Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Maxfield Parrish Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Parrish, Maxfield, 1870-1966.
Title: Maxfield Parrish Letter
Inclusive Dates: 1924
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A thank you note send by Maxfield Parrish to Harold M. Jalonack.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Maxfield Parrish (1870-1966) was an American illustrator and painter. He was known for his decorative illustrations, which often feature neo-classical imagery and rich, glowing colors. His 1924 painting, Daybreak, was incredibly popular and became the most reproduced art print of the twentieth century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Maxfield Parrish Letter contains a note sent from Parrish to Harold M. Jalonack, a marketing research and project planning manager at General Electric. In the letter, Parrish thanks Jalonack for sending him a poem inspired by his famous painting Daybreak. A copy of Jalonack's poem is also enclosed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Centeralso holds black and white photographs of 9 of Maxfield Parrish's drawings, housed in the finding aid folder.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Jalonack, Harold M.
Parrish, Maxfield, 1870-1966. Daybreak.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Illustrators.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Maxfield Parrish Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold M. Jalonack, 1975.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 08 December 2009
Revision history:

Return to top