Solon Robinson Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Robinson, Solon, 1803-1880.
Title: Solon Robinson Letter
Dates: 1867
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the American author to Reverend Mansfield French; includes clipping and original poem on the "Freedmen's Jubilee" in Charleston, South Carolina, 19 Mar 1863.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Solon Robinson (1803-1880) was an American author, pioneer and writer. He was a man of many talents: during his life he was at various times a postmaster, justice of the peace, county clerk, mapmaker, claims agent, squatter, farmer, writer and editor. His writings focused primarily on agriculture; he was at one point agricultural editor of the New York Tribune and was an advocate for poverty relief.

Mansfield French (1810-1876) was an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman and anti-slavery activist, and a personal friend of Abraham Lincoln.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Solon Robinson Letter consists of a letter from American farmer and writer Solon Robinson to Reverend Mansfield French of Charleston, South Carolina. The letter is a brief note to French about a visit Robinson paid to Charleston, and includes an original poem by Robinson and a clipping, both on the subject of the Freedmen's Jubilee. The Jubilee was a gathering which took place in 1865, "an imposing procession of the colored population of Charleston...to commemorate the abolition of slavery.." According to the concluding pararaph, French was present and gave the benediction.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

French, Mansfield, 1810-1876.
Robinson, Solon, 1803-1880.

Subjects

African Americans -- History.
Slaves -- Emancipation -- United States.

Places

Charleston (S.C.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifact)
Correspondence.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Solon Robinson Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer, 1970.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 558 to French, Mansfield 30 Mar 1867 - includes clipping and original poem