James Rosen Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rosen, James M., 1933-
Title: James Rosen Papers
Dates: ca. 1965-2007
Quantity: approx. 45 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, clippings, photographs, artwork, slides, reviews, sketches, notebooks and other material of the American artist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Rosen studied at Cooper Union, Wayne State University and Cranbrook Academy of Arts. He taught painting and art history at the University of Hawaii, University of California at Berkeley, Santa Rosa Junior College, and Augusta College where he is the William S. Morris Eminent Scholar in Art. Since 1995, Rosen has been an artist/critic with the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts.

Rosen's work is in the collections of more than thirty-five museums, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Metre Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Whitney Museum, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. and his articles and essays have appeared in numerous journals.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Rosen Papers include correspondence, clippings, photographs, artwork, slides, reviews, sketches, notebooks and other material of the American artist. The collection is unprocessed and is not open for research at this time. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is unprocessed and is not open for research at this time. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.All personal correspondence is entirely restricted until after Mr. Rosen's death.All personal correspondence of Mrs. Eva Geffman Weiss is entirely restricted until 50 years after her death.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rosen, James M., 1933-

Subjects

Painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings.
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Paintings.
Photographs.
Reviews.
Sketches.
Slides.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Rosen Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James Rosen.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.