Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Prentice Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Prentice, John Franklin, 1920-
Title: John Prentice Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1956-1968
Bulk Dates: 1956-1965
Quantity: 18.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 2,000 original daily comic strips for Rip Kirby, one piece of original artwork for Brenda Starr, sketches and promotional material
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Franklin Prentice (1920-1999) was an American illustrator and comic strip artist.

Born Oct 17, 1920 in Whitney, Texas, John Prentice enlisted and served with the U.S. Navy for six years, including at Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. After his military service, Prentice attended the Art Institute of Pittsburgh and moved to New York City where he did freelance work in the form of advertising art, magazine covers, comic books and editorial illustrations. Prentice’s comic book work included penciling and inking for Hillman, DC and Features Comics.

In 1956, Rip Kirby comic strip creator Alex Raymond died suddenly following a car accident. Prentice joined King Features Syndicate as Raymond’s replacement while the strip continued to be written by Fred Dickenson. In the 1980s, Prentice took over writing duties for Rip Kirby as well, continuing the strip until its conclusion in the 1990s.

Prentice drew the strip for 43 years, receiving the National Cartoonist Society's (NCS) Story Newspaper Strip Award in 1966, 1967, and 1986. He was a member of the Society of Illustratiors and NCS.

John Prentice died on May 23, 1999 in Connecticut.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Prentice Cartoons are divided into three series. The main series, Comic Strips (1956-1966) consists of approximately 2,227 original daily Rip Kirby comic strips and also one original comic strip for Brenda Starr drawn by Dale Messick and dated December 18, 1957. Rip Kirby storylines include "Armored Car", "Mother Fagin", "Dr. Pretty Petal", "Dr. Lee's Formula" and "His Majesty, Sheik of Alibar" (all from 1964).

Original artwork for Rip Kirby measures approximately 6 1/4" x 20" to 6 3/4" x 23". Prentice worked with brush, pen and ink on illustration board. The artwork also contains traces of pencil, blue pencil and zipatone dot screening. Notations appear in the borders in ballpoint pen and pencil; engraver's stamps appear on the back. Several cartoons from January 1965 have copyright stickers from 1964 as do several pieces from January 1966 with stickers from 1965.

Sketches contains undated ink and pencil sketches on parchment paper. Some sketches are on loose paper and there is also a sketchbook.

Promotional Material (1968) is comprised of one item promoting Rip Kirby from King Features Syndicate.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Strips are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Prentice, John Franklin, 1920-

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Brenda Starr (comic strip)
Rip Kirby (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc.
Detective and mystery comic books, strips, etc.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Comic strips.
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Prentice Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Prentice, 1967-1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: Dec 1968
Revision history: 2 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 29 Jun 2010 - added detailed bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Comic Strips
Rip Kirby (2,227 items)
Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 1 1956 Jan, 1956 Oct-Dec, 1957 Jan-Apr
Oversize 2 1957 May-Oct
Oversize 3 1957 Nov-1958 Jul
Oversize 4 1958 Jun-Dec
Oversize 5 1959 Jan-Jun
Oversize 6 1959 Jul-Dec
Oversize 7 1960 Jan-Jul
Oversize 8 1960 Aug-1961 Feb
Oversize 9 1961 Mar-Dec
Oversize 10 1962
Oversize 11 1963 Jan-Jun
Oversize 12 1963 Jul-Dec
Oversize 13 1964 Jan-Jun
Oversize 14 1964 Jul-Dec
Oversize 15 1965 Jan-Jun
Oversize 16 1965 Jul-Dec
Oversize 17 1966 Jan-Mar, 1966 Oct
Brenda Starr by Dale Messick (1 item)
Map-Case 1, Drawer 100 Dec 18 1957 - original comic strip artwork 7" x 22"
Sketches 9"x12"
Box 1 Sketchbook before 1968
Box 1 Loose sketches undated
Promotional Material
Box 1 King Features promotional material for Rip Kirby 1968 (1 item)

Return to top