Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Lachlan Peck Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Peck, Paul Lachlan.
Title: Paul Lachlan Peck Papers
Inclusive Dates: before 2006
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Writings (articles, sermons, essays, hymns) by the American spiritual metaphysical author, speaker and counselor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Paul Lachlan Peck is an American spiritual metaphysical author, speaker and counselor.

Born in Glens Falls, New York, Peck holds a BA. Degree in Marketing from the University of Connecticut, a M.Ed. degree in high school administration from Westfield State College, Westfield, MA and a Th.D. (Hon) from Bernadean University in Nevada. Prior to entering the full-time ministry, Reverend Peck served as Vice President of Syracuse University, Fairleigh Dickinson University and Manhattan College (Bronx) over a period of fifteen years. While at Syracuse (1960-1970) he served on the Chaplains’ Council of the University and as a volunteer Chaplain at Auburn State Prison for one year, and was the University's first full-time director of deferred giving programs. He was ordained by the Truth Center of California in 1972, and knighted by the international charitable Order of Sts. John of Jerusalem, Knights of Malta for his many years of service to youth in the area of drug abuse and sui­cide prevention. He has appeared on radio and television and is the author of numerous books, articles, essays, sermons and New Age hymns.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Lachlan Peck Papers consists entirely of Peck's writings -- articles, books, essays, sermons, New Age hymns, and other items. The items are typed, organized thematically, and bound into twelve volumes. Some, such as Volumes IX and XII, have been commercially published; the published version may or may not be identical to the manuscript versions in this collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volumes, as organized thematically by the donor.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Peck also donated to the library his extensive collection of 20th century literature, including authors such as Taylor Caldwell, Mary Renault, and R. F. Delderfield. These items have been cataloged. Please refer to the Classic Catalog , and search on the phrase "Gift of Rev. Paul Lachlan Peck" to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Peck, Paul Lachlan.

Corporate Bodies

Arete Truth Center.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Conduct of life.
Gender identity -- Personal accounts.
Jesus Christ -- New Age movement interpretations.
New Age movement.
Spiritual life -- New Age movement.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies.
Essays.
Hymns.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Lachlan Peck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul Lachlan Peck, 2004-2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Mar 2010
Revision history: 24 Feb 2014 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Volume I Footsteps Along the Path: New Age Hymns - more than 100 hymns; includes metrical index
Box 1 Volume II Inherit the Kingdom: Basic Spiritual Metaphysics - topics include "What is God?", "Dealing with Error," and "The Aquarian Church"
Box 1 Volume III Milestones of the Way: Intermediate Spiritual Metaphysics - topics include "Understanding Karma," "Reincarnation and the Holy Bible," "Armageddon," and "The Collective Oversoul"
Box 2 Volume IV Freeway to Health: Sermons based on Jesus' teachings
Box 2 Volume V Freeway to Work and Wealth: Essays based on Jesus' teachings
Box 2 Volume VI Freeway to Human Love: Essays based on Jesus' teachings
Box 3 Volume VII Freeway to Human Growth: Essays based on Jesus' teachings
Box 3 Volume VIII Your Dreams Count: An eclectic approach to dream analysis - general overview of dreams as well as discussion of specific items such as gemstones, numbers, colors, and more; includes index
Box 4 Volume IX Worth the Room: An Autobiography
From the introduction: "...This is a story of survival from a childhood of emotional and physical abuse. It is also the story of surviving four near-death experiences, as well as the parallel story of my development as a minister, healer and psychic. Furthermore, it is the story of the manner by which I came to terms with my gender identity. Finally, it is the story of a lifetime of proving (realizing) that I am worth the room I take up on this earth..."
Published by iUniverse, Inc. in 2004 as Worth The Room: An Autobiography of Survival and Service.
Box 4 Volume X Miscellany 1993-2003, Volume I: Essays supplemental to Worth the Room - essays on a wide range of topics from Ann Landers to guns to family recipes
Box 1 Volume XI Heroic Love Poems: Sensitive, Alternative, Current - more than 120 poems of various forms, including sonnets, on a wide range of topics
Box 3 Volume XII Anthology of Classic Children's LIterature: 550 Years of Delightful Reading
Recommendations span nearly six hundred years, from 1450 (Arabian Nights) to 2000 (The Babysitters Club). Each title is accompanied by a one-page discussion, and there is an author index at the end.
Published by iUniverse, Inc. in 2004 as Classic Children's Literature for Your Home Library.

Return to top