Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Pere Marquette Railway Company Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pere Marquette Railway.
Title: Pere Marquette Railway Records
Inclusive Dates: 1867-1955
Quantity: 65 linear ft.
Abstract: Journals, ledgers, reports, other documents from the Pere Marquette Railway, its predecessor the Pere Marquette Railroad, and various subsidiary companies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Pere Marquette Railway was an American railroad that operated in the Great Lakes region, with trackage in Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Ontario, Canada. It was first incorporated in 1900 as the Pere Marquette Railroad, being a merger of several Michigan railroads, and reincorporated as the Pere Marquette Railway in 1917. Both companies were named for Father Jacques Marquette (1637-1675), a French Jesuit missionary who founded Michigan's first European settlement at Sault Ste. Marie. The railroad's primary connections included Buffalo, Toledo, and Chicago, and it also operated several rail car ferries on the Detroit and St. Clair Rivers, and on Lake Erie and Lake Michigan.

The Pere Marquette merged with the Chesapeake and Ohio in 1947 and subsequently became part of CSX, but the original railway has not been forgotten. In 1987 Amtrak, the American passenger rail system, named its service between Grand Rapids (Michigan) and Chicago the Pere Marquette, and the 2004 film The Polar Express featured a steam locomotive that was a faithful reproduction of an original Pere Marquette engine, No. 1225. This engine is the last operable PM steam locomotive, and is still used for tourist excursions under the auspices of the Michigan State Trust for Railway Preservation (MSTRP).

[Some information obtained from the Pere Marquette Historical Society, http://www.pmhistsoc.org, and the Michigan State Trust for Railway Preservation, http://www.mstrp.com.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Pere Marquette Railway Records contain administrative and financial records of the Pere Marquette Railway and its predecessor and subsidiary companies. The material includes journals, ledgers, day books, reports to stockholders, stock transfer books, ICC reports and other items. All companies represented in the collection are listed in the inventory below.

The collection does not include any personnel or employee files.

Volumes should be requested by full description and desired date(s). For example, to request the general journals of the Chicago and Michigan Lake Shore Railroad from 1880 (see figure below), the full description would be "Pere Marquette Railway Records > Chicago and Michigan Lake Shore Railroad > Financial papers > General journals > 1880."

Sample Pere Marquette request

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Volumes are arranged alphabetically by company name and within that alphabetically by type of record (e.g. day books, journals, ledgers).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of many regional American railroads and related companies. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Central Land Company.
Chicago and Michigan Lake Shore Railroad.
Chicago and Western Michigan Railway.
Detroit, Grand Rapids and Western Railroad.
Detroit, Lansing and Lake Michigan Railroad.
Detroit, Lansing and Northern Railroad.
Flint Belt Railroad Company.
Flint and Pere Marquette Railroad.
Fort Street Union Depot Company.
Grand Rapids Northern and Lake Shore Railroad
Grand Rapids Terminal Belt Railway Company.
Green Real Estate Company.
Lake Erie Coal Company Limited.
Lake Erie and Detroit River Railway Company.
Lake Erie, Essex and Detroit Railroad Company.
Marquette and Bessenn Dock and Navigation Company.
Pere Marquette Railroad.
Pere Marquette Railway.
Pere Marquette Steamship Company.
Pontiac Belt Railroad Company.
Saginaw Tuscola and Huron Railroad Company.
Saginaw Valley and St. Louis Railroad Company.
United States. -- Interstate Commerce Commission.

Subjects

Railroads -- Indiana.
Railroads -- Michigan.
Railroads -- Ohio.
Railroads -- United States.
Railroads and state.
Train ferries -- Michigan.
Transportation -- Indiana.
Transportation -- Michigan.
Transportation -- Ohio.
Transportation -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Correspondence.
Day books.
Ledgers.
Letter books.
Minute books.
Reports.

Occupations

Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Pere Marquette Railway Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1965, 1970, 197?.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EFB
Date: Mar 1971
Revision history: 9 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Pere Marquette Railway Company
Access Restrictions
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.
Administrative Papers
Minutes 1917-1938 (2 boxes)
Reports to Stockholders 1917-1946 (3 boxes)
Documents (6 v (Deep Set))
ICC Reports 1923, 1929, 1930-1947 (20 v)
Financial Papers
[General] 1918-1928 (1 box)
General Journal 1929-1930 (1 v)
Federal General Journal 1918-1925 (2 v)
General Ledger 1917-1922, 1923-1928, 1929-1933, 1935-1946 (4 v)
Stock and Bond Papers
Common Stock Transfer Book 1921-1930 (31 v)
Pere Marquette Railroad Company
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1900-1917 (1 box)
Receivership Papers 1905 (1 box)
Documents (1 v)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1871-1874, 1900-1903, 1908-1909 (4 v)
General Ledgers 1872-1879, 1898-1900 (2 v)
Federal Ledgers 1918-1924 (3 v)
Ancillary to Ledger 1905-1907 (1 v)
Subsidiary and Predecessor Companies
Central Land Company
Financial Papers
General Accounts Book (Ledger and Journal) 1905-1908 (1 v)
Chicago and Michigan Lake Shore Railroad
Administrative Papers
Reports 1874-1876 (2 boxes)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1871-1874, 1875-1896, 1876-1878 (4 v)
General Ledgers 1870-1873, 1876-1878 (2 v)
Day Book 1871-1874 (1 v)
Chicago and Western Michigan Railway
Administrative Papers
Reports to Stockholders 1880, 1881, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1890-1899 (2) (7 boxes)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1881-1883, 1884-1890, 1896-1899 (4 v)
General Ledgers 1881-1897 (2 v)
Detroit, Grand Rapids and Western Railroad
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1897 (3), 1898 (3) (6 boxes)
Detroit, Lansing and Lake Michigan Railroad
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1874-1875 (2 bokes)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1870-1896 (7 v)
General Ledgers 1870-1880, 1871-1873 (2 v)
Detroit, Lansing and Northern Railroad
Administrative Papers
Annual Report to Stockholders 1879, 1880, 1881, 1884, 1887, 1888, 1889, 1890, 1891, 1892 (2), 1893, 1894 (2) (14 v)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1884-1887, 1894-1896 (2 v)
General Ledgers 1893-1896 (1 v)
Flint and Pere Marquette Railroad
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1867-1868, 1871-1877, 1879-1897 (3 boxes)
Financial Papers
General Journals 1870-1872, 1875-1904 (29 v)
General Ledgers 1873-1899 (14 v)
Dividend Book 1870-1873 (1 v)
Flint Belt Railroad Company
Administrative Papers
ICC Report 1950-1951 (2 v)
Financial Papers
Miscellaneous Financial 1920-1927 (1 box)
Fort Street Union Depot Company
Financial Papers
Corres and financial 1931-1947 (1 box)
Grand Rapids Northern and Lake Shore Railroad
Financial Papers
General Journal 1874-1880 (2 v)
Grand Rapids Terminal Belt Railway Company
Administrative Papers
Minute Book 1908-1924 (1 v)
ICC Report 1920-1923 (4 v)
Michigan Board of Assesors 1907-1922 (1 v)
Green Real Estate Company
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1929-1938, 1955 (12 v)
Reports of Examination of Accounts 1936-1958 (13 v)
Lake Erie and Detroit River Railway Company
Financial Papers
Agreements and tax returns 1931-1941, 1944-1945 (1 box)
General Journal 1897-1903 (1)
General Ledger 1897-1899 (1)
Lake Erie Coal Company Limited
Administrative Papers
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1916-1918, 1920-1934 (18 v)
Lake Erie, Essex and Detroit Railroad Company
Financial Papers
General Journal 1889-1897, 1903-1907 (2)
Marquette and Bessenn Dock and Navigation Company
Administrative Papers
Minutes 1914-1942 (1)
Annual Reports to Stockholders 1910-1912, 1914-1934 (24 v (1 box))
Miscellaneous Papers (1 box)
Pere Marquette Steamship Company
Financial Papers
General Journal 1903-1906 (1)
Pontiac Belt Railroad Company
Administrative Papers
Miscellaneous papers (1 box)
Saginaw Tuscola and Huron Railroad Company
Financial Papers
General Journal 1896-1900 (1)
Saginaw Valley and St. Louis Railroad Company
Financial Papers
General Journal 1891-1896 (1)
Journal Entry Book 1885-1891 (1)
Record of Vouchers Audited 1879-1890 (1)

Return to top