Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Harold Willard Gleason Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Apr 1966

Biographical History

Harold Willard Gleason (1895-??) was an American poet and teacher.

Born July 31, 1895, he was educated in Boston Latin School, Harvard, and Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut. From 1917-1946 he taught in the English Department at Kingswood School in West Hartford, Connecticut, and served as head of the department from 1923-1946.

Gleason was an instructor in verse, Maine Writers' Conference in 1953-1957. He was a member of the Classical Association of New England, Poetry Society of America, Poetry Fellowship of Maine, and the Sons of the American Revolution.

A variety of his works have appeared in the Anthology of Kingswood Verse. At least ninety national magazines and newspapers have published his works, among them The New Yorker, Poetry, New York Times, American Mercury, Coronet, Good Housekeeping, and the Saturday Evening Post.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Gleason Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, and manuscripts of poems. The latter spans more than forty years.

Arrangement of the Collection

Outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically, incoming alphabetically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Manuscripts are in chronological order by year.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Gleason, Harold Willard -- Archives.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Willard Gleason Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject file

Manuscripts

Inventory