Portfolio Club Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: April 1999

Revision history:
Mar 2004 unspecified revisions (-)
2 Nov 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
20 Nov 2006 minor corrections (MRC)
28 May 2008 additions (MRC)
Jul 2009 Bond, exhibit additions (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Portfolio Club (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: Portfolio Club Records
Dates: 1875-2009
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Official records, historical files (clippings, correspondence); and publications, including programs and commemorative literature which documents the history of the organization. Official records include constitution and by-laws, minutes of meetings (1884-1978).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Organization History

The Portfolio Club is a women's organization that was founded in 1875 in Syracuse, New York.

" ... Women had little opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with other women except for an occasional tea, sewing group or church gathering.
"Responding to the plight of women in her day, Mary Dana Hicks, an art teacher in the Syracuse City Schools, attended a women's congress in 1875. Miss Hicks and her young art students were impressed by the speeches of such leading feminists as Mary Livermore, Mary Redfield Bagg, and Julia Ward Howe.
"Most impressive … was the appeal for women to organize into club groups and pursue whatever study or cause they considered important.
"Shortly after … a group of nine young high school girls met in October, 1875 … and formed a sketching club. The Portfolio Club, as it was called, was said to be one of the first women's clubs in Syracuse and one of the first in the nation. Although it was called the Portfolio Club because of the original study of art, it became more of a general interest club. Topics for study are assigned by the club president each year."
(Patricia Corbett, Syracuse Herald Journal, September 26, 1975)

Consisting of about 30 members, the club meets regularly from the first Monday in October to the last Monday in March. Each year new members are recommended and their admission to the club is voted upon by the current membership. Occasionally honorary members have also been selected. Club meetings are held at the homes of members. Chosen at the beginning of the program season, a general topic is broken down into a specific assignment for each club member to research; a paper is presented on a designated date. Ranging over broad fields of interest, yearly themes have covered economics, religion, world culture and science. Often characterized by inventive graphic design, which reflects the changing topics through decades of meeting seasons, programs document the club's officers and membership as well as the meeting schedules and their venues. The club is still active.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Portfolio Club Records comprises the historical files of the Syracuse, New York women's club. Beginning with the 1888-1889 program year, the meetings of the Portfolio Club have centered around an annual theme.

Arranged chronologically, the collection consists of the Club's incorporation papers, constitution and by-laws, clippings, correspondence, examination questions, memorial tributes, minutes, notes on lectures, annual programs, photographs, and some published material relating to the Club's history. Early minutes from the 1875 to 1884 are not among the Portfolio Club Records.

Supplemental material at the end includes historical items and memorabilia related to the club but not part of the official records: photographs, clippings, material generated for an exhibit on the Portfolio Club in 2008, a collection of papers presented by member Ida Bond at club meetings between 1900 and 1928, and other assorted items.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in chronological order, apart from the supplemental material which is arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Portfolio Club (Syracuse, N.Y.) -- Archives
Portfolio Club (Syracuse, N.Y.) -- Records and correspondence

Subjects

Women -- New York (State) -- Syracuse
Women -- Non-formal education
Women -- Recreation
Women -- Societies and clubs

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History -- Sources
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs

Genres and Forms

Clippings
Correspondence
Minutes
Programs

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Portfolio Club Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Portfolio Club and various club members.


Table of Contents

1875-1900

1900-1925

1925-1950

1950-1975

1975-2000

2000-2009

Undated

Supplemental material


Inventory

1875-1900
Box 1 1878
Certificate of incorporation (original and photocopy)
Box 1 1883
Examination questions
Financial records and publicity for lecture by Francis Seymour Hayden, January 25, 1883
Box 1 1884-1885
Correspondence
Examination questions
Box 1 1884-1885,1890-1891
Lecture notes (Louise A. Stearns)
Box 1 1884-1886
Lecture notes (Mary E. Duguid)
Box 1 1887
Fire insurance policy
Box 1 1887-1890
Lecture notes and records of dues paid
Box 1 1888-1891
Lecture notes (Mary F. Hasbrouck)
Box 1 1888-1889 "Russia"
Clippings
Examination questions
Box 1 1889-1890 "French History"
Examination questions
Program booklet
Box 1 1890-1891 "Spain"
Program booklet
Box 1 1891-1892 "North America"
Program booklet
Box 1 1892-1893 "England"
Program booklet
Box 1 1893-1894 "Studies in the History and Literature of Scotland"
Examination questions
Program booklet
Box 1 1894-1895 "Rambles and Sketches in Holland"
Program booklet
Box 1 1895-1896 "Under Our Own Root Tree - A Century of American Living and Thinking"
Minutes of meetings with clippings
Program booklet
Box 2 1896
Afternoons with Ceramics by Francis Hopkins Hooker
Copyright certificate for Afternoons with Ceramics
Box 2 1896-1897 "Foot-Prints of the Old Masters"
Program booklet
Box 2 1897-1898 "Nineteenth Century in Profile"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 2 1898 (?) "A New Chapter in American History," author unknown
Box 2 1898-1899 "Hellenic Gleanings"
Program booklet
Box 2 1899-1900 "The Sunrise Empire: Japan"
Program booklet
1900-1925
Box 2 1900-1901 "Popular Questions of the Day"
Program booklet
Box 2 1901 (?) Notes on the history of the Portfolio Club (Helen Hudson Hood)
Box 2 1901-1902 "Lines of Thought in the Victorian Era"
Program booklet
Box 3 1902-1903 "India of Today"
Program booklet
Box 3 1903-1904 "Round the World Tour"
Annual report
Program booklet
Box 3 1904-1905 "Germany in the Nineteenth Century"
Examination questions
Program booklet
Box 3 1905-1906 "Woman in History, Literature, and Art"
Program booklet
Box 3 1906-1907 "The Empire State"
Program booklet
Box 3 1907-1908 "New York: Sights and Insights"
Program booklet
Box 3 1908-1909 "Present Day Problems"
Program booklet
Box 3 1909-1910 "Canada"
Program booklet
Box 3 1910-1911 "The South"
Program booklet
Box 3 1911-1912 "American Republics South of the United States"
Program booklet
Box 4 1912-1913 "Egypt and Civic Problems of Today"
Program booklet
Box 4 1913-1914 "The Bible: The World's Greatest Classic"
Program booklet
Box 4 1914-1915 "Epochs and Epoch Makers of Christianity"
Program booklet
Box 4 1915-1916 "Great American Achievements"
Program booklet
Box 4 1916-1917 "The Development of International Relations of Europe"
Program booklet
Box 4 1917-1918 "Westward Ho!"
Program booklet
Box 4 1918-1919 "American Art Museums"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 4 1919-1920 "New Problems in Democracy"
Program booklet
Box 4 1920-1921 "Greater New York"
Program booklet
Box 4 1921-1922 "A Study in Health"
Program booklet
Box 4 1922-1923 "Glimpses into Many Lands through Travel, Literature, and History"
Program booklet
Box 4 1923-1924 "China and the Chinese"
Program booklet
Box 4 1924-1925 "Survey of a Quarter Century"
Program booklet
1925-1950
Box 5 1925-1926 "Yesterday and Today: A Year of Retrospect and Outlook"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 5 1926 The Portfolio Club: Our Fifty Years 1875-1925
Box 5 1926-1927 "Contemporary Literature"
Program booklet
Box 5 1927-1928 "Italian Art with Kindred Subjects"
Memorial tribute "To Mrs. Mary Dana Hicks Prang" by Grace A. Johnson
Program booklet
Box 5 1928-1929 "The Romance of Rivers"
Program booklet
Box 5 1929-1930 "Leaders of American Thought"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 5 1930-1931 "Our Heritage: A Study of Early American History in Relation to Present-day Problems"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 5 1931-1932 "What Price Progress: A Study of Current American Problems"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 5 1932-1933 "What Men Live By"
Clippings
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 5 1933-1934 "This New Leisure"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1934-1935 "Africa in the Twentieth Century"
Clippings
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1935-1936 "Journeys on the Hobby Horse"
Film (8mm) taken at the home of Mrs. Henry Phillips, October 1935
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1936-1937 "These United States: Foundations and Functions of Government with Allied Subjects"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1937-1938 "Mankind Fares as the Pioneer Dares"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1938-1939 "The Development of the English Novel"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 6 1939-1940 "American Exports"
Minutes of meetings
Photograph "Portfolio Club Christmas Play" (1939) by Preston Mitchell
Program booklet
Box 7 1940-1941 "New Horizons in Living"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1941-1942 "Western Hemisphere"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1942-1943 "The Constant Goal"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1943-1944 "Peace-Times in War-Times"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1944-1945 "Golden Ages in the Development of Our Country"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1945 The Portfolio Club: Our Ten Years 1935-1945 by Louise K. French
Box 7 1945-1946 "Russia - 'The Great Fact'"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1946-1947 "China"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1947-1948 "Significant Trends in American Life and Thought"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1948-1949 "Music Hath Charms"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1949-1950 "Let Freedom Ring"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
1950-1975
Box 7 1950-1951 "This Is Our Century, What Shall We Make of It?"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1951-1952 "The International Pattern"
Annual report
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 7 1952-1953 "The American Woman: The Feminine Side of a Masculine Civilization"
Annual report
Clippings
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1953-1954 "The World Around Us"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1954-1955 "Great Books"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1955 "The Portfolio Club 1945-1955: The Years of Search" by Preston Settle Mitchell
Box 8 1955-1956 "Men of Religion"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1956-1957 "The Theatre - A Living Art"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1957-1958 "The Flowering of Our Prose Masters: A Literary Renaissance"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1958-1959 "The Indians of the Americas"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1959-1960 "Profiles of Our Present Day Janus"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1960-1961 "Africa in the Modern World"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1961-1962 "The World Within: A Study of Human Personality"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1962-1963 "What Is Art?"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1963-1964 "Italy"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 8 1964-1965 "Saints & Sinners"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1965-1966 "The Opera... A Mirror of Its Time"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1966-1967 "A Potpourri of Art Forms"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1967-1968 "Classical Greece - Our Heritage"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1968-1996 Financial records
Box 9 1968-1969 "Some Enchanted Islands"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1969-1970 "Communication: The Most Important Business of Man and Beast"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1970-1971 "Change in the Twentieth Century or Questions Portfolians Ask in a Turbulent Period of History"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1971-1972 "The Restless Emerald"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 9 1972-1973 "New York - Our State: People, Places, and Happenings of Interest to Its History"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations: Feb. 19 - "Pioneer Years of Syracuse University"
Box 9 1973-1974 "Israel"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations: Feb. 18 - "Economic, Cultural, and Governmental Achievements of Israel"
Box 9 1974-1975 "Portfolio: Retrospect and Expectation"
Minutes of meetings
Photograph
Program booklet
Box 10 1975 One Hundredth Birthday Party
Clippings
Correspondence
Guest book
"Portfolio Club: A Goodly Heritage 1875-1975"
Program booklet
1975-2000
Box 10 1975-1976 "Parapsychology"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 10 1976-1977 "People Make the Difference"
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations: Feb. 28 - "Mary McLeod Bethune"
Box 10 1977-1978 "Ethnicity in America - The Challenge of Diversity"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Box 10 1978-1979 "Humor in American Literature: The Most Elusive of the Arts"
Program booklet
Box 10 1979-1980 "Contemporary American Religious Movements: New Vessels for the Ancient Wisdom"
Correspondence
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations: Mar. 17 - "Unification Church"
Box 10 1980-1981 "Profiles of the Oriental Mind: China and Japan"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 11 1981-1982 "Around the World in Eighty Ways"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 11 1982-1983 "The Political History of Canada Seen through the Lives of Its Prime Ministers"
Pastel portrait of John D. MacDonald, by Betty Maltby, is in Oversize 2.
Correspondence
Notes
Program booklet
Box 11 1983-1984 "Courageous People and Their Adventures"
Program booklet
Box 11 1984-1985 "The World of Islam"
Program booklet
Box 11 1985-1986 "Quality of Life in the 21st Century: A 2020 Vision"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 7 - "Family Life"
Oct. 21 - "Work Places"
Nov. 4 - "Health Care"
Nov. 18 - "Education"
Dec. 2 - "The Older Americans"
Jan. 20 - "Housing"
Feb. 3 - "Cities"
Feb. 17 - "Environment"
Mar. 3 - "Societal Dropouts"
Mar. 17 - "Leisure Time"
Apr. l 7 - "Communication"
Box 11 1986-1987 "Middle America: A Mosaic of Peoples, Places, and Cultures"
Correspondence
Program booklet
Box 12 1987-1988 "Great Rivers of the World: Their Contribution to Our Cultural Heritage"
Correspondence
Memorial tribute "Memorial to Alberta King" by Bette Maltby
Program booklet
Box 12 1988-1989 "The Designing of America: An Evolutionary Process of History, the Architecture of Society, Man's Ingenuity as the Driving Force"
Program booklet
Box 12 1989-1990 "Creators of Art in America"
Program booklet
Box 12 1990-1991 "Environmental Citizenship: Some Insights; Some Issues; Some Ideas"
Guest Day Committee report
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 1 - "A Native American Speaks"
Oct. 15 - "Form & Pattern; Time & Rhythm"
Nov. 19 - "Migration"
Feb. 4 - "Endangered Species"
Feb. 18 - "The Land - Conservation; Restoration"
Mar. 4 - "Environmental Study: Teaching Our Youth"
Mar. 18 - "International Solutions; Joint Initiatives"
Box 12 1991-1992 "Legendary Faces, Legendary Places: Legend as Man's Link with the Past"
Audio tape "First Meeting 1991-92"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 21 - "Princess Elissa - Founder of Carthage"
Nov. 4 - "King Minos of Crete"
Nov. 18 - "The Search for Troy"
Dec. 2 - "Atlantis, the Fantasy Island"
Dec. 16 - "A Legendary Christmas"
Jan. 20 - "Babylon the Great"
Feb. 8 - "Brendan the Navigator
Mar. 2 - "Boudissa, the Warrior Queen"
Mar. 16 - "The Romance of Arthur"
Box 12 1992-1993 "Resetting the American Table"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 5 - "Revisiting the Basics"
Oct. 19 - "Food Habits Around the World"
Dec. 7 - "Safe at the Plate"
Dec. 21 - "Critique - Cookbooks, Recipes"
Feb. 1 - "Veggies"
Feb. 15 - "Minerals Women Need Most"
Mar. 1 - "Grandma Called It Roughage"
Mar. 15 - "Feeding the Kids Isn't Easy"
Apr. 5 - "Flowering Delights, Lawn Food, Herbs and Spices"
Box 13 1993-1994 "Reforming Our Health Care Delivery System"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 4 - "Our Present Health Care Delivery System"
Oct. 18 - "Payors for Health Care Delivery"
Nov. 15 - "Providers of Health Care"
Dec. 6 - "Long Term Care"
Dec. 20 - "Celebrating Good Health"
Jan. 17 - "The Right to Die"
Feb. 21 - "Jane and John Q. Public's Relationship to the New System"
Mar. 7 - "The Role of Medicines in Health Care"
Mar. 21 - "Is Managed Competition the Route to Go?"
Apr. 4 - "The Projected U.S. Health Care Reform Plan"
Box 13 1994-1995 "Selected Operatic Women Characters, Are They Our Sisters?"
Memorial tribute "In Memory of Gladys Hunter"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 3 - "Lucia"
Oct. 17 - "Gilda"
Nov. 7 - "Violetta"
Nov. 21 - "Selika"
Dec. 5 - "Carmen"
Feb. 6 - "Nedda"
Mar. 20 - "Princess Turandot"
Apr. 3 - "Bess"
Box 13 1995-1996 "The Pacific Rim"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Nov. 20 - "Thailand"
Dec. 4 - "Vietnam"
Oct. 2 - "Indonesia"
Mar. 18 - "China"
Apr. 1 - "Japan"
Box 13 1996-1997 "Ten Trials of the Century: Was Justice Served?"
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 7 - "Sacco & Vanzetti"
Oct. 21 - "Scopes - Monkey Trial"
Nov. 4 - "The Lindberg Kidnapping Case"
Nov. 18 - "The Nuremberg Trial"
Jan. - "The Sheppard Trial"
Feb. 3 - "The Chicago Seven Cospiracy Trial"
Mar. 17 - "The O.J. Simpson Trial"
Apr. 7 - "Summary of Findings and Conclusion to the Study"
No date: The Charles Manson trial; "The Rosenberg Case"; "The Trial of Patty Hearst"
Box 13 1997-1998 "Through the Eyes of a Child"
Annual report
Clippings
Correspondence
Corresponding Secretary's report
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 6 - "History of Children's Literature"
Oct. 20 - "Artists and Their Illustrations"
Nov. 3 - "Picture Books"
Nov. 17 - "Traditional Literature"
Dec. 15 - "Christmas - The Legend of St. Nicholas and the Christmas Story"
Jan. 19 - "Children's Poetry"
Feb. 2 - "Contemporary Realistic Fiction"
Mar. 2 - "Multicultural Children's Literature"
Mar. 16 - "Nonfiction: Biographies, Informational Books"
Apr. 6 - "Award Books / Censorship"
Box 14 1998-1999 "The New Global Economy" (11 folders)
Correspondence
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 5 - "History of Economics"
Oct. 19 - "Unplanned Forces Which Led to a New System"
Nov. 2 - "The International Monetary Fund"
Nov. 16 - "The European Union"
Dec. 7 - "Regional Alliances: Cultural Complications"
Dec. 21 - "Portfolio Christmas Program"
Jan. 18 - "Asia: a Single Nation & Trading Bloc"
Feb. 1 - "Implications for the Future of Education and Work"
Mar. 1 - "Global Consumerism"
Mar. 15 - "The Biggest Global Business of All"
Apr. 5 - "Short-Term Predictions, Long-Term Implications"
Box 14 1999-2000 "The Nations 2000" (12 folders)
Program booklet
Minutes
Historian's report
Program presentations:
Oct. 4 - "Pre-History"
Oct. 18 - "Contact History 1492-1974"
Nov. 1 - "Science, Math, Health"
Nov. 15 - "Education"
Dec. 6 - " Economics and Gambling"
Dec. 21 - "Portfolio Christmas Program"
Jan. 17 - "Culture: Arts, Religion, Environment"
Feb. 21 - "Government"
Mar. 6 - "An Indian Woman"
Mar. 20 - "The Iroquois Nation to 1974"
Apr. 3 - "The Oneida Indian Land Claim: Long-term Implications"
2000-2009
Box 14 2000-2001 "A Celebration of Women" (13 folders)
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 2 - "A Celebration - 125 Years"
Oct. 16 - "The Ceramics Collection at the Everson Museum"
Nov. 6 - "Eleanor Roosevelt (1884-1962)"
Nov. 20 - "Margaret Sanger (1879-1966); Marie Curie (1867-1934"
Dec. 4 - "Golda Meir (1898-1978)"
Dec. 18 - "Celebrating Christmas"
Jan. 15 - "Women of Words"
Feb. 5 - "Women Who Focus on Life"
Feb. 19 - "The Medieval Women"
Mar. 5 - "Women in Law"
Apr. 2 - "Mother Teresa (1910-1997)"
Box 14-15 2001-2002 "Angels, Goddesses, and Witches" (14 folders)
Historian's report
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 1 - "Heralding the Angels"
Oct. 15 - " Angels in America"
Nov. 5 - " Angels in the Information Age"
Nov. 19 - "Poles Apart: Empirical Angels at the Fin de Siècle"
Dec. 3 - "The Great Goddess"
Dec. 19 - "A Celebration of the Season with Angels"
Jan. 21 - "The Goddesses Within"
Feb. 18 - "The Double Helix"
Mar. 4 - "The History of Witchcraft"
Mar. 18 - "Ritual Belief: Theory and Practice"
Apr. 1 - "The Witches Among Us"
Box 15 2002-2003 " Understanding the Brain: History and Mystery Revealed" (16 folders)
Historian's report
Minutes of meetings
Program booklet
Program presentations:
Oct. 7 - "Early Explorers of the Nervous System"
Oct. 21 - " Nineteenth Century Researchers of the Brain"
Nov. 4 - " The Twentieth Century: An Explosion of Knowledge"
Nov. 18 - "Steven Pinker's 'The Language Instinct'"
Dec. 2 - "The Five Senses: Sight, Sound, Smell, Touch & Taste"
Dec. 16 - "A Christmas Portfolio Program of Song, Dance, and Verse"
Jan. 20 - "The Emotions"
Feb. 3 - "Memory"
Feb. 17 - "'To Sleep? Perchance to Dream...' Sigmund Freud and the State of Psychoanalysis"
Mar. 3 - "Reassessing Psychiatry in the 21st Century: Treating the Dysfunctional Mind"
Mar. 17 - "Intelligence"
Apr. 7 - "Consciousness and the Mind/Brain Controversy"
Apr. 28 - President's luncheon
Box 15 2003-2004 "Seeking Peace" (2 folders)
Program booklet
Historian's report
Minutes of meetings
Program presentations:
Oct. 6 - "Hiroshima and Nagasaki"
Oct. 20 - " South Africa"
Nov. 3 - " The Cold War"
Nov. 17 - "The Middle East"
Dec. 1 - "Jerusalem"
Dec. 15 - "Let There Be Peace"
Jan. 19 - "Northern Ireland: The Troubles"
Feb. 2 - "'The Peace Movement"
Feb. 17 - "The Nobel Peace Prize"
Mar. 1 - "The Peace Corps"
Mar. 15 - "The United Nations"
Apr. 5 - "A Reflection"
Apr. 26 - President's luncheon
Box 15 2004-2005 "The World of Music" (2 folders)
Program booklet
Program presentations, musical exerpts on CD-ROM:
Oct. 4 - "The Early Roots of Music" (no representations exist)
Oct. 18 - "Medieval Music"
Nov. 1 - " Music of the Renaissance"
Nov. 15 - "Music of the Far East"
Dec. 6 - "African Music"
Dec. 20 - "Christmas program" (guest performers Laura Enslin and Sar Shalom Strong)
Jan. 17 - "Early Music of Black America"
Feb. 7 - "'Great Symphonies and their Conductors"
Feb. 21 - "Rock and Roll"
Mar. 7 - "Music of the Baroque Era"
Mar. 21 - "Protest and Folk Music"
Apr. 4 - "Hip Hop and Rap"
Apr. 18(25) - President's luncheon
Box 15 2005-2006 "Trading: From the Silk Road to the Electronic Highway" (1 folder)
Program booklet only
Box 16 2006-2007 "I am Woman — Who am I?" (3 folders)
Program booklet
historian's report
minutes
Program presentations:
Oct. 2- "Menses, Menopause and More...The Physical"
Oct. 16 - "The Fountain of Youth: Life Begins at 60"
Nov. 6- " A Woman's Health"
Nov. 20 - "Women and Leadership in Government and Business"
Dec. 4 - "Women as Role Models: Fashion, Media, Entertainment, Sports"
Dec. 18 - "Motherhood: A Celebration of Mothers, Mothering, and Mary"
Jan. 15 - "Mother-Daughter Relationships"
Feb. 5 - "Women Empowering Women in our World"
Feb. 19 - "Women and Philanthropy"
Mar. 5 - "Women in the Workplace"
Mar. 19 - "People, Places, and Things Which Inspire Us"
Apr. 2 - "This & That: Hints, Tips, Wives' Tales, Discoveries and Advice"
Apr. 17 - President's luncheon
Box xx 2007-2008 "Nature's Voice: Humankind's Standpoint" (xx folders)
Program booklet
historian's report
minutes
Program presentations:
[list topics]
Undated
Box 16 Binders for minutes
Box 16 Clippings
Box 16 Constitution and by-laws
Box 16 "The Knickerbocker Children"
Box 16 Memorial tribute to Gertrude Robertson, Tribute to Nancy Marquardt
Box 16 "Portfolio Club - Schedule for Secretary/President" (1996-2011)
Box 16 "A Touch of Tiffany" by Dorothy K. White
Box 16 Miscellaneous notes
Supplemental material
Oversize 1 Clipping, "The Families of Early Syracuse," about Mary Dana Hicks Prang
Oversize 1 Collages from club's 125th anniversary luncheon 2000
Oversize 1 Exhibit material 2008 - gathered or produced for the exhibit on the Portfolio Club; clippings, photographs, research material, etc.
Oversize 1 Group photo of club members 2008
Ida Bond papers 1900-1928 - papers presented by club member Ida Bond
RESTRICTED: Unprocessed - accessible by special permission only