Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A. Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A.
Title: Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A. Collection
Inclusive Dates: before 1961
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Collection consists of photographs of the exterior of the Plasticos Industriales Extrusos plant and product literature in Spanish of the Plinex line manufactured by Plasticos Industriales Extrusos.
Language: Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A. was a plastics manufacturer in Havana, Cuba. The company was nationalized in 1961, after the revolution and overthrow of Batista’s government, along with other Cuban companies owned by upper and middle-class Cubans, as well as foreign-owned businesses.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A. Collection consists of three photographs of the exterior of the Plasticos Industriales Extrusos plant, engineered to be a model in extrusion plant design, and product literature in Spanish of the Plinex line manufactured by Plasticos Industriales Extrusos. The product literature series also includes a brochure from Monsanto Rigid Vinyl Panels. Date of photographs and literature are unknown although thought to be from before its nationalization in 1961.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged into series by format.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Monsanto Company.
Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A.

Subjects

Plastics industry and trade -- South America.
Plastics plants -- Cuba.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Photographs.

Occupations

Manufacturing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Plasticos Industriales Extrusos, S.A. Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Luis Gomez, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 2 Mar 2009 - made into SC (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 295 Plasticos Industriales plant - facade, roof, roof detail (3 items)
Product literature
SC 295 Plinex
SC 295 Monsanto Rigid Vinyl Panels

Return to top