Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education (IMLE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: Oct 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education
Title: Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education (IMLE) Records
Dates: 1979
Quantity: .25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers from the Harvard University-based institute. Most consists of material from case studies used in the first year of the program
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education, a product of Harvard University's School of Education, began in 1979. IMLE is a summer leadership seminar designed to provide experienced education administrators an intensive immersion in strategies for and management of change in their field. Techniques include classes, case studies, presentations, discussion, videos, and role plays. It has since been renamed the Institute for Management and Leadership in Education.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education (IMLE) Records consists of Program information (a directory and some general introductory information on the case study method) and Case studies (material from four case studies used in the program). The majority of the material comes from a single case study entitled "Davis College."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The development of the case study method and its dissemination into various fields of study, particularly public administration, was substantially assisted and influenced by the Inter-University Case Program. The [Link to external file "../i/icp.htm"] , including over a hundred published case studies, reside at the Special Collections Research Center.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Institute for Management and Leadership in Education
Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education

Subjects

Adult education, Administration
Case method, Study and teaching, United States
Universities and colleges, Administration

Genres and Forms

Case studies
Directories
Fliers

Occupations

Educators

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education (IMLE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jacques House, Georgia Center for Continuing Education


Table of Contents

Program information

Case studies


Inventory

Program information
Box 1 Directory, first program 1979
Box 1 Introduction to the case study method 1979
Case studies
Box 1 Coastal Military Installation 1979
Box 1 Davis College 1979 (3 folders)
Box 1 Midwestern University 1979
Box 1 Mojave University 1979