Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2007

Revision history:
20 Dec 2010 additions (MRC)
12 Jul 2010 additions (MRC)
7 Dec 2009 additions (MRC)
19 Oct 2009 additions (MRC)
19 Mar 2009 additions (MRC)
3 Dec 2008 additions (MRC)
10 Jul 2008 adds (MRC)
26 Mar 2008 adds (MRC)
6 Oct 2011 adds; inclusive dates updated (MRC)
15 Oct 2012 adds; minor reorg. (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection
Dates: 1805-2002
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Miscellaneous printed material and correspondence relating to cultural life in Central New York. Theatres, clubs, musical performances, academic commencements, local politics, sporting events, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection contains miscellaneous printed material and correspondence relating to cultural life in Central New York, including musical and theatrical performances, lectures, clubs and hobbies, academic and sports events, local politics, and more.

Individuals of interest represented in the collection include Israel Zangwill, a Russian Jewish author; Capt. Archibald B. Snow, "actor, author, vocalist, impressionist, humorist and entertainer"; Melville Clark, inventor of the Clark Irish Harp; and Charlie Brown, a local salesman and musician who led his own dance orchestra for many years. Local politicians are also represented, including Averell Harriman, Lee Alexander and James M. Hanley; there are also two items relating to John F. Kennedy.

Among the institutions represented are Hamilton College, Cortland County Teachers' Institute, Madison University (later Colgate University), several local theatres (Empire, Bastable, Crescent, Temple, more) and many more.


Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are arranged alphabetically within each series; Correspondence, Legal documents and programs from the various theaters are arranged chronologically within each folder.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the following:

Dave Salmon Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera
Portfolio Club Records
Society for New Music Archive
Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records
Nancy Ann White Correspondence


Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Lee, -1996.
Brown, Charles F.
Clark, Melville.
Hanley, James M., 1920-2003.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
Roddy, Edith J.
Zangwill, Israel, 1864-1926.

Corporate Bodies

Dauber's Club.
Pastime Athletic Club.
Syracuse University Flying Club.

Subjects

Freemasons -- New York (State)
Local government -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Theater -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

Places

Cortland (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Ithaca (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Societies and clubs.
Utica (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Membership cards.
Photographs.
Posters.
Programs (documents)
Scrapbooks.
Tickets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Core collection of theatre material purchased with funds from Library Associates.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Legal documents

Photographs

Printed material

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Mattice, A. (Rev.) 1923, 1944 - principal of Fort Plain Seminary, Fort Plain, New York
Box 1 Zangwill, Israel 1923, 1944 - author
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1805-1960 (gaps) - includes letter to Nixon from Syracuse resident
Legal documents
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1814-1890 (gaps), undated
Photographs
Oversize 2 Pastime Athletic Club 1905 - photograph
Box 1 Miscellaneous - Syracuse, Manlius Village, Ithaca Conservatory of Music, Utica, Naples, more
Printed material
Academics and sports
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1862-1923, 2002, undated
See also Photographs: Pastime Athletic Club.
Music and theatre
Box 1 B. F. Keith's Theatre 1914, 1923, undated - programs, postcards
Box 1 Bastable Theatre circa 1895-1922
Box 1 Charlie Brown (bands) 1924-1930, 1969 - scrapbook of clippings; some correspondence
Box 1 Clark, Melville 1908, 1910 - lecture/concert programs
See also related collections: Melville Clark Papers and Clark Music Company Records.
Box 1 Crescent Theatre circa 1895-1922
Box 1 Empire Theatre 1901-1922
Oversize 1 Grand Opera House (H.A. Jacobs)
Box 1 Temple Theatre 1916, 1925, 1928, undated
Box 1 Valley Theatre circa 1910-1915
Wieting Opera House
Box 1 1892-1914
Box 2 1914-1928
Box 2 Undated
Oversize 1 Oversize undated
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous posters - theatre performances
Map-Case 102 Miscellaneous posters - theatre performances and circus
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Politics
Box 2 Alexander, Lee 1972-1973, 1978 - holiday cards, article about
Box 2 Hanley, James M. 1968-1971 - campaign material, form letter to supporters, holiday cards
Box 2 Onondaga County Democratic Committee 1958-1968 - includes program from John F. Kennedy Inaugural Ball (1961) and, in the March for Democrats booklet (1964), an "In Memoriam" page; official program book from 1962 New York State Democratic Convention; more
Oversize 1 Vietnam-era anti-war poster
Box 2 Women's Democratic Club 1964-1970 - includes a few manuscript items
Box 2 Miscellaneous - includes a few manuscript items
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Onondaga County History Portfolio - series of colored plates on Onondaga County history published by the Onondaga Savings Bank in a portfolio format
Box 2 Miscellaneous - includes Oswego Centennial stamps, ribbon from Soldiers and Sailors Memorial dedication, New York State Fair items, much more
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous - page from Harper's Weekly, "Reaping at Syracuse," text and illustration, 1 August 1857
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Daubers Club 1941-1942
Box 2 Masons / Freemasons - assorted material relating to local Masonic Lodges
Box 2 Syracuse University Flying Club 1929 - correspondence; ticket stubs; printed material; ledger with minutes of the meeting
Oversize 2 Scrapbook - bound volume; originally held banking accounts, but pages have been pasted over with advertisements, clipping, pictures, etc.
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous (oversize) - certificates of appointment