Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frederick J. Pohl Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pohl, Frederick Julius, 1889-1991.
Title: Frederick J. Pohl Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1967.
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: The papers of the American author of books about the pre-Columbian exploration and discovery of the New World contain correspondence (1944-1963, 1967), mostly of Hjalmar Holand; notes; and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick Julius Pohl was born in Durham, New York, in 1889. He received his bachelor's degree from Amherst College and his master's degree from Columbia University. Pohl's books include The Sinclair Expedition to Nova Scotia in 1398 (1950); The Lost Discovery (1952); The Vikings on Cape Cod (1957); Atlantic Crossings Before Columbus (1961); The Viking Explorers (1966); and Amerigo Vespucci (1966). He was a contributor to Rhode Island History, New England Quarterly, American-Scandinavian Review, Archaeology, and Shakespeare Newsletter. He died in 1991.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The papers of Frederick Julius Pohl consist of Correspondence, Manuscripts and Published material. Correspondence (13 folders) spans 1944-1963 and 1967 and includes letters to and letters from Mr. Pohl, interfiled and arranged alphabetically by name. Manuscripts (1 folder) contains notes written by Mr. Pohl in 1947 and 1949 and others that are undated. Published material (2 folders) consists of newspaper articles from 1948 and 1963.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Holand, Hjalmar Rued, 1872-1963.
Pohl, Frederick Julius, 1889-1991.

Subjects

Authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick J. Pohl Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Apr 1967
Revision history: Oct 1975 - Biog. rev. (-); 15 Feb 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
G-Howard Holand
Box 1 1947, 1963, 1967
Hjalmar Holand
Box 1 1944-1945
Box 1 1946
Box 1 1947
Box 1 1948
Box 1 1949-1950
Box 1 1951-1952
Box 1 1953-1954
Box 1 1955-1957
Box 1 1958-1960
Box 1 1961-1963
Hough-R
Box 1 1946-1948, 1961-1963
S-T and unidentified
Box 1 1947, 1951-1952, 1954, 1956, 1960-1961, undated
Manuscripts
Notes
Box 1 1947, 1949, undated
Published material
Newspaper articles about H.R. Holand
Box 1 1963
Newspaper articles by
Box 1 1948

Return to top