Finding Aids
printer friendly version

C. D. Pattie Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pattie, C. D.
Title: C. D. Pattie Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1861-1864
Quantity: 25 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the Civil War soldier. Letters from C. D. Pattie (or Pattee) to his wife, Lydia, describing life in camps and his disillusionment with the army; also correspondence between other individuals possibly, but not definitely, related to Pattie.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Based on information in the collection, C. D. Pattie is probably Charles Dummer Pattie (or Pattee) of Saginaw County, Michigan (d. 1906). The writer was stationed at Benton Barracks in St. Louis, a Union camp, and all of the stationery is Union-oriented in its design, so he was presumably a Union soldier. He appears to have been a cavalry man due to the frequent mentions of horses and tack. He mentions Michigan frequently, and in his January 1st 1862 letter references a man in his regiment named George Gleeflegle who had died a few days earlier. George Gleeflegle (there are unlikely to have been more than one person with such a unique name) was in the 3rd Michigan Cavalry, Co. M and died on December 30, 1862, which corresponds with the facts given in the letter, and the 3rd Michigan Cavalry was indeed stationed at Benton Barracks from Nov, 28, 1861 to Feb. 21, 1862. A listing of the men in Co M. includes one Charles D. Pattee of Saginaw County, MI. Pattee enlisted on September 16, 1861 and was discharged in St. Louis for disability on April 19, 1864. He died in 1906 when he was struck by a street car.

[Special Collections Research Center gratefully acknowledges the assistance of researcher Nanci Gasiel in providing this biographical information.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The C. D. Pattie Correspondence consists of 21 letters and 1 telegram from the Civil War soldier. Most of the letters are from Pattie to his wife, Lydia, and his parents. Other correspondents, many of whom are identified only by initials, include M.S.P to Martha, John P. to what could be C.D. Pattie, C. August Austin to Mattie, Theo to his father, Bluford Creary, and W.C.M. In addition to the 22 pieces of correspondence, the collection includes 3 envelopes.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Pattie, C. D.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- Michigan Cavalry Regiment, 3rd (1861-1866). -- Company M.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

C. D. Pattie Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 15 Jan 2009
Revision history: 1 Nov 2011 - corrections to bio, contents

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 275 20 Sep 1861-4 Jul 1864, undated (22 items)
SC 275 Envelopes (3 items)

Return to top