Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Plastics Hall of Fame Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: The Plastics Academy, Inc.
Title: Plastics Hall of Fame Records
Inclusive Dates: 1973-2012
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft
Abstract: Records of the Plastics Academy related to the organization of the Plastics Hall of Fame containing correspondence, organizational notes, meeting minutes, member lists, press clippings, nomination forms, biographies, photographs, event information, induction ceremony programs and other materials related to the Plastics Hall of Fame.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Plastics Hall of Fame is an industry educational organization founded to celebrate those "who, through dedication, work and accomplishment have contributed most significantly to the growth and success of the plastics industry." In October of 1972, Modern Plastics magazine in cooperation with The Society of the Plastics Industry (SPI) established the Plastics Hall of Fame. The first induction took place during the National Plastics Exposition and Conference held in Chicago from November 5 to 9, 1973. In 1974 the concept was expanded to include posthumous induction into the Hall of Fame to honor great contributors to the plastics industry. In 1976, Modern Plastics shifted responsibility for inducting members to the Society of the Plastics Industry (SPI) and after the 1982 event, the Plastics Academy Inc. (a tax exempt organization), was founded to manage the Hall of Fame nominations and inductions.

[Adapted from information given on the Plastics Academy website, http://www.plasticsacademy.org.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Plastics Hall of Fame Records contains correspondence, organizational notes, meeting minutes, member lists, press clippings, nomination forms, biographies, photographs, event information, induction ceremony programs and other materials related to the organization.

Administrative material contains documents regarding the operation of the organization including bylaws, nomination forms, procedural documents, membership lists, press releases, and relevant correspondence to and from the Plastics Hall of Fame. Also included are materials associated with the National Plastics Center & Museum, such as project estimates, floor plans, and exhibition drawings.

Nominations and inductions includes biographies and photographs of members of the Plastics Hall of Fame as well as materials relating to their nominations including nomination forms, letters of recommendation, articles, and additional biographical information. This series also contains materials relating to Plastics Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, such as notes and memos, event plans, program scripts, invitations, and event programs.

Publications contains newspaper and magazine articles relating to the organization and members of the Plastics Hall of Fame. Also included are studies and research publications relating to plastics in building construction.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by subject.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Plastics Center & Museum.
Plastics Hall of Fame.
Society of the Plastics Industry.
The Plastics Academy, Inc.

Subjects

Plastics -- Research.
Plastics industry and trade -- History.
Plastics industry and trade -- Technological innovations.
Plastics industry and trade -- United States -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Programs(documents)
Reports.

Occupations

Businessmen.
Engineers.
Inventors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Plastics Hall of Fame Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of National Plastics Center and Museum, 2010.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SDG
Date: 29 Jul 2011
Revision history: Mar 2012 - updated (SCJ); 10 Feb 2014 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Administrative material
Box 1 Bylaws, Plastics Academy 23 Jan 1998
Box 1 Correspondence - includes Plastics Hall of Fame, inductees, and members of the plastics industry
Box 1 Elections and procedures (4 folders)
Box 1 Membership lists - Plastics Academy members and Plastics Hall of Fame inductees
Box 1 Minutes 1998
Box 1 Museum and exhibitions - National Plastics Center and Museum, and Plastics Hall of Fame exhibitions
Box 1 Newsletters 1992-1998 - Plastics Academy Newsletter vols 4-8, multiple copies
Box 1 Press releases 1976-1998
Box 2 Recommendations, administration
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1976-1998 - includes introductory speeches, internal and external communications, membership application, and a cd-r with images of trophies and medals
Nominations and inductions
Box 2 Biographies of hall of fame inductees (2 folders)
Box 2 Induction ceremony 1976-1979 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers (2 folders)
Box 2 Induction ceremony 1982 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers (2 folders)
Box 3 Induction ceremony 1982 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers
Box 3 Induction ceremony programs 1973-1979, 1982-1988, 1991-1997, 2006, 2008 2009, 2011-2012 (3 folders)
Box 3 Nomination materials - forms, schedules, deadlines
Box 3 Nominations 1972-1973 - forms, letters of recommendation, biographies, etc. (3 folders)
Box 4 Nominations 1976, 1979, 1982, 1993-1998 - forms, letters of recommendation, biographies, etc. (6 folders)
Box 4 Nominations, posthumous - correspondence, forms, etc.
Box 4 Photographs of nominees (2 folders)
Box 5 Photographs of nominees (3 folders)
Publications
Box 5 Articles and publications 1994-2009 - clippings and magazine articles relating to the Plastics Hall of Fame and inductees, and issues of Plastic Academy News
Box 5 Research publications
Booklet "Final Technical Report IITRI Project J8142 Corridor Flame Spread"
Photographs of fire damage
Large slides of fire damage
SMANCA, "Thermoplastic Duct (PVC) Construction Manual" 1974
Ashrae Standard, "Energy Conservation in New Building Design" 1975

Return to top