programs.
Scrapbooks.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Pianists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Philippa Schuyler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library


Table of Contents


Inventory

An item-level inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.